London Crypto Show, the day after

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

That was a long day yesterday, but well worth the trip. Last weekend at #steemcampuk @redrica and @ultravioletmag were saying I should go to the show. I thought there would be a few Steemians there, but I was blown away by how many turned out.

Group

@roelandp and @exyle made it over from the Netherlands. Here's @exyle with @stephenkendal, @allasyummyfood and @rea by the @promo-steem stand. This was the busiest area of the show. It's not a huge event. There were stands by various coin projects, people with mining rigs, exchanges and even some lawyers. There were three stages for the talks, but I didn't get to many.

Eroche

@eroche came from Dublin for the day. Here he's showing @ultravioletmag the cool restaurant app he's working on that uses the Steem blockchain.

Selfie

This is a terrible picture, but that's @techslut on the left and @roxane on the right. @techslut came from Israel to do a great talk about @utopian-io. Utopian were creating Steem accounts for anyone there who wanted one. It would be great to see all the projects there get signed up.

Bar

After a long day at the show many of us gathered in the hotel bar (behind the velvet rope).

Beer

As you might expect there was some beer involved. I had a pint of Hiver that was really rather good, but as expensive as you expect in London.

Board

Someone was going to have to take home this board that most people signed.

Talks

Here's @anarcotech telling us how he wants to change the world. I love the passion that Steemians seem to share. He put this event together with @stephenkendal and @starkerz. They did a great job and it's wonderful that so many came out to support them.

Others I met yesterday included:

  • @buttpacker definitely have some unique content. It's mostly travel, but some of the pics may be NSFW!
  • It was great to have a chat with @ezzy.
  • @fredrikaa and @howo talked about @steempress-io that integrates Wordpress blogs with Steem.
  • @cryptocurator kindly bought me a beer. He was helping out on the stand.
  • @adetorrent is new to Steemit, but he's really getting into it. He posted a vlog last night.
  • @gillianpearce is also fairly new, but I could tell she was being inspired by the conversations.
  • @yensesa came all the way from Ghana where he is helping Steemians there get fiat they can spend on essentials.
  • The team from @appics were there with @mrs.steemit giving a talk about their really cool app that will be using SMT. They have been travelling the world doing this.
  • @simonjay was taking lots of photos. There were others taking photos and video. I've noticed that others who were not there are using some of these photos in their posts and using the #londoncryptocurrencyshow tag. Some may be sincere in doing this, but just be aware that others may be just punting for votes.
  • I finally chatted with @nanzo-scoop after missing him at Steemfest.
  • I met developer @justyy who I have had some discussions with in comments.
  • @dannyshine and @lloyddavis were also around. Lloyd had to dash off to catch a plane for his well-deserved holiday.
  • @dunsky did a talk about eSteem, but I didn't get a chance to chat with him.

There were so many others, so I apologise to those I missed out. I had to leave before 9pm to get a train home, but I think some were there a lot longer.

If you haven't met up with any Steemians then look for events in your area. I think there will be cryptocurrency events happening all over the world and there are likely to be some of our community attending.

All pictures taken by me.

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

Get some passive income with Mannabase

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

Well done and your support to steem.
It shows one thing that the camaraderie is here to stay.
Keep on steemin'

It was awesome meeting you and the other steemians :D I was also blown away by the number of people that came. I hope to see you again soon

Would have liked being able to join you all! :-)
But alas... better luck another time!

Likewise. Wish you all the best with your project

Hey @steevc was good that you came, it was nice to meet you, I remember now that I have often seen your comments around Steemit but glad to see you in person, I hope you can come to another event, gutted I forgot to get a pic of us perhaps next time.

I'm sure we will meet again some time

Great job bud.
Need more seminars like that to spread the word :)

Great round up! Wish I could've been there at the afterparty meet-up! I had to catch the train home up north, sadly.

That's a shame. They are such a fun group of people. I'm sure there will be many other events.

Great write up @steevc. Great to meet up with yesterday!

We've just got home after a late night last night and a stroll around the Chiswick Pier area this afternoon.

I'm hoping to put up a photograph post later but my write up will have to wait until tomorrow. I'm just too knackered right now and I have some other stuff to catch up on! 😁

Glad you enjoyed yourself! 😍

I just love meeting all these cool people. They inspire me

Me too. @steevc! 😍

How awesome is this @steevc - I remember you saying year ago you would wish to meet only one Steemian in real life and now it seems you met 50% of the most important people from the platform - jealous! Sure you had a rocking time!

This was almost like Steemfest again. I'm just amazed that people know who I am. I hope you can have some big events in Germany too.

Hope so too - we have a lot local meet ups across the country - you know Germany is very federal but heard some events coming like summer camp and somer party across the country.

Now I'm really glad we pulled your arm a bit to get you to come to this haha :P

Looks like you had an amazing time! Was great to see you there :)

It was a great opportunity for those who missed Steemfest to meet some of these people

It was amazing meeting you guys all.. It was really epic, educating and fund. Thanks

It looked like everyone had fun. Enjoy the rest of your trip

Wow what a turnout! Sounds like a great day had by many - a useful list of people to keep eye out for on Steem too.

You should try to get to an event some time. They are such interesting people.

Oh I will one day :) It's actually not a bad journey into London IF the express trains are running.

Hey @steevc - it was great to meet you on Saturday - it was really useful to learn more about Steemit from yourself and @eroche. Thanks for the write up and for making it to two consecutive weekend meet-ups. COMMITMENT. Perhaps with any luck for you - this weekend the meet-up will be in Bedford!

I have other plans this weekend. My family like to see me sometimes ;) I will get to other events when I can and hope to meet you again sometime to buy you a beer.

Talk Steemit / Drink beer - I'm in.

After seeing yours and the many other posts regarding this show I'm regretting not going now. 2 hours on the train from Preston and I'm there. I think it was a little too close to last weeks event for me.

The number of people who attended is mind-blowing. Hope the next one gets the same turnout, Ill be there!

There's another one this year. I'm sure you will get to meet some more of these people eventually.

Hey man, it was so good to meet you yesterday. Thanks for all your support!

Likewise. I hope there will be other opportunities to meet up

Awe cool!! Was lovely to see you can I steal the one of me :)

Of course you can. Hope to see you again soon

Ohh my what a picture of us :D LoL ^^ @steevc ^^

I know it's not great. Hope you don't mind me posting it. It was a really fun day

Not at all, I even saved it on my computer ;-)

That's a great collection of people to follow!

Well they are all pretty active and dedicated to building this platform. I'm sure they are all looking to support others

It seems like you had a great time! And I'm really glad to hear that @utopian-io was creating accounts for anyone who wanted it - this could potentially get a lot of interesting people to Steem!

Great to see that Steem is on.....being the most popular :) Great report of the day... I think I will take a trip myself the next time... Would be great to meet all steemians in person !!!

Would be great to see you. Look out for events near you

It sure will, will be looking out for events, and when they are, we plan a meet !! deal!!

Thanks for the report Steve. Very useful to see photos with names.

Interestingly there were 8 people in the post that I have interviewed on my radio shows!

Looks like it was most definitely A Grand Day Out.

Cool that you've at least spoken to them. Hope you can get to an event some time.

I hope you enjoyed our NSFW because we enjoyed meeting you haha ! Beer at Novotel costs A LOT, I agree, 11 quid for 2 Kronenbourgs, kill me pls x_x

This post has been upvoted by @steem-ambassador.

The #promo-steem mission is to support high quality promotional and educational posts which raise the profile and value of STEEM.

For full details of the programme, please visit https://promo-steem.com

I’m glad to see this community growing so fast. A lot of great minds and personalities at the #londoncryptocurrencyshow. The appics team from LA was a nice surprise, it shows how much passion there is in this blockchain.

Wow, cool. I would like to travel in a similar event too. What is your personal opinion about crypto? Do you think it is over future? Good post, good luck :)

Crypto has lots of potential, but governments and others don't like it threatening their power. We shall see..

Yeah true. For example poland invested millions in shutting down crypto, but i think it wouls be better if they give this money to people that really needs. The potential is really big, let's hope for the best!

What an amazing show and i think it was like mini Steemfest in London and meeting with all these creative people will surely a great experience buddy @steevc

Lovely photos! Nice to see you together guys :) Enjoy your time!

Congratulation sir.

@stephenkendal nice person and active person looking cool :)

It's a great event, we really support this project, You guys are doing a great job. Congratulations.

We greatly appreciate @steevc's efforts and look forward to meeting with you hope that steemian can gain valuable experience from @steevc

I came across that people who came here I hope to see you again soon...

Great! You doing great work... And my wishes to you...

awesome steemcamp !

I'm really glad we pulled a bit of your hands to get you this lol: p

Looks like you have an amazing time! There you have great to see