You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minnows! Lets Change the Reward Pool!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Well, let me start of by saying that it is great to see so many people trying to build communities that support minnows. @MinnowSupport is really great from what I have read so far about them. I might get involved with them in the future.

Anyways, I am known to be a Buzzkill so hear I go....

If you look at the top people on the Trending page, you will see they each have a thousand votes... That means that hundreds of minnows voted on that post.

No, it does not. There are a lot of curation-trails that essentially put hundreds of votes on one post using Streemian. You also have auto-voting smurf-accounts and all that good stuff. The voting counter is actually not a good indicator for how many people read your post. Number of good comments is a much better indicator ;)

But you, Minnow, have a lot of power. You don't even realize it.

Just to bring up something positive. I fully agree on this statement. I tend to bitch a lot myself without realizing that I could be involved in constructing alternative solutions.

Peace Abundance and Liberty- PAL Discord channel

I want to keep Steem Projects on Steemit and not discuss and manage their details outside of the blockchain.

Sort:  

Good morning Sir Kill of Buzz ;) It's a pleasure to meet you!

Can you explain what a smurf account is?

Good morning dear Kitten, in video games it is common practice to have multible accounts. Usually you have a main account and multiple smurf accounts that you use to try new stuff and not meet skilled opponents that would exploit every mistake you make.

In League of Legends I am Heggal and my smurf is TahmIsLove. I got my main account recently banned for 14 days so I just played on my smurf TahmIsLove. It is pretty annoying level up a new account so some just buy accounts which is illegal at least when it comes to the policies of the game creators.

I am telling you all this because I think Steemit has very similar account creation behaviour but "lacks" clear rules about that. @Jesta and @Kingscrown smurf accounts (40-50 rep) were a few of the first people I interacted with on Steemit. Not 1000% sure that i met Crowns Smurf but I am 100% sure about Jestas.

Smurf Accounts are not necessarily a bad thing, but we need to be conscious about them.

A very good question... for a random cat ;).

Okay, copy. My boys have multiple accounts for their games for this reason. I have just never heard the term.

I don't think they have either- or it would have reached Mama's reality ;)

Being illegal... What are the punishments if you are caught?

Why thank you kind Sir. This random cat is a lover of information and, to be completely honest, the eternal knowledge seeker.

:)

Being illegal... What are the punishments if you are caught?

It depends. The cases are judged by Riot Games - The Creators. There have been popular cases of people being banned completely from the game most prominently Tyler1. I got banned for toxic behavior btw, I lost a ranked game on purpose.

the eternal knowledge seeker.

Followed you.

Wow, that's big.

Do those who are banned from a game come back with a spun IP address?

Toxic behavior! Shame on you, there are children playing!

... Alas, that is what I should expect from those who hail from the land of Buzz...

Ditto, Sir Kill ;)

Do those who are banned from a game come back with a spun IP address?

It depends. At first your account will get temporarly banned after that you might get your account permabanned. You are still allowed to create new accounts. If you got enough banned accounts you might get banned as a person. There is still VPN tho.

Riot had to let Tyler back into the community cause people loved him too much

And no he did not reform after this video it took him almost a year to get unbanned and the video was shot before the ban.

Oh wow!

Drama Drama Drama. lol

I remember hearing about how toxic he was. But from what I hear he earned pretty good money...

Following you dasdeutchesman. I like the way you think. I avoid joining any group that uses bots for buying votes and I don't like using external programs either. I really wish people would remove their votes from witnesses that promote vote-buying. I believe it really hurts the platform as a whole.