Cyprus Kebab

in #steemit7 years ago

Having recently arrived in Cyprus, I was of course very interested in the local food scene. On the very first morning I asked the hotel owner, where I could get some GOOD local food.

His answer was short and clear... MIXALOS!

image1 (6).JPG

I went there full of expectations but also with a little skepticism, was this just another tourist trap?

NO! This was/is the real deal, and are you ever in Paphos, Cyprus, mixalos is a must to visit.

I decided to go slow on my first order, and carefully ordered a kebab in pita bread.

image1.PNG

Boy oh boy... AWESOME!
Fresh produce with perfectly BBQ'ed pork meat.

Since it was only lunch I decided to stop at that, I already knew that I would be back the very same evening :)

The waiter immediately identified me and asked "Pita Kebab and a large Carlsberg?"

Hold on Sir! Can I please have the menu (and a Carlsberg) while I decide.

Seconds later a cold beer was served, along with the menu. As I sat there (6pm) I couldn't help notice that I was the only guest at the restaurant, feeling a little sorry for Mr Mixalos I said to myself "I will come here everyday to support this hard working family!"

I decided for the "Plate version" of the kebab...

image1 (4).JPG

Wow, just WOW! Simply the best pork kebab I have ever had in my life - and I have had quite a few over the years.

I decided for another beer, again I wanted to support the place (I was still the only guest at around 7pm)

Suddenly at 8pm-ish, things started to happen and withing 10 minutes the entire place was full. :)

now that I have been here for more than 1 year, I am still a regular at Mixalos.

Mixed grill plate...

image1 (2).JPG

Each meal with 2 Carlsberg cost $10 :)

Anybody else been to Paphos, Cyprus?