How @apsu and @jonny-clearwater brought a steem miracle and regained my faith in Steem!

in #steemit6 years ago

First of all, look at this guy


6.5MB Screenshot of his account:


FireShot Capture 5 - parvess - Busy - https___busy.org_@parvess.png


tl;dr : All he does is post pixbay images, sometimes some wikipedia text, and then votebot them up. I've had debates about whether votebots are ok, and my own conclusion was that so long as it was pretty much not simply:

"Just posting to get my SBD transferred to upvotes."
then it's acceptable to buy votes unless you disagree with the post. This seems in the 'just posting to convert to votes' category.




As if sent by the LORD @apsu and @jonny-clearwater arrive!


Look at this beautiful crimson tide washing over him


FireShot Capture 7 - SteemWorld (beta) - https___steemworld.org_@parvess.png
FireShot Capture 6 - SteemWorld (beta) - https___steemworld.org_@parvess.png

They cleared out something like $3.64 that this guy was going to make for the week.
It's probably a small victory, but it made me happy to watch them gain this yard.
He also dropped from 40 rep to 38.

They're the heros gotham needs.

I found this guy by going to the https://steemit.com/hot/photography steemit link and searching basically everything with NooBox chrome extension. I found one or two possible plagiarisms earlier than him, but his was just nothing posts of already created content.

Sort:  

Oooh and here I thought @apsu does that in the general chatroom only. Hahaha. Hurray for apsu!!! And the people like him too. 😂😂😂

Small victories are victories. Period. There's a lot I haven't learned about Steemit culture and behaviors (and some I'm likely better off not knowing) yet I like to see people who are not creating original content get "taken down a notch or two, or ten..."

For awhile I upvoted all of my own posts. My vote is only worth 0.01 - 0.02 so it wasn't abusive in my opinion. There was questioning about the motivation and effectiveness though. My thought was that maybe an upvote while the post was newly published would give it a little boost, and that my relatively weak voting power wouldn't offend anyone. I hoped I'd gain Steem Power more quickly and be able to give others more valuable upvotes. I gave it up because voting on my own posts didn't seem to help my content get noticed or earn more. So I'd rather give what power I do have to people posting awesome content.

Yes, Upvoting other people seems better in my opinion.
It's not only praise for the person but a chance to curate for yourself.
While with my posts if I self vote I may not even get curation :^)

That's the absurd/funny part though. Good people like you are considering social implications of things like self-voting and then there's the people posting pandemonium and throwing money to support it :|

So long as buying votes is profitable I think my ethics are going to be to use SBD for that instead of upvoting myself directly.

You just planted 0.03 tree(s)!


Thanks to @schrosct

We have planted already 6473.42 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18704.76
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

glad I made your day!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness