Here's why Steemit is a challenge to me.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I remember that the first time I wanted to make money on the Internet, people told me blogging is the way to do so. In the Indian blogosphere, most people wanting to earn online wrote about various facebook tricks and tips(of which most don't work anymore), and earn when the website visitors click on the Google AdSense ads. People were crazy about this at that time. That innocuous and genuine happiness that comes with making a few bucks online - bucks with which you can do anything, because well, they are yours and they come in dollars, which was about 60 times the Indian National Rupee.

And so, the kid I was, I got into blogging. There are some keywords that make you more money, and some keywords that make you less money. I went for the less money ones, because the other ones needed SEO to rank, and I did not know SEO. It was all about blogging, and I blogged and I blogged.

But then how does this relate to any challenge? Thing is, eventually, I got tired of blogging. I was writing about things I had no expertise on, purely following 3-4 blogs in the same niche and rewriting. It would probably have been different if I was blogging about things I liked. So I blogged and blogged and then I thought, what I am doing?

Even Forrest Gump, after running for  3 years, 2 months, 14 days, and 16 hours constantly decided that it was time to stop. 

>

Sure, I got into blogging later on real, money-making sites, but I never did it constantly. And whatever blogging I did, I did not enjoy.

The challenge? The challenge for me is not to stop.

The good old Blogger editor is past me.

I have decided to embrace this one. And what's more, this time, I really want to enjoy it. 

Is it even realistic to blog daily? Like they say, life happens. From time to time you will be stuck in things that will leave you tired and sometimes you'll be so occupied you won't find time to log in on the Internet. But I plan to take the challenge. I really do.

As mentioned, I want to enjoy blogging. The rewards are quite an incentive, I won't disagree with that. But other things are there, and I am listing them down - things that are going to help me enjoy blogging.

1. Life

It is time to enjoy life as well, but to have a memoir of all those experiences? Sure! Why not?

2. Distraction

Many members of the Steemit community are into cryptocurrency, and many of you will agree when I say looking at the graphs of how the cryptocoins are performing isn't always a happy experience. 


So blogging at Steemit will be quite a distraction. 

Or so I hope.

3. Overcoming My Weakness

I have believed in overcoming my weaknesses and fears, and this is just another chance I have got. I have got over my phobia of heights by going to heights, so why would overcoming a phobia of blogging be any different?

It will also help me getting some confidence that I can make things happen.

4. Finding Happiness

I want to travel and blog about the places I traveled, I want to click photographs and blog about them. I want to once again write poems, and state what led me to writing them. I want to rediscover the happiness I have lost.

Finally, there are success stories. And all these success stories point out consistency as a key to success. I want to consistently contribute, and just go on. I want to be a Forrest Gump that is still running the states of America.

 That day, for no particular reason, I decided to go for a little run. So I ran to the end of the road. And when I got there, I thought maybe I'd run to the end of the town. And when I got there, I thought maybe I'd just run across Greenbow County. And I figured, since run this far, maybe I'd just run across the great state of Alabama. And that's what I did. I ran clear across Alabama. For no particular reason I just kept on goin'. I ran clear to the ocean. And when I got there, I figured, since I'd gone this far, I might as well turn around, just keep on goin'. When I got to another ocean, I figured, since I'd gone this far, I might as well just turn back, keep right on goin'. 

I will keep on bloggin'. 

Sort:  

real words are better than key words, great post

Haha well said. And what's more - real words come to you naturally.

Nice, that you decided to reblog. What I follow is blog only when I have good rather than just post anything. I really like to read articles like yours, which are more of interactive!

Thank you. Expect even more interactive posts, because the journey has just begun!

Congratulations @snivvygreasy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @snivvygreasy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Repost, since theres so much good content in here.

Great post dude! Keep it up! :)