POLONIEX DISABLED STEEM? hmmmmm

in #steemit7 years ago

inveset-in-poloniex.jpg

Got word POLONIEX has their STEEM and STEEM DOLLAR wallets disabled

Has anyone seen this yet, seems POLO disabled Steem and Steem Dollar wallets today. Either they were as usual not prepared for the hard fork or they are pulling a stunt to stop mass sell offs lol? I am just curious if anyone knows what is going on with that, I had plans to buy up some Steem today so I guess I must get my Steem Power buys elsewhere again.

~sflaherty

Follow me @sflaherty

Sort:  

Yup, there are some other Steemians experienced the same issue with Poloniex, their transferred Steem was like fell into black hole, never show up.
I think it is just a temporary action of Poloniex to deal with a potential high traffice regarding Steem. Wait a little bit abd it should become normal.

Thank you for that, figured something along those lines. I fear a huge mass sell off so maybe this will even that out before people go nuts and overload the price range to fast. Its a tricky moment

I've heard poloniex shouldn't be trusted with steem. Lots of people losing theirs

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by FatboyJames from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @theprophet0, and @someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I have heard that too...I kind of gave up on Polo back in Jan but occasional buy from them, never send in unless I have no choice. They are just not upgrading with all that money and that makes me super suspicious of them. MT GOX reminder lol

Never have all your eggs in 1 basket. It's good to use multiple exchanges and have your earnings spread across different wallets.

Agreed, you should see my desktop, its literally graffitied up with wallets lol. I have a few key exchanges i used, more or less just calling out how POLO never seems ready when a hard fork happens lol...they are notorious for down wallets on hard fork upgrades

You'll often see that they have disabled trading in certain currencies but as far as I know it has always been temporary.

I think their updating for the hard fork...but Polo screws up a lot on these things and seen them take a week before on a wallet lol

Probably normal during a HF. I think there is an issue with the HF right now...

What kind of issues? So far its on par with the payout scales they wanted. I do see its fine on Livecoin and Bittrex but Polo is always behind with updates and forks lol. Let me know though if you find out some info

It is definitely much larger than 4x and it is not linear.

I did the math on my payouts by marking down a few payouts I had in pay before the hard fork and after, my math came to 4.1% increase so not sure what your seeing. I tested 6 of them, all came around there immediately after the hard fork to 4.0 and 4.3% tops. Maybe its not hitting everyone the same though, if not then yes they need to fix it...should be fair all around

Thanks for the heads up! Will be looking to add to my STEEM stash soon. POLO has always worried me anyway. I'll use it while I can, but never gonna store any value there. I have this gut feeling that POLO will stop existing some time in the next few years (either due to a financial issue, hack, or legal issue)

I agree, I believe polo is doomed to be honest. I hate using them but I have 2FA on over at Bittrex and its a hassle to get in there, something wrong with it and I get locked out a lot lol

Can you lend at Bittrex? I love that at Polo...

I believe they have that lending and margin trading option at Bittrex as well. I been a long user of POLO but I don't like how they don't tend to upgrade the system which causes major outages at times. They are dealing with peoples money so its bugged me they don't enhance or upgrade when its needed.

Thanks for the info. With Polo getting DDOS attacks so much last month I got paranoid. Will check Bittrex out!

Bittrex is a solid exchange, I use them the most to be honest but I go to POLO because the movement is much faster so you can sometimes buy in low and sell high easier

Congratulations @sflaherty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

sent my STD to Bittrex, as I saw polo was in maintenance... No problems. Except the exceptionally lower market.

I have a fear people are gonna mass sell off lol..then we will have huge issues so maybe polo being down will stall people, might be a good thing

yeah, as steem dollars are distributed at this new rate, the exchange markets will get more pressured... im bullish towards steem though.

I sense in the long run it will be great but I bet some small time sells coming lol. But hey the steem power is growing here for me, that is great

Yeah :) crazy fork though! still trippin over the post rewards

We deserved it my friend, just get ready this may influx Steemit to the masses, might get very busy in here

Yeah! Hope the servers are up for it! :D

Standard during a hard fork. Super inconvenient for me today ... but still standard.

I figured it was due to that, thanks for the info...I have issues getting into Bittrex due to my 2fa screwing up but I will just lay back and wait it out

If you just need to sell some STEEM out of your wallet, @blocktrades is an easy and reliable way to do it. Here's a link: https://blocktrades.us/

you just nudged me in the right direction, in all this madness I forgot about Blocktrades lol. Thank you for that, I use them all the time. But for now I am not selling, fearful too many selling off will drive the price down bad lol....trying to do my part to hold back as long as possible for the dust to settle

Right on. I'd hold if I had a choice, but had to sell some this week to make ends meet. Personally hoping the STEEM drop holds until I can buy back what I sold at an attractive rate: )

I think it will settle down and then people will buy in to steem power up when they are new, hopefully...lots of praying for me here today lol

Prayers are good. But I have more faith in a solid value proposition, superior blockchain tech, and the innovative determination of our rapidly-growing community.

The market is insanely volatile now, and will probably remain so at least through summer. In these conditions, STEEM seems under-priced some of the time - I'm thinking it will bounce off of $5 in July - so anything to be had for under $2.5 looks like a good buy.

They can't handle the demand 😂😂😂

lol...they can't handle a lot over there usually lol. Figures though, they are always behind on the curve

Hm... tradings still on.

odd, but then your steem is stuck? lol...I hate polo but tend to get a better price there

I saw it was temporarily disabled this morning. I haven't seen any changes yet, but someone mentioned it was down for maintenance.

Probably just that, they are slow to get HF updates done at Poloniex. Oh well looks like Bittrex is good

looking at it right now and seems ok - down just down a bit and volatile

its gonna go up and down till the dust settles on this new found wealth. Soon as everyone gets the major sell offs hurt themselves in the long run I have hopes they will chill lol...if not my Steem Power will not look too good lol

I can indeed confirm that STEEM and SBD wallets have both been disabled for now.

Probably to dissuade people from sending it all to Polo and selling it in droves.

I hope so, I really hate to see HARD FORK insanity drive our prices down lol. I am banking back in steem power minus what I need for the family, trying to not go nuts myself here and hold it on back lol

HODL bud! No need to sell anything for the time being. People want STEEM to hit $5? Mass selling it off is not going to get us there.

I agree, definitely a HODL here minus little bits to pay the bills

Exactly! No need to drain the kitty. I for one am pushing everything in to SP, and we should encourage all the other minnows to do the same.

I agree, I am about to make a post about it, you should too just to kind of warn everyone to not get gold rush crazy lol

I think I shall! hehe.

Thanks for the idea!

Nice post....
Succes for you...

Thank you, just trying to inform while this day is getting so crazy lol