LOUD - A digital study in noise and colour [original art]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

My last piece for today. This is a study in noise and colour I would like to share with you. Today I am liking really bright, smack-bang-in-your-face-pop-art. I love progressing through the day on an idea, and seeing where it takes me.

I explain my process further down if you are interested. I particularly love the unnatural colours in this piece. Particularly the white splash across her navel.

I would love to see this in a large, minimalist white home or gallery. I love loud colours on white. I love the contrast. I like my music soft then loud. I like my life busy then quiet. I don't care too much for perfection in my art, to me, that is part of the charm. To me, that is more like real life.

I hope you enjoy this, as much as I enjoyed making it.


Tools used | Photoshop
Medium | Digital


LOUD

The process

Step 1 - These are my base layers. Really simple, just two colours here, a bright yellow, and a splash of orange in a shape. The layers to go on top of these two, will interact nicely these these two colours. I try not to get too picky and choosy, and tend to just go with colours I feel are right. My art is spontaneous, and comes from nowhere. I like my pieces to reflect that. I think spontaneity is an incredibly powerful force.

Step 2 - I added a cute screaming model (missing fingers and all) and cut her out to put in my scene, I flipped her horizontally (sorry guys, not like that), fixed up some of her missing hands and did some various other changes to her that you may not notice. I also started adding some 45 degree shapes, with various blending modes to achieve the look and style I was going for. This splash of colour, is my favourite in this whole piece.

Step 3 - Continue to add different coloured layers, this time I filled with purple and red hues to fill in a bit of the background that was feeling a bit lonely:

Does this print evoke a sense of 'loud' to you? For my next piece, perhaps I will do 'quiet', depending on my mood.

Sort:  

Good job!!!