'The Feature' Carlos D'Angelo

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I spent half my life involved in professional wrestling, more specifically I spent 11 years as an active pro wrestler.

I loved it, but the one common thing I heard from people who had been in the business longer than me and were vastly more successful, "If it stops being fun, quit.". It was probably the best advice I ever got and that is exactly what I did.

A couple of years ago I walked away from something I had loved since I was a toddler. I don't miss much about it. There was a lot of back stage politics, more than you could imagine. Which breeds resentment and distrust even among the closest friends. I do miss a couple of things, being in the ring preforming. If you have ever been passionate about something then you know the feeling you have when you are doing what you love. It is as if nothing else in the world matters. And I miss teaching young guys new to the business. A lot of wrestlers are scared to lose their spot, but not me. I loved the competition.  I also enjoyed smartening them up to the way wrestling worked.

I don't want to go back. I don't want to be that older guy that all the young talent has to put over because of paying their dues. I hated old fuckers like that and promised myself Id never do it. I am feeling a little nostalgic after a phone conversation and I thought I would share one of my favorite matches with you guys.

For reference I am the short guy in the black and gold. My opponent is Deathrow and he looks like an inmate.

My advice if you are trying to figure out to follow your dreams, do it. There will be regrets regardless might as well aim for the stars