I Got Nominated for Write Club and I Hit 200 Followers Within 24 Hours!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

The last 24 hours have been super sweet!

I got some good news and hit a milestone between last night and this morning. I love good news like this - but to be honest, pretty much everything steem related has been good news for weeks! I am so glad I found this platform in late September, because I knew right away I was going to be happy here. Before I show you how happy my last 24 hours made me - I want to thank everyone from the discords that took the time to teach this old dog new tricks:

gratitude-2939972_1920.jpg

Image Credit

I Was Nominated for Write Club!

Now to get to it. I was nominated for an intense 16 week writing boot camp. I have done intense writing exercises like NaNoWriMo in the past I even blogged about it here. Writing a lot as a habit was my goal then, and it will be my goal now. However - I think Write Club will distinguish itself on several levels. First - I see myself creating 8 quality short stories in the 16 weeks. NaNo wasn't about quality--it was about quantity. Second - I see myself transitioning from one story to the next quickly (instead of the lazy week I've been spending between stories lately. Third - I'll be reading and reviewing other's works as part of the Write Club process. This is huge, and it's benefit for all involved can't be overstated. Finally, I'll be revisiting my works and polishing them until they shine. They'll be worthy of publication!

I can't thank @jordan.lesich enough for coming up with Write Club and I can't thank him enough for my place as one of its first human sacrifices. I won't let you down. But more importantly, I won't let the author I'll be 4 months from now when I've gone through 16 weeks of intensity down. Now that I've heard of Write Club I know I've been looking for it for a long time :)

yes-593834_1920.jpg

Image Credit

I Hit 200 Followers

I hit my first follower goal and I did it in just under 100 days. I take almost no credit for this. Sure, I posted some content, and made some comments, but more than any of that - I joined discords and made friends. It started at The Writer's Block. I was blown away by the warm welcome I received from the amazing folks at The Writer's Block. It was my first discord community ever, but it felt like I'd known some of them for years. The talent at the Block is unmatched, but it isn't a fluke. Everyone there is dedicated to becoming a better writer and helping others do the same. Thank you @gmuxx and thank you @rhondak.





My next discord was the Steemit Ramble. @sircork actually sent a link inside The Writer's Block for a chance to talk about our posts! I said, heck yeah, I'll talk about my post. I had just written a pinball post, and was thrilled for the chance to share it, because competitive pinball is something I love to talk about. And talk I did - and people listened! Then, I listened to them and the Pimp Your Post Thursday became a staple on my calendar. (And later, 2 PYPT's!) Thank you @sircork and thank you @shadowspub.

Join shadowspub at the Steemit Ramble

At my very first PYPT I met @beanz. When it was her turn, she talked about the VOTU podcast. I was intrigued, set the date/time on my calendar, and planned on coming to the podcast. I was out and about when it happened, but I had discord on my phone by now and some bluetooth headphones - so I hopped in. And I've never left. VOTU is about everything that makes steem better. It's about friendship, good conversations, and mentoring each other. Thank you @beanz.

votu

I spend hours every Sunday morning with @sircork on the Steemitizens of Steem podcast over on the YouAreHope/SteemStar discord. I say on the podcast, not listening to the podcast because I get on the podcast!

Join sircork on the SteemStar Network here

The point!

Get to the point already. I hit a milestone. I have other people and their initiatives to thank for it. I really would be nothing without them. Thank you all.

calligraphy-2658504_1920.jpg

Image Credit

Sort:  

Congratulations! This place is really amazing. Keep up the good work and the followers will keep coming....Good work!

Congrats on your early (and much deserved) success. After a month on the platform I've crushed all my firsts today ... first post, first install of Discord, first time really feeling part of the community at large. I'm going to dive on the Ramble channel a little later ... but yeah ... totally appreciated your post and hoping to duplicate some of your networking success on my own adventure. Funny how you grab these scraps of information from everywhere just by crawling through the site! = )

Thank you. I think networking is what this blockchain is all about. I have me my share of people I consider friends here, and I hope to meet many more. Thanks for reading!

Well done!!!
I have to get my nerve up and try to master "chatting." I just get in there and feel like... a fish out of water... lol!

Oh shoot - I knew I would forget to mention someone important. You were the very first person I met here! Your fish net stalking award gave me a boost my first day. When I struggled a bit before I found the discords I kept thinking that I promised you I would keep posting original and interesting things. I think I wasn't a flash in the pan here because of you, and now I know I didn't do you the justice you deserve, because I didn't mention you. I apologize. @fishyculture is the reason I even made it to the discords. Thank you!

You are silly and sweet, you owe me no apology. You kept your end of the bargain already!!

It is a pleasure having you at TWB. Congrats.

Thank you. It's a pleasure to be there :)

Great news!! Congratulations, Greg. I will trailing your posts to read them. :)

Thank you and thanks for reading my post. I hope to see more of your posts (teach me how to cook!).

Congrats! This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Thanks for stopping by. I definitely love the service you are providing! Thank you.

Congratulations! Those followers are very well deserved, I assure you! :D

Congratulations. I look forward to our 16 week journey. None of us will come through it unchanged.
I wouldn't miss it for anything!

Congrats on your achievements. I don't know about others but @beanz is really doing something for this community and I like her strong voice against bot vote.

Well done! I look forward to the great material I know you'll put out ;)

I like your first image very much friend, good post

I like your post .
. thanks

Woo congrats!

@steemitgraven29 this post was presented at the most recent Pimp Your Post Thursday on the Steemit Ramble Discord. I have written a post to share your featured post. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your name in lights right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

thanks for the information his friend, hope you are healthy always and your dream in this year can be achieved all its
continue to work,