👑 Make room for a new King! Steemit will be the new King of social media.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hi guys,

Did you ever see the first Youtube video? Uploaded on Apr 23, 2005 it was titled "Me at the Zoo".

I remember seeing it (yes, I am that old :P), it was way back in 2005 and watching video on the internet was a pretty bad experience in general. Bandwidth was low and load times were horrendous. I remember thinking "this will never work, who is going to want to watch some silly video on the internet?".

For reference, here is the first video ever uploaded to Youtube:

Slowly, more videos started to show, and again, the content was not all that great, my thinking continued down the line of "these guys are insane, this will never work".

I was studying computer science at the time, the rage back then was Flash - flash animation, websites with big ridiculous animated intros, flashy graphics, I remember www.2advanced.com was like the bible of the internet, everything they did was something to idolize, and at the time, it was.

It's so funny to think back to that time, we all know the story of Youtube now, they sold to Google for $1.65 billion dollars, here is the video of the two founders making that announcement.

A Message From Chad and Steve - Oct 9, 2006

This is 1 year after the first video was uploaded.

I can't help but think that they just finished having lunch with Google executives when this video was made, and had their $1.65 billion dollar cheques in their suit jackets. It just seems that way in the video.

I feel like Steemit is going to be the same sort of platform. I believe there will be jobs, industry and opportunity arising from this platform that we cannot even imagine yet.

I am so excited by Steemit that my head sort of spins at all the opportunity that is presenting itself on this platform.

I mean think about it, what do you want to do? You can do anything. You could be the go-to Steemian for knowledge about cars, fashion, architecture, web development, woodwork, crocheting -- anything!

I am so passionate about so many different subjects, that I am still really just asking myself - "what do I want to hero?".

I want you too, to ask yourself this question.

Let's try to not just regurgitate content from youtube or reddit or content or ideas that already exists elsewhere, let's try to create original content ( I will admit, I regurgitated content when I first signed up). Don't get me wrong, I mean here I am copying and psting a link to youtube videos, but I only do that to try and strengthen my article.

I guess what I want to say is I am just really looking forward to the future of Steemit and I love that none of us really know what to do with it yet, kinda, sorta. Where will this journey take us?

I look forward to reading this post of mine in 10 years time and really seeing where this journey takes us. I hope you will join me!

p.s Don't worry about catching a whale, keep coming with the articles that truly intrigue you, or stuff that is really genuinely from your heart, that is the content I upvote. Eventually, your time will come. I promise you. Also, remember, at the end of the game, the King and the Pawn go back into the same box. :D

Happy days!

#steemit #steem #new #content #writing

Sort:  

We are at the very beginning of something great!

Yes sir we are! :)

I like your content too, followed.

Thank you! Likewise-

I hope you're right holmes. And I hope all of us early adopters are able to cash in a bit. Nothing major, just a nice little treat!

I am a developer, and I have always wanted to create something similar to Steem - these guys have absolutely nailed it, and no doubt this platform will rise into the stratosphere, probably faster than any of us can imagine. I think by being on board early like this, you will undoubtedly benefit, either by gaining a huge amount of followers early on, or perhaps even $$ wise - whatever it is you are after, I sincerely hope you find it.

Good luck broseph!

p.s gardenia is my favorite fragrance from natures garden, it reminds me of my mom (I know you like flowers) :)

Stephen King and Dan Brown - eat your heart out! :P

Thanks Botguy.