30 Day Challenge - The Care Free Attitude for Skin Relief (Day #15)

in #steemit7 years ago

Our present day lives continually witness and are subject to radical societal advancements. Technologies, medicines, the 'fingertip' availability of knowledge. This is a fantastic time to be alive. That being sad, those that suffer from endless dreams of perfectionism have been left with a certain sense of entrapment. On every screen, billboard and available space fit for an advertisement, the media subjects the common individual to unspeakable, astonishing beauty. Beauty is a subjective ideal that always lays at the eyes of the beholder. As we grow older by the day, our minds wise up to the relative elements that intertwine in the creation of a beautiful individual. There is physical beauty but that is just one increasingly minimal component of a beautiful being.

This perpetual subjection to beauty can have negative effect when we start the human idiosyncrasy of comparison. I am far less beautiful than that person. Why have I been condemned to face peeling and the like as this person parades around, stunning the camera with every smile? This can become significantly daunting an experience when we suffer from skin issues.

During my skin difficulties, I sought knowledge on the particular components that were forcing the issue. As I've written about, cold showers and raw diets have proved very helpful tools. These issues were adjustments I could make for the here and now, without severely altering any preconceived concepts that rattled around in my cranium. These concepts, for the most part, were stuck to my brain like gum to the bottom of a seat. Beauty appears this way. If I don't fit these guidelines than what is the point?

This prevailing thought process is deadly. During my development from young adolescent to young adult, certain objective based facts emerged. For instance, people have their own varying issues. Some may have a skin condition, but others are likely to have issues that exceed yours tenfold. Thus, why not just appreciate who you are? You may not be the most stereotypical physically beautiful specimen the world has ever known. However, not many of us are. Accept that you can only be the best version of yourself. The best version of yourself may be tremendously skilled in areas that others may not be able to grasp. We all have our strong points. Accepting this and smiling at yourself is perhaps the best medicine invented.

That is perhaps the pervading wisdom to this article, be happy in your own skin. Speaking to a number of naturopaths over the years, each suggested that I should avoid the patternistic thoughts of a perfectionist, especially when things are out of my control. Accept who you are and be glad to be you. Though you may not look like David Beckham or an Instagram model, it really isn't necessary that you do. I've learnt to love my appearance and I continue to learn about why my skin may flare from day to day. I enjoy the challenge. I hope you learn to enjoy yours too!

Thanks to all my new followers and the tremendous support from all you fascinating Steemers through your comments and upvotes. A special thanks for taking the time out of your day to peer upon these words! Let me know if you have any words to add on the topic of skin conditions, I would love to hear from you.