Disturbing behaviour from the 'newbies' on steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I hope this learning curve is steep because I'm getting worried.

I've been here a while, nosing about, watching, reading, upvoting and generally chillaxin.

There are VERY few incidents of drama, nastiness and unpleasantness - unless of course I've just missed it... But the ambience is nice here.

Enter the influx of new Steemit users...

Voting has gone wild (in a good way) and the population has exploded! We all knew it would!

The disturbing things I've noticed, however are not so good. Steemit was never selfish (again, that could just be my view of it all), but I saw people helping others not so fortunate, being kind and generous just because they could - then there was Steemfest - what a wonderful concept and totally UNselfish.

Now, I see people commenting before even giving themselves time to read the post they're commenting on. Just for the reward of an upvote? Surely not?

Also, upvoting and commenting, receiving an upvote on their blog (which they've requested a look at) and then REMOVING their vote! I've never seen the like!

I'm pretty sure the newbies don't realise their upvote also collects rewards at the end of the 7 day wait for reward. I do hope they click on. I'm not sure this selfish culture fits well with how steemit.com used to be.

Personally, I'd rather have the community as it was than the GIMME MORE! Give it to me NOW! Verruca Salt mind-set.

Still, we all know what happened there... don't we?

I'm being patient and watching (like I do) and waiting for that penny to drop (because it will) and when they realise...

Happy, chillaxed steemit.com again :)

Sort:  

That kind of behavior from users is enough to earn a mute from me.
I don't flag.
I give one unspoken chance, and then I remove the user from my entire Steemit experience with a mute. I don't have time for trolls or childish behavior in my real life, so I'm certainly not prepared to put up with it here, you know?
Eventually, enough mutes will leave their Steemit world awfully quiet. ;-)

@winstonwolfe I'm sorry if I've upset you with my point of view. I don't intend offence.

I'm a little confused though, what's childish or trollish about this post?

I've been watching and I'm seeing this behaviour. If you're going to get upset with anything, I would have thought shooting the messenger would be looked on as less than productive.

LOL Not you. Although, I guess my comment does come across as talking directly to you. I'll edit it to clarify my point. I'm actually agreeing with you. :)

Well thank goodness for that!

But who?

Edited The penny dropped.... You're giving an example LOL

My original comment has been edited. I was speaking generally, not at anyone specific. :)

All clarified now! Thank you!

I'm glad you haven't muted me ;)

No problem! :D

That's generally my response, too.

I don't flag either but I'd never thought of using the Mute facility.

The thing I hate the most is the spammy comments of, "I followed you, please follow me back!"
I'm all for interacting and trying to grow but doesn't that just seem like straight up begging to anyone else?

I really don't understand about the removing your vote after having upvoted a post - why would people even do that? I still have a lot to learn, but I always read a post before upvoting the ones I think deserve the vote. Also, having someone promote their blog/post in anyone else's post is a sure way for me to totally ignore that person - I just think it's rude.

I think it's rude too. Thanks for the comment :)

Wow - THAT'S what's happening! I saw a -1 vote on a post and wondered how on earth (or why) that happened. Figuring they'll either learn and become valuable community members... or self-cull when they don't get rich overnight.

The -1 vote is a flag and if the person gets enough, it can (and does) wipe out their whole rep! Scary stuff.

Hmmm, that couldn't be misused or anything. :/ That is scary.

I think some kind of jury is going to be necessary in the long run. The power to flag, for example, is too powerful. There will be many situations of injustice if it is just left to people to decide. My opinion rotates about the fact that new stuff created and maintained by a small group of people barely need rules, but when it grows and more people enters, rules are necessary and the power to apply them as well. I can think of hundreds of examples: a bar that has been great for a small amount of people, with jump sessions and good musicians becomes popular and suddenly security is necessary to stop fights, in the movie Cocoon, the aliens let a few people go and chill out in the swimming pool, but the place becomes popular, or even the place some children used to play chess and relax, suddenly overflowed by other children that make fire in a rubbish bin and they are all expelled.
Its human nature. and hence human rules are needed. Lets not last a lot to think about it.
The magic of this place may be linked to the fact that helping is more rewarding in the long run that criticizing. But if the ambience changes, other platforms may appear and then we are changing new users for experienced users and that cant be good.

Congratulations @steem-press! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!