The Four Seasons - A digital study in the colours of the seasons [original art]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

This is a small, 4 piece collection I made today to represent the different colours of the seasons. I thought I would share it with you. Today I have been really fascinated with the ways in which different hues interact with each other via blending modes and gradient overlays. I explain my creative process towards the end of this post.

I love playing with shapes, until I have a result that I think, is visually stunning. I imagine these sorts of prints being hung in a very modern, minimal, home.

I hope you enjoy them, as much as I enjoyed making them.


Tools used | Photoshop
Medium | Digital


Spring

Summer

Fall

Winter

The process

Step 1 - I filled the main layer with a light background, in this case, I used a really nice bright and vibrant yellow. The layers on top of this base layer will interact with this layer. I also added two large spots of pink and white and played with those layers, until now they are barely recognisable:

Step 2 - I then added 45 degree angle shapes as new layers, some with orange hue fills, some with white hues, and changed the blending modes, I then added a gradient overlay so that these shapes colours would interact with the base layer colours in step 1:

Step 3 - Continue to add different coloured layers, this time I filled with white, yellow and red hues:

To create the different seasons, I adjust the hue and saturation of each image, playing around with the colours until I am happy with what I see.

Summer, is definitely my favourite season, but I also like winter as well. Nothing like sitting by the fire with a cup of hot chocolate (with marshmallows inside) and some good friends as I watch the snowfall outside. Heaven! What about you? Which is your favourite season?

Sort:  

i vote for fall!

Yes, very beautiful and subtle colours in the fall, thank you! :)