You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Truths and Myths of Steemit: The Value of Following Thousands of People...

in #steemit6 years ago

I think networking is important, finding the right people you want to move through the system with. I did the same thing you did and would follow someone based one something they said only to find out later they drive me crazy so I unfollow them. There are others you click to follow because they convey a message of peace and prosperity only to find you spend time commenting on their stuff and the only prosperity they spread is for themselves, they don't even vote on the comments people leave them. I guess it was pretty laughable when someone convinced me to start blogging here, being a long time blogger the butt kissing was almost unbearable....still is really, I find myself going back to my old blog all the time. I am not much for just going along with whatever to gain a couple pennies, sort of takes the fun right out of blogging if you can't feel comfortable giving your opinion. Someone I wasn't following that
someone I was following had resteemed the other day actually flagged me for not living in the same reality she was, elizabethleavos flagged every comment I made, basically censorship, on a Julian Assange article at that, it's just wrong that people can right out censor your opinion when nothing said was out of line. That hurts the discourse and leads people to bow down for a few cents, disgusting really. I am not sure whether I will or won't end up staying, if I do it will be because I know it will take three to four years to get anywhere near marginally important. I've been a blogger, (addicted hobby) (lol) for about three years and I am fully aware of what you mean about building relationships with people even though we never see them, that's important and it often takes time. Commenting is my strong point for now, working on writing, producing will take time but I am in no hurry....I've made thousands upon thousands of comments over the last three years and never got a penny for any of them up until now, so it's definitely not going to break me to be here.