150 Steem Power and over 150 followers

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I've been on Steemit for almost two months and it has exceeded my expectation. My followers have been steadily growing and it doesn't seem that long since I celebrated having 100. About the same time I hit a reputation of 50. That has also jumped.

150 of each

I've been pootling along getting a few cents here and there, but this week a couple of my posts took me to a new level.

Big time

I obviously picked up some whale votes and I'm very grateful for those. A fair few other people voted too, but those posts didn't get many comments. One of them had none at all. That was for my charity pushup challenge, so at least I got some money to donate, but I'll actually keep it in Steemit and donate anyway.

One of these posts was riding high on the 'Hot' tab for a while, so that probably attracted some votes. I notice that other posts did not benefit from this attention and I only gained a couple of followers over those couple of days. Everyone has their reasons for voting. It may just be for the curation rewards, but I do value comments. I like to know what people like about the posts so I can learn to do better.

I've traded some Steem Dollars to allow me to reach 150 SP. I'm keeping some for other purposes. I didn't expect to make this much so soon. When I was on Tsu it took about a year to make $100 and I had several thousand followers by then. I appreciate that 90% of those were inactive. I don't mind if growth on Steemit is slower if it also means that people stay engaged.

Anyway, I have even more reason to stick around here now. Hope to have a few more successful posts and to make more new friends.

This is a 100% Steem Power post

Sort:  

When I was one Tsu it took about

typo ? on Tsu (?)

Oops. Fixed, thanks. I don't always proof read my posts

I'm still improving my english - it was an honest question, really :)

It was well spotted. Shows that you actually read it :) I know English can be tricky as it's so inconsistent. I'm a native speaker, but I'll still make mistakes.

Congratulations @steevc! 😎👍

Congratulations!

I reckon you are correct when saying most Steemit users are more engaged than other sites - and to our advantage, really. It does take some time to get through, but having been here for a couple of months I most definitely recognise names and post series. It is all about creating a presence through quality posting and being consistent about it.

We are the pioneers who will build this site. It could change when the next million join up

Congratulations. Thank you for posting this interesting information. No two of us will have the same experience. Steemit seems to be a great venue for individualism.

Thanks. I think we each have our own style. I could go more out to gain followers, but I want Steemit to be useful, so I limit who I follow. It's working so far.