Welcome @welcoming, an account for manual #introduceyourself curation!

in #steemit6 years ago

The problem!

When browsing through the reactions of my post: Lets make #introduceyourself great again!, I discovered that many users actually would like to support some newbies – However they feel that the tag #introduceyourself is full of spam and not overseeable at all. Therefore, they don’t vistit that section anymore. Since I think this is bad for this platform, I have an offer for you!

welcoming.png


A possible solution…

I decided to create the account @welcoming in order to manually curate promising and well-made introduction posts and resteem them. This way you don’t have to dig through the spam masses in the #introduceyourself tag yourself – You now can take a look at @welcoming and you will only see manually curated introduction posts without masses of spam in between


How will this work?

Every day, I will try to resteem introductions which I think are worthy of more attention. You can browse through my suggestions and then choose if and which accounts you want to support for yourself.

All you will need to do is follow @welcoming or just check the blog on a regular basis. @welcoming will only resteem introductions and announcements about the service itself.

welcoming.png


Can I help?

Since I of course will miss posts, you could help me out by sending me links to posts which you think should get featured. Please use the memo function for this. (NOTE: Spamming me with inappropriate links will lead to a report @steemcleaners!)

Please only send me links to post with the following criteria:

  • Only the first introduction per person is eligible.
  • Only posts with at least one picture.
  • Only posts written in English.

If you, after a while, find out that you mainly agree with the resteems I do, you might also think about delegating some steempower to @welcoming if you don’t have the time to check the posts.


Why are you doing this?

I see this as an opportunity to support this platform even though I am not a programmer or somebody who can invest huge amounts of money here.
As I stated in my previous post, I think that a working introduction system is of great importance when it comes down to getting more people to use this platform. And if I can help with that, I am glad to do so.
The only way I will directly benefit is, if you approve my suggestions and upvote the resteemed introduction posts and therefore make my curation rewards bigger (since I of course will vote the posts myself as well!). I think that’s a fair deal ;)


Conclusion

If you belong to those people, who want to support promising new users but are annoyed of digging through masses of spam posts before finding them, try following @welcoming instead. You have got nothing to lose and a lot of avoided spam to win! ;)

If you speak German you could also checkout @neuvorstellungen by @twinner - it's the same concept but only for German introduction posts!


P.S.: I want to thank @acidyo at this point – With his reply to my original post, he was the one who pushed me over the edge to get the idea of creating this account! He is also responsible that the already resteemed introductions are over 5$ each - thank you!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Good initiative! Hopefully this original reward will motivate through this though investigative work.

Good luck and remember that you can't unresteem something if every you find out later they are fake.

Maybe you could make an bi-monthly report from another other account of the most interesting peoples that you've found joining Steem.

WOW! Thank you for the huge boost for visibility and of course the reward!!!

Good luck and remember that you can't unresteem something if every you find out later they are fake.

I am aware of that, that's why I am closely looking at every post I resteem - Of course I won't find out about every fake - but I hope about the most of them!

Maybe you could make an bi-monthly report
I was actually planning to do an report how the users developed, what percentage is still active, ...! Adding the most promising ones or the ones who developed "best" is a great idea!!!

Thank you once again!

Check out this concept that @fulltimegeek is using for his delegates or as he like to call us the Stewards of Gondor! :D

FullTimeGeek Runs Analytics on His Stewards of Gondor

thealliancereko

I am proposing that we remove the upvote option from the feeds and only have it on the article itself to encourage quality content. I would really appreciate feedback on this idea. Proposal

yeah good idea...

We appreciate your effort @theaustianguy

Nice initiative! Thanks to you a lot of newbies will get the proper start on the platform like they deserve....

The idea makes a lot of sense and seems like it's bound to make a real difference...

I wish you all the best of luck as you continue with this wonderful project..... Keep it up

Glad you like it, thank you ;) Hopefully you will check @welcoming on a regular basis yourself!

Very good idea! I hope it works well so more people who are just getting started on steemit will get the chance to actually be noticed.

I hope so too :) What are your first impressions of steemit?

This is great! Followed and also went to upvote a lot of the introductions you resteemed. Judging by the results on the trending page regarding both the payouts and the quality of introduction featured, you are doing a great job on making the #introduceyouself tag great again! :-)

Thanks for spreading love there :)
Btw, hab grad gesehen dass du in Berlin lebst? Also sprichst du vermutlich deutsch? :)

Also diese Idee finde ich großartig!!!

This sounds like a concept that could really make a difference, as a lot of writers and content creators can get discouraged by a lack of engagement with their hard work.
Besides getting the attention and upvotes of people who actually appreciate the content, I think a fortunate side effect will be that new users also get to see a curated list of promising creators at a similar level as themselves, making the early days on Steemit more fun and encouraging. All the best for this!

I like your thoughts :) It may also help new users to easily find successfull introductions so they have a idea how to write their own!

This would definitely make the opportunity for not missing newcomers to the platform that have good/great introduction posts. I have scrolled through many of them and some are not even worth the click, then I get frustrated and stop looking for new members with good quality; which probably causes me to miss out on some people here.

As I see @acidyo is the father in law of many projects as this one, as we, as many others. Good luck Bro! And let's keep STEEM growing! @welcoming will do his job!

A very good idea

great idea! thanks for the resteem!

klasse!

thats a very good concept. since I look already to the Germany newcomers main times and help the one or other there too. For English it will be very great, because for the English part, there is a lot of spammers, not like the smaller Germany part. very good, I will support them too.

Glad to hear that :) I sure will filter out the spam!

That’s great and right on time :D
Since my own #introduceyourself is still pending, I hope to be eligible for this great introduction to the community. Thank you! :)

If it fulfills the above rules and I consider it good, I don't see why I wouldn't resteem it ;) Feel free to send me the link via memo once you published it!

I said hello just last week. Any chance I could fire you my intro post? Trying to carve out a niche in the electronicmusic tag.

Hello ;) Unfortunately it is already past payout, so an upvote wouldn't make any change (and just "waste" votes from users)!
But I see your most recent post is doing well, congrats :)

Ah I see! Ok I get it.

Re: the latest post. No idea how that happened. That came out of nowhere.

Following welcome so I can find like minded music people as they come in.

Sometimes you just have to have the luck that a whale finds you :) Interaction with others boosts that chance!

Oh yeah, I’m always talking away...

great, I will :)

Great idea, this should help people who want to take steemit seriously, getting started on here.
I will participate ;-)

Glad you will contribute, thx :)

Encouraging people with this is a good way to welcome . Although I'm here for already two months I don't have a introduction post. Maybe I post an introduction too. 😀

Would love to see it :) Its never too late!

Hey my friend it's really great to initiate search event that will actually help us and the new users to introduce them self and also makes it possible for us to go to the right place for supporting the new users. And yaa as you had mentioned very right @acidyo is really doing great and also do help many to move forward .
Thank you #theaustrianguy for initiating such great work and it will definitely help user to introduce them at right place.

Awesome job! Will have to check it out! ❤

Thanks for the link to get over here and check this out, great idea and I look forward to the implementation of it.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Thank you for this @theaustrianguy ... I appreciate what you're doing her... It will help the new steemians a lot.
I have also just posted my introduction post. Please read it and curate it if you like.

Just resteemed it :) Glad that you had huge success with it, congrats!

@theaustrianguy thank you so much for resteeming my post. I'll continue creating interesting content. :)

Really cool idea and good job supporting the growth of the community :)

Thank you, hope this will do something good :)

Wow, this is some great idea @theaustrianguy. Kudos, man.
I also happen to believe that introduction posts really deserve love, and since I've been too dumb to think about this idea you're telling us about right here then I can only pledge my support on this.

I'll frequent @welcoming and send links when I find nice ones. Keep it up, bro.

Great, thank you :)

Anytime, man.

Good call @theaustrianguy! I'll gladly make use of @welcoming. Thanks for your time and effort.

@theaustrianguy , @welcoming , @acidyo This is a great idea and a wonderful initiative! But since I'm new here, I don't have steem/steem dollar to send a memo. If my #introduceyourself post looks good enough to you (I made sure to follow the requirements), kindly resteem it. Thanks.

Attaching the link below:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@hungry-nomad/hey-steemians-a-newbie-here-from-india-introduceyourself

It sure did - I even found it before I read this message :P

very smart thanks #jordan

It's things like this as to why Steemit intrigued me. There's the obvious draw of blockchain and such but to see it built with a purpose of quality content and community is awesome. Brand new to it here so still figuring out some things but looking forward to diving in more. Looking to get my intro up soon.

Thank you for support to the new people in Steemit, they need it in the new world.

Thank you for this wonderful idea. You are right. The #introduceyourself tag is becoming very cumbersome and lots of spam. I like to support newbies but unfortunately my time is limited and I can't afford to pursue the #introduceyourself tag for hours at a time. I will use @welcoming because it will give me new people to follow with out needing to spend a lot of time.
Upvoted, following and resteemed for more exposure for a wonderful idea.

great iniative and idea i will try to welcome to as many new users as i can!

aspiring doctor who wants to make the world a better place

let's make the world a better place all together, it will be faster :P

i love this so much! <3 Thank you for doing this for us

It's good of you to do this, @theaustrianguy. Joining Steemit around 2 weeks ago, felt about as disorienting as landing on the moon. I did not understand its laws or atmosphere. Even though I'd already published 7 book and had thousands of followers on other platforms, I had to start from scratch, here, which was humbling and no doubt helped me grow.

In fact, only this evening, after several dozen misfires, have I managed to create a post (my close encounter with a dangerous cult) that is actually being read by a wider audience.

So, it's kind of you to give newbies a welcoming hand as they land off the spaceship & good for all of us, too.

That's a good idea, you are so right about it being tedious trying to find actual real introduceyourself posts!!! Thanks for taking the initiative!

This is a great idea! I'd love to connect with other new steemers, but I have a hard time finding them through the spam!! Here is my introduction if you would like to feature it :)

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@pinellaslisa/hi-i-m-new-i-m-new

Excellent an informative post, I was a new steemit user. This information was very important for me, I thank you so much that I have benefited very much for posting this information.

Welcome!

Glad you read the post before posting the picture!

Its probably a bot to post this on every page lol

Yeah, it said hello to me on my introduction here last week. Introduce yourself is a bit of a massive neon target!

yeah I see it all the time!

Is there a special prize for the find content introduction. I suggest before you can send it through the application of discord. It's more fun, in addition to be able to send you the content of the introduction, there is, we can also interact:) @theaustrianguy

If you send me a post which I will resteem, you will get yourself a prize by the chance of getting high curation rewards ;)
And what do you mean about discord? I am there if that was the question..

super effort,, it is nice post,,, i supported,,@yousafharoonkhan

wow very nice photographar, beautiful post,thanks my friends

nice dear

join steemit-austria on discord : https://discord.gg/pqFY4aK

What's the memo function?

When you send SBD or STEEM via your wallet, you can add a memo to the transaction. The transactions can be as small as 0.0001 STEMM i think!

Its good idea i'm agree with you
Thank you @theaustrianguy

Good luck and remember that you can't unresteem something if every you find out later they are fake.

thanks.

This is great! I am definitely following to see more great #introduceyourself posts :) Thanks for the initiative!

You should :) Just came here from curating some new ones, check them out!

Personally i think that the intro tag should be for users that have between 20-30 rep ; and if they do not, they must pay a small ammount of SBD to the platform itself, to introduce a new project or something along those lines - this will not only help keep the spam out, but it will keep it in line with the actual content to the subject matter at hand .
This is just me thinking out loud though, feel free to comment on this itself ; i would like to know if something like this catches any attention enough to actually make it happen or if it needs further discussion .

The problem is that users also sometimes introduce themselves after their first posts - and then you could easy be over 40 as well. Plus spammers with rep 25 could use the tag as often as they want - And they are the real problem!
Maybe the tag can be limited to be used only once in 6 months by each user? I think that would help better ;)

well what if that spam issue was made taken care of ; like if you are on the platform for longer than a month - you cannot spam the intro post .
But limiting the amount of times you can use it could limit the amount of SBD the platform could earn - if they decided to have people pay that is of course .
Like there would have to be rules for it of course .
Between 20-30 rep ; if the account is longer then a month old ; it is turned off due to spam
Anyone that pays like ; 1 SBD can introduce a new project ; and it would automatically hit the promoted page .

If someone was starting up any more then 1 project then they would be forced to wait half a year for them to start a new project to introduce to the platform .
And if their first one were to fail during that time, it would cause them to lose out on quite a bit of decent posts .

thats a great one..your creation just awesome..thanks for sharing...✌👌👏

Thx ;) Share some love with the new ones!

of course my dear..you do same share.
✌✌👌👌

this is a great idea i also noticed the level in the introduceyourself section

Great initiative! I resteemed this post to help spreading the idea and promote this great new account. Will have a look there right now. :)

There are 2 pages
Pages