We can make STEEMIT a HEAVEN or HELL Part 2

in #steemit6 years ago

In my previous post, I mentioned about the brewing civil war within Steemit that could destroy this ecosystem. I also offered a formula, a code of conduct to make Steemitverse a paragon of the “self-governed” world that Satoshi envisioned. The formula, in the form of a parable, is at the end of this writing for everyone to be reminded of.

In case you missed: We can make STEEMIT a HEAVEN or HELL Part 1


One of the main sources of disagreement is our limited vision created by our “self”. We see things and events in our own little lens and we interpret them based on our own "limited" experiences and view of the world. Yes, it's a question of perspective.

Here’s a good lesson on perspective:

“Dear Mum and Dad,

Apologies for taking so long to write, but my writing utensils were destroyed in the fire at my apartment. I am out of the hospital and the doctor says that I should be able to lead a normal healthy life. A handsome young man named Pete saved me from the fire and kindly offered to share his apartment with me. He is very kind and polite and from a good family, so I think you’ll approve when I tell you that we got married last week. I know you’ll be even more excited when I tell you that you are going to be grandparents very soon.

Actually, there wasn’t a fire, I haven’t been in hospital, I’m not married and I’m not pregnant, but I did fail my biology exam and I just wanted to make sure that when I told you, you put it in a proper perspective.

Love,

Your daughter ”

I would bet that Steemians have different perspectives on the recent controversy surrounding @Ned’s downvoting of @Dan’s post and how it was "resolved".

Humans beings are capable of LOVE and COMPASSION and they are the KEYS to making Heaven on Earth. We can learn something from nature:


In the world of animals, lion is king. In his kingdom, when and how much a member of a pride can eat follows a very strict rule - the lion eats first then the lionesses. The cubs come in third assuming there are left-overs.When times are tough, and food is scarce, the cubs starve to death.

This rule is barbaric by human standards, but in the animal world, devoid of intelligence, it makes perfect sense. The lion is both the protector and the “provider” of the pride. The lion hunts day and night and fights every lion who challenges him to a duel over his pride. For this reason, he needs to be in good health and well fed otherwise, the whole pride suffers. And If he falls in battle, the winner will take over the pride and will kill all the cubs of the loser.

Let us not succumb to our selfish and animalistic instincts.

The Code of Conduct within Steemit - The Parable of Heaven and Hell:

There was a man who died and was being taken to heaven by the angels. The angels said to him “We are going to take you to heaven but first we will show you hell”.

The angels then took him to a place where there was a great bowl, so great that it was as big as a lake. The bowl was filled with a nutritious stew. All the way around the sides of this bowl were people. Emaciated, starving, miserable people. These people had spoons to eat the stew with and the spoons were long enough to reach the stew (about 12 feet).

The trouble was, while they could scoop up the stew into the spoon, they could not get it into their mouths because the spoons were too long. So here, were all these pathetic people suffering and moaning in agony constantly trying to eat the food that was abundantly in front of them – all in vain.

Next, the angels took the man to heaven. To his surprise, he saw the same scene! There it was, a giant lake-like bowl of the same stew, surrounded by people with 12-foot long spoons. Yet something was different here – all these people were smiling, happy, and healthy looking!

Why? “What is the difference here? People are happy and well fed!” The man said to the angels.

They replied: “Have you not eyes to see?” The man looked more carefully and observed that one person would scoop up the stew and bring it to the mouth of another. Then someone else would scoop up the stew and feed it to the other.

The angels smiled and said. “Here, the people feed each other. Here, the people learned the way of love”.

Sort:  

Good story @sandalphon and is an excellent analogy for Steemit ( and Life itself) Helping one another is vital. Ad not just doing it because people are telling you to do it. But doing it because you find it genuinely rewarding.

I see a lot of take, take, take here at Steemit. But the reason I stay is because I also see a lot of give, give, give. From some really good people :)

So I choose to concentrate on the Give, give, give part and the people behind that.

Thank again for your post.

signature_2 (1).gif

great perspective @robertandrew. let's fill Steemitverse with love and care for one another.

I see what you are saying. Ya lets hopefully make it a heaven.

Its up to us, the users to determine the fate of this platform. We should focus on promoting content that we actually think is good quality with some value; we should not be focused on pandering to accounts only because they have a large influence. Lets not centralize the wealth to individuals just because they already have wealth.

If we don't give to each other honestly there won't be any steem community, steem will turn into a cyber day trader market trafficking human interactions. No value in that for me. Thank you for your honesty!

you're right. it would be very easy to create a copycat of Steem and without a competitive advantage, it would be very easy to jump ship and move to another platform.

Hi sandalphon,
Thanks for making me aware of these recent developments!
CU,
Chris aka smallstepschange

It is this collaborative nature that drew me to Steemit, and it will be that nature that helps it thrive. I just hope we're able to notice the ones who build up and give them the spotlight. They're the ones most deserving.

absolutely @ddrfr33k. we can make this platform second to none if we all work and care for each other.

True wisdom. The shortest distance to love is by giving love.

you're absolutely right.

Very interesting articel, I havent looked on steemit this way but it definitely makes sense! Great articel!

A great story keep it up thanks for sharing I am always wait for its next parts
I wish you all the best I wish you visit to my blog thanks

thank you @travelingwomen for the feedback. you make interesting post as well. followed you.

charming!

Yes, it's a good reflection. to think a little.

thanks @pwangdu and @vanne for the feedback.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

This post has received gratitude of 21.74 % from @appreciator thanks to: @sandalphon.

thanks a lot friends have shared beautiful photos, fun stories, success always @ sandalphon

Relatively new on this and still can't phatom what steemit really is. Yet I like your post.

I am @earnmoresteem and you got a 100.00% upvote courtesy of @sandalphon! I invite you to send SBD with other post in memo and I will upvote you this new post.

appreciate the 100% upvote @earnmoresteem.

I value your outlook on this, but based on history am unsure if the majority is capable of ever looking past their own self interest. This unfortunate part of human nature was pointed out very succinctly many times in the bible where it says "For whoever has will be given more, but whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken away from him."

So the question is going to become, can enough of us care to keep the pond enticing enough for quality folks to come and stay. I know I will do my part, which is little more than my words at the moment. But for a long time now I have believed the answer was to be what it is you seek, and others of like mind will see your light and be drawn to it. You embody this principle, and have my respect. Thank you for walking the talk.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 40.81% Upvote