Truths and Myths of Steemit: The Value of Following Thousands of People...

in #steemit6 years ago

Even though I spend time on Steemit virtually every day, as often as not I end wondering something along the lines of "I wonder whatever happened to ____?" and then I go off in search of the person in question.

Blossoms
Flowering salmonberry

In spite of being a pretty active poster and commenter, truth is that I can't keep up with most of the people I allegedly "follow." 

As I write these words, there are 516 people on my "following list." Each and every one was "hand placed" there because of something they said and contributed to the community that I felt was worthy.

Of course — just to add a little perspective — 516 is nothing, compared to the 3,855 followers I currently have. Alas, I must confess that I don't know most of you.

Either way, I feel a little ashamed that I am not keeping up with you all... but I just can't. And I wanted to talk a little bit about that, today.

Large Numbers Aren't "All That"

One of the things I never succumbed to when I first started here was this idea that I needed to "follow a large number of people." I also never harbored any delusions that just because I'd follow someone, they should follow me back.

hyacinth
Close-up of hyacinth

That's not how social media sustainable social media works. It has always been a slow build. Some people want to take me to task for that, pointing to the fact that I have a Facebook page with 17,400+ "likes." My response to which is "I started that in 2010..."

The thing about Social Media, and maintaining and building a social content blog, is that it is basically an exercise in "relationship marketing.

In our own way, we are "in relationship" with our followers here on Steemit. And that's what we want to to. We want people to care, to the point that they keep wanting to come back not just to check out our content, but because there is actually a level of caring and familiarity there.

And that's not something you're going to get, simply by going out and arbitrarily following several thousand people.

The REALITY of Following

The sad truth is that — as active as I may be in the community — in any given two week period, it's unlikely that I see the posts of more than about 300 of the 500+ people I follow. And I am a fairly active manual reader and curator.

cherry
Cherry blossoms

The reason I point this out is that I see relative newcomers to our community, and after just two weeks, they are already following over 2,000 people! And I think to myself "What are you DOING?"

Of course, what they are "doing," is following a pattern that was already established in the early days of MySpace, 14-15 years ago: A race to see "how many friends" you could add... with no regard whatsoever for whether any of those people cared about you, once you'd clicked the "friends" box.

In short, it was more of an "ego contest" than anything to do with effective social marketing.

Where Do Your Upvotes COME From?

For the purpose of examining this point, I'm going to ignore anyone who "buys" upvotes via bots. As far as that is concerned that's basically ADVERTISING, and it has no statistical relevance here.

Narcissus
Narcissus in bloom

The vast majority of upvotes that will come to this post will be from people I have built relationships with. Regardless of whether this post earns $3.00 or makes it to the "Trending" page, it will do so primarily because of votes from some of the approximately (just a "guesstimate") 250-ish people I interact with on a regular basis. The post's success or failure will have almost nothing to do with the approximately 3,500 other people who claim to "follow" me, yet probably have not voted on a piece of my content since the day they decided to press the "follow" button.

Whereas the "big numbers" look tempting, truth is that we make it or break it on the interest of our "core" followers. 

When we are still new, we might fairly quickly "get to know" 8-10 people with whom we share mutual comments and votes. In time, we expand our core. 

Even the biggest Whales — who have been active here since mid-2016 — don't have "cores" of much above maybe 500 people. If you actually analyzed their very rich posts, you'd discover that 90% of their rewards come from the same 80-100 followers. And even though they might have 700 upvotes on any given post, 650 of those are worth little more than a couple of cents each, and come from hopeful newcomers "hoping" their name will be seen. 

So What's a Wee Minnow to DO?

If you're sincerely interested in "building a presence" and being part of Steemit in the long run, shoot for quality, and BUILD RELATIONSHIPS!

Grape
Grape hyacinths

Choose posts that sincerely appeal to you, upvote them and add substantial sincere comments. Saying something meaningful and sincere on 10 posts is worth FAR more than spamming "nice post" to 200 random posts you didn't even read.

I know you've probably heard that ten times already, but probably not from someone who has been here a long time, but is NOT a Whale and is NOT an overambitious newcomer who doesn't quite know the ropes yet. 

I don't use upvote bots, and I don't belong to any "upvote guilds." My only serious affiliation is @steemitbloggers, and we're not an upvote club, but a content club. And much in the spirit of what I have shared here, membership is closed and capped because we know that "too large" simply doesn't WORK, when it comes to building a social content following.

Now, you might say "You just don't remember what it's LIKE!"

No, actually I do.

You see, I also serve as admin of a "younger" Steemit account for my wife and my art gallery, @reddragonfly, and an even younger Steemit account for my wife's non-profit organization @whitelightxpress

So I'm pretty intimately familiar with all stages of minnowhood.

Realistic Expectations

Before I wrap this up, I will bring up something I have repeatedly talked about here — and will continue to talk about for as long as there is a Steemit: You have to have PATIENCE and REALISTIC EXPECTATIONS!

Frankly, I don't give a flying flip what you may have read somewhere, or seen in someone's promotional YouTube clip... It doesn't apply to you.

Orange
Some orange spring flower I don't know the name of...

No, really, it doesn't.

What you think you know is only the truth the same way a car dealer advertising a new car for $9,000 is truthful: There is only ONE car at that price, and it has already sold. All the other cars are $20,000+.

What that means in Steemit language is that there is only one person (in the video) making $300 a post, and that person has been doing social media for 20 years and has half a million followers. That's not YOU. Just like opening a YouTube account doesn't make you Pewdiepie

So get REAL. Get your head back in the game in a realistic fashion. 

Even if you work hard, it will take you at least 60-90 days to become anyone at all. And that means creating quality original posts every day, and commenting intelligently on quality content every day.

There are quite a few people on Steemit who have gone from "nowhere" to "quite successful" in six months or so. But if you think you'll be quitting your day job and "doing this full time" anytime soon, you need a reality check. UNLESS, of course, you ARE Pewdiepie (or Jenna Marbles — let's not be sexist), and bringing over 60 million subscribers. If that's the case, feel free to ignore everything I just wrote!

But seriously?

DON'T take it all so seriously! Remember to chill a bit and just enjoy the ride-- stop worrying so damn much about the rewards and just get to know some of the cool people here!

This is SOCIAL media, remember...

How about YOU? What — if any — were your expectations when you started on Steemit? WHEN did you join here? How have things gone for you, compared to what you expected or hoped? Do you think a lot of Streemit newcomers have unrealistic expectations? Is Steemit generally more work than people think it will be? Are the people who are out there "making big promises" about the community actually HURTING the community? Or is any newcomer a good newcomer? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180406 01:28 PDT

Sort:  

Great article, just gulped it whole.
I am very new here, started a little over a week ago and I certainly didn't have many expectations from it. I would probably take it rather as a hobby with small incentives rather than a full-time occupation. It does take a lot of time to engage in the community though, so unless you enjoy it, then you can not make it successful (my opinion - doesn't have to be true).
I try to only follow people with content that interests me which keeps my feed always up to my personal tastes and I can more easily connect with people with similar interests. I would recommend this to everyone because it's easier to create relationships like that.

You brought up some very interesting points, thanks for sharing!

I too also only follow people who have the same interests, but don't you find it frustrating the people don't even look at your posts? It will not become a full-time occupation for either of us, the money is an incentive but the recognition yields the best reward.

Mmm, like I said, I am very new here, so I don't expect to be immediately viewed by hundreds of people which is why I am not frustrated yet. I just get happy when anyone gives me an upvote and even more, when someone leaves a small comment. That just makes my day! I guess that after some time, it might get frustrating but so far, I'm good :)

Fabulous!!!
great writing
i appreciate your post again>>

OMG I was thinking about the same thing the other day.I am having troubles to keep up with almost 80 people I can't even imagine how it must be to try an keep up with 516 haha

I can't fathom how you can realistically follow even 500 accounts.

I only (try to) follow 137.

And, it has only gone very slowly up to that number as I have added an occasional find. I can no longer realistically follow them all and read all their posts.

Perhaps you have noticed that, even though you are one of my favorite bloggers, I often can't get to your posts for many days on end. (And I don't have family responsibilities or any job I have to go to).

I do spend an enormous amount of time interacting with comments on my posts. That tends to preclude me from posting every day as you seem to suggest. But it seems to be a viable alternative.

A useful guides for the rest of steemers. But I'm wondering if it true that without using any promoting bot to have the goal will have a good return? or is it impossible to beat the steemers who enjoy using the bot to have a short cut achievement to get their goal in no time.

This post is right on time! I have been thinking about this is issue as well. Relationship building here is a little more challenging as you are getting to know total strangers, but that's the point right? One of the limitations of youtube, in my opinion, is that your posts mainly reach your friends and family, some of which are already quite aware of what you do and think about already. With that being said it is a slow process. my communication on here seems to be limited to a few comments back and forth then nothing. Time will tell...

While I agree with most of your points, the upgrade BOT part I don't or at least not yet. You see I'm new to Steemit and as much as people say, 'reputation doesn't matter, SP does' I have to say both matter.

I write original content but cant make myself seen because (48) isn't high enough. Yourself being at (69) will attract new viewers solely because its a high number.

I have told myself when my reputation reaches (55) then I will no longer artificially raise it using BOTS, as that is all it is good for. Maybe I'm playing the system but I just want people to LOOK. Can you see this from my perspective? I hope so.

Loading...

There is no way to keep up with a feed, let alone new posts. I have a schedule now to keep it all in perspective. Post at a certain time, check replies, reply back if necessary, then into my feed for a time. I try to upvote and comment on those I do upvote... as it may warrant.

The benefits have been great for me here on Steemit, but still working it daily... or refining if you will.

I always feel as if I am forgetting someone and then they will pop up on my feed and I'll see them. I am bad in that sense, but I do have a core of a few people I love to check in with everyday.

Being an artist myself, I tend to follow daily mostly other artists, but I also love to garden and raise chickens so I have a few homesteaders I like to see daily as well. But, there are people that slip through the cracks and then I find them again and think, "I wish there was a better way to stay abreast of their posts".

In many ways Steemit can seem full of things I don't understand. I still don't understand the voting bots, how they work etc. I tend to just post daily even if it's just a doodle, and then spend some time reading the people I like and find for the day, not a very good strategy I am sure, but I know what you mean about thousands of following. I'm at just under 500 and I can't keep up. I sometimes think about going through and deleting those I haven't seen or who have sort of fallen off the Steemit map, but then that becomes a chore that takes me away from making more creative stuff which is what I like to share whilst on Steemit myself, so then I just forget about it and go back to drawing :)

When I joined, last July, I didn't even know what it was. I just joined because my hubby @winstonalden was on it and was always telling me about it, but I didn't really get it. Then when I did post I never did the things I was supposed to do. I never did a proper, introduce yourself post.

It wasn't until 1 January of this year that I started posting almost daily, as I set it as one of my New Years resolutions, and haven't looked back and have really enjoyed it. I make it part of my daily art schedule so that sort of helps to keep that in focus as well. Over all I am VERY happy to have found steemit and would love to see other such platforms appear and see less Facebooks :)

Excelente artículos y punto de vista, cuantas verdades toca dentro del tema,para construir una imagen dentro del mundo de la redes sociales, hay que enfocar el esfuerzo en general,contenido con calidad, todo lo demás llegara en su debido momento, gracias por compartir tu tiempo,saludos.

The most accurate article iv read in a long time!

I have Ginabot notify me when i get new followers - amazing how many people follow like 15k people, they never see your post!

I have nearly 500 followers and i think i probably only have interactions with maybe 10 percent of them. Alot are probably inactive aswell.

Im very selective with who i follow and often go through my list and unfollow those who are inactive or for whatever reason i dont interact with. Its amazing your 'following'list can get big quickly if you dont keep an eye on it

Hello @denmarkguy! Thank you for showing me the ropes. I've only been here for 2 weeks so I'm not even a minnow. Just a small nobody plankton. My question is should I purchase some steempower so that my upvotes help others in a more significant way? Also, I wonder why remoras are not part of the steemit ecosystem because they are so useful in the real world? Thanks in advance for your kind replies :-)

@denmarkguy Siempre es bueno seguir los consejos de alguien con experiencia. Tienes presencia en steemit desde hace bastante tiempo y eso te hace tener una base sólida para dar un consejo. Yo recién estoy llegando a steemit y como todos, mi deseo es sobresalir en esta plataforma pero para ello debo aprender de los que ya llevan un buen camino recorrido como es tu caso. Por eso te doy muy sinceramente las gracias por esta publicación, porque con ella compartes tus conocimientos con nosotros, procurando con ello que crezcamos al igual que tú en esta plataforma. Saludos y que sigas triunfando!...

Well, the first thing I looked for here, as a tiny plankton (when exactly does a plankton grow into a minnow around here?) were experienced people who have been here longer and know the most about how the platform works.
I took a glance at their accounts, posts, comments and followed those I liked.
My main motivation for following them was to be exposed to what they do on steemit, kinda like wanting to "be in the know" and currently informed about what goes on on the platform.

So, I don't yet have anyone who I am connected to as a "friend on a social media platform".
I decided to focus on posting consistently and let the friendships develop organically. Will join Discord too, in time.

Right now, I'm still learning about the platform and find if fascinatinating. Almost like creating a whole new society from the ground up, that's alive and evolving. And is built on a finite resource (STEEM), but also on human inteligence and creativity at the same time.
How astonishing is the time and the world we live in?

I know that numbers are important, especially if they are the "right kind" of numbers. Trying to sift through all the daily incoming new stuff is impossible and a waste of my time. It's like standing in a rainstorm and trying to find a few favorite raindrops. I spend more times looking at blogs and trying to learn about the person and their motivation for actually being here, and I do find a few who appeal to me and I follow them. One, just yesterday, came from reading an adjacent comment on Pappa-Pepper's blog. It detracted my attention in one of those "squirrel" moments, but it was intellectually satisfying. It is a slow process but it slowly gains input for my daily incoming posts. Time consuming, but building a foundation so I don't waste so much time reading empty, non-productive nonsense others are turning out. I can never be on top because I don't have the time and am unwilling to pay a bot to make me look like something I am not.

Hi everybody, hi @denmarkguy,
Thanks for publishing this interesting article.
Your post reassures me, as it's saying everything I feel is happening.

I'm on Steemit since 8 days now, trying to produce quality content each day and commenting / upvoting other quality content (as much as I can, maybe 2 to 5 posts / comments a day as I don't have time for much more). But it's really hard doing it all on natural growth. I went to 200 VESTS to 1400 thanks to some "whales" (0.1$ upvotes) but who unfortunately didn't leave comments. But It feels like I'm still so far away from having enough SP to give 0.01$ upvotes and finally feel like my votes are having an impact when upvoting posts and by that, authors I want to support.

I also made 3 or 4 real connections with other people, and we are now, reading, commenting and upvoting each other's posts (not with an explicitly stated rule but with each of them I know I won't lose my time reading their posts, I have a big chance to like their content and hence finishing by commenting and upvoting it). We're not a "club", I don't see these people doing the same between them.

I was originally embarking for a 3-month minimum journey at this rate, but you convinced me to prolong it to at least 6 months. I'm hoping it will accelerate if I continue to provide good content.

And to answer your questions at the end of your post : I knew it was going to be long and difficult to get a little base of "real" followers. What I didn't expect was the systematic use of upvote bots by the majority of "big" authors and all the fuss about curation strategy. Even genuinely upvoting good content becomes an economical decision.

i love flower

I joined steemit two weeks ago and I'm really enjoying it so far. I try to do exactly what you're suggesting and I don't expect to become super rich quick. Even a couple of cents on a blog post are motivating enough for me. It makes me want to blog more than on my old blogs where I had no way to monetize at all or barely got any response to my posts.

Hey @denmarkguy, I appreciate how you stated this. It gives clarity of how this community is developing in authentic co-creative efforts that are being cultivated carefully in some of these groups.

I haven't been participating with @steemitbloggers, although they have been very generous with me before. I sometimes microblog to my Twitter friends about what I am doing here with a Steemit tag and a couple of times they've resteemed my content! It was a wonderful surprise to me and also proof to me that even if you are not invited to be an active contributor to this group, they have been doing outreach to support Steemians in different ways.

Love the post. Thanks for what you do. The flowers look luscious. When it stops snowing here, I'm going to go throw boxes of wildflower seeds over the sides of the mountains. I can't wait! lol

I think networking is important, finding the right people you want to move through the system with. I did the same thing you did and would follow someone based one something they said only to find out later they drive me crazy so I unfollow them. There are others you click to follow because they convey a message of peace and prosperity only to find you spend time commenting on their stuff and the only prosperity they spread is for themselves, they don't even vote on the comments people leave them. I guess it was pretty laughable when someone convinced me to start blogging here, being a long time blogger the butt kissing was almost unbearable....still is really, I find myself going back to my old blog all the time. I am not much for just going along with whatever to gain a couple pennies, sort of takes the fun right out of blogging if you can't feel comfortable giving your opinion. Someone I wasn't following that
someone I was following had resteemed the other day actually flagged me for not living in the same reality she was, elizabethleavos flagged every comment I made, basically censorship, on a Julian Assange article at that, it's just wrong that people can right out censor your opinion when nothing said was out of line. That hurts the discourse and leads people to bow down for a few cents, disgusting really. I am not sure whether I will or won't end up staying, if I do it will be because I know it will take three to four years to get anywhere near marginally important. I've been a blogger, (addicted hobby) (lol) for about three years and I am fully aware of what you mean about building relationships with people even though we never see them, that's important and it often takes time. Commenting is my strong point for now, working on writing, producing will take time but I am in no hurry....I've made thousands upon thousands of comments over the last three years and never got a penny for any of them up until now, so it's definitely not going to break me to be here.