I will donate £1 to charity for every upvote this post gets

in #steemit8 years ago

I like to think of myself as somewhat philanthropic, so I figured this would be a good way to achieve a number of things:

1) Give to a good cause that could really benefit from a donation

2) Gain recognition for my blog and gain exposure - because, let's face it, that's why most of us are here

3) Encourage steemers to engage and to allow anyone to put forward a suggestion for a worthy cause

4) Give steemers a chance to actually select the charities which I donate to

So here's how it'll work - For every upvote this post gets from now until Saturday 30th July 1700 GMT (to prevent me from potentially going bankrupt), I will donate £1 to a charity of your choosing. I will split the donations between 3 charities - the 3 most upvoted comments that suggest charities. 

Just to clear things up - I won't be withdrawing anything from this post, I will be paying the money out of my own pocket. I will, of course, post proof of the donations once they've been made!


Sort:  

Bill and Melinda Gates foundation. They're about the smartest money in the charity world. They're well funded (2 wealthiest men in the world, Bill Gates and Warren Buffet fund them) but that's ok, the best and most innovative should be the ones using charity money, so it's not just being wasted.

I've heard good things about their foundation before. I will be sure to check it out!

Great Idea @steemittrader :)

The charity I choose is - "charity: water"

The mission: To ensure that the 800 million people in developing countries have access to clean, safe drinking water.

Why it stands out: For starters, 100 percent of public donations are used to fund clean-water projects.

Thank you @yogi.artist
Great charity choice and I love that 100% goes into the project!!

The Michael J. Fox Foundation:
https://www.michaeljfox.org/
Trying to cure Parkinson's disease, which has a personal meaning for me.

Always means a lot more when the charity is close to one's heart - hope you get lots of votes, mate! @relativelyboston

I will buy a book. Please send me

nice initiative! hope you get a lot votes :D


Have a look on my new post too
https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitdude/steemit-looks-perfect-unti-you-know-it-better

If people do not learn to help each other , then the human race will disappear from the face of the earth .

As promised, donated $24 (equivalent to £19 worth of votes). Decided to donate to charity:water fund because I like the fact they put 100% of the money into the foundation @yogi.artist