Sort:  
 6 years ago (edited) 

Hi @sequentialvibe, I'll be happy to elaborate.

Technically you already qualify for receiving cuddles.

On the surface level it works like this:

  • you cuddle (upvote) the kitten - it gives you a sympathy score based on your upvote size
  • she'll add your score to her "memories" and rank you against her other cuddle buddies accordingly
  • whenever the kitten's VP is higher than x% (currently 85), she'll randomly pick a cuddlebuddy from her memory (the higher your ranking the bigger your random chance of being selected)
  • cuddles are delivered to the most recent comment or post of the selected user (only if it's an actual post will she leave a comment herself)

But, there's more:

  • everytime the kitten cuddles you she'll deduct a certain percentage off your ranking-score
  • the score will never actually go to zero - so technically you will never drop off the list but your chances of receiving cuddles will get infinitely smaller with time unless you cuddle back every once in a while
  • to get "off" the list, all you have to do is flag the kitten once, she'll then remember the negative ranking score and won't bug you again

And there's even more:

  • the kitten will analyse your voting behavior to see if you have a decent voting diversity and not too much self-voting. The higher your self voting quota is - the faster your "ranking-score" decreases and the weaker your received cuddles will be
  • If you upvote a post or comment by the kitten and then reply to it, she'll engage in rudimentary interaction and answer to let you know how she feels about your interaction


In all honesty, you probably won't get too much out of those cuddles as they are reduced proportionally by the 69% self-voting quota on your account.

Ah I see. I self vote so I'm probably un-cuddleable lol

nah... you're fine ;) your quota is in a totally reasonable range with 15%

http://steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=omitaylor&days=14

You'll only see a minor deduction in cuddle-intensity and you'll fall-off the likeability ranking in an almost regular fashion.

Anything below 20% is totally fine... If you had over 80% the kitten would ignore you by default... in between there's a a progressive "penalty" in terms of reduced cuddling ;)

Yeah, I'll probably upvote my own posts until I'm well powered up. And since I just heard about the .02 dust vote threshold, probably more- since I wouldn't want to waste my friend's voting power with their small votes. It'll be like them going half on a coffee for me.

Perhaps it's able to be offset by 1:10 ratio of other voting. If I increase my voting for myself, I'll increase other voting too. That's a lot of voting lol!

Well if the kittys love me for now, that's awesome. I'm so upset about the news of the dust vote. Smh. Ah well. If I ever get blacklisted, I'll totally understand and the love shall be unrequited limmerance on my behalf.

 6 years ago (edited) 

Yeah... the dust threshold being at 2ct was new to me too... I always thought less than 0.01 wasn't paid out (e.g. 0.005SBD)... but the 2ct mark is a disappointment! I'll retune the kittens in the next few days so their votes don't go to waste anymore (they currently target the 0.01 per vote - i'll up that to 0.02 and decrease their frequency accordingly)

Thanks that's awesome!

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Cuddle back :)