How I monitor progress

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I am a big fan of dashboards, I use them on my business, I use them in my hobbies, and I use them on Steemit. A dashboard is simply a bird's eye view of KPIs (key performance indicator or also known as a metric) in single consolidated view. This sounds complicated, but it is rather simple.

Good information greatly increases your chances of success. It's easy to go overboard, too much information and the noise drowns the signal and will reduce your efficiency.

My STEEM daily dashboard

Currently set at a weekly view, I can toggle any time period I like. I typically use weekly or monthly as it allows me to see my progress changes from the last time period.

This is my main dashboard for my profile, I also have some dashboards my bots and some global data of what's going on around me. The data is gathered from a SQL database and updates the charts on a regular basis (from 1 minute to 24 hours depending on how volatile the metric is).

To make the most use out of a dashboard you should have it on a dedicated TV or monitor. This way you can quickly glance at it on a regular basis. My TV cycles through many dashboards on a 30-second delay.

It is easy to fall prey to measuring everything, but doing so is very counterproductive as you tend to lose critical data in the process. You focus on the wrong metrics and lose sight of your key performance indicators or you just stop paying attention as there is too much information to process.

Knowing what to measure takes practice and at what level. Do you break down your metrics or use aggregate data, how often do you capture the data? Once you figure out the answer to these questions, building a dashboard that helps you on a daily basis is the easy part.

One of the benefits of a good dashboard is the time saved hunting down information in many different areas.

Think of what is important to your daily success, boil it down to metrics you can measure, and boil it down to one view. Use that on a daily basis to keep track of your progress, but most importantly change direction when you need to!

Why you should vote me as witness

X48EJ

themarkymark.png

My recent popular posts

The truth and lies about 25% curation, why what you know is FAKE NEWS
WTF is a hardware wallet, and why should you have one?
GINABOT - The Secret to your Sanity on Steemit
How to calculate post rewards
Use SSH all the time? Time for a big boy SSH Client
How to change your recovery account
How curation rewards work and how to be a kick ass curator
Markdown 101 - How to make kick ass posts on Steemit
Work ON your business, not in your business! - How to succeed as a small business
You are not entitled to an audience, you need to earn it!
How to properly setup SSH Key Authentication - If you are logging into your server with root, you are doing it wrong!
Building a Portable Game Console

Sort:  

That’s sick! Great looking dashboard! What programming language do you need to know how to do this? You mentioned SQL. What else? Thanks for the post and inspiration on how to stay achieve more success by having more clear and detailed information consistently at your fingertips! Thanks for the post!

Tracking your progress is essential in anything you do.

I really like your dashboard.

For anyone looking to get a tracker of some form, the best I can find is https://steemworld.org/@

Just copy and paste the above and then after @ put your user name.

Great post

Steemworld is awesome, I love the work @steemchiller does.

Thats just awesome.. i was looking for something like this!! Thanks a lot!!

It really is a great tool to use and track your information.

Hope you enjoy using it :-)

Thanks for this post. I love seeing my metrics at a glance but didnt know there was something for steemit to do this!

So how can we get that dashboard aswell? :o

We also do this a lot at the office which engages in a financing activity. We monitor everything from sales to collection. Through this we can measure the performance of every individual which is a basis of their rewards. Most of all, this gives us a clear view of how the company is working in general.

Yes, computers are good at digging through a bunch of numbers. It's good to know how to make them do it so we don't have to!

I have to say that it looks like a grafana dashboard, really liked it. Might actually do something similar to this.

Is the dashboard a kind of a website we can use it ? Give the link please if this the case, I also already voted for you as a witness and today in my last post I asked people to do the same.

It is something I make for projects I work on.

amazing, I hope we will see that tool soon, I will for sure use it and advertise it, it looks nice.

I like your high contrast color scheme. I keep tried a few times to present high contrast designs at work, but they get rejected every time. Such a shame because they look so cool IMO.

What BI tool did you use? Power BI? Since you cannot share the dashboard, would you be willing to share the SQL queries?

Does your dashboard have drill down capabilties? For example, if you wanted to see the detail of the 27 downvotes, can you drill down to see who downvoted you and for which post or comment?

What is producer rewards? Is it your reward for bring a witness? Am I reading it correctly that you earn ~116 steem power for 1 week? Also is this from the 21st block of each 63 seconds that get distributed amongst the non-top 20 witnesses?

Keep up the great work. I voted for you last night.

I haven’t used Power BI before. Been wanting to check it out.

It does not have drill down abilities, it is something I like but it takes away from the idea of a dashboard focusing on birds eye view and tends to make you fiddle with the data more than acting on. I can query for the details if I need them but most of the time it isn’t important. I also get notifications of things like flags so I already know what they are.

Typically spammers retaliating.

That looks like a pretty cool dashboard! There are so many Steem blockchain explorers around there, but I am actually missing one that lets you track your individual progress. Would be awesome if you made your dashboard available online for everyone to use. Data is beautiful.

Steemworld works great out of the box.

https://steemworld.org/@raci

Thank you, I didn't know about that one before, but it looks pretty cool! :)

What site is that? It seems so useful.

It's my own

It’s not shareable, right? Hehehe :-)

I can set them be public which I do for some to specific people. Most of them are private and used to keep me on track.

Are these for sale or you just showing off?

I guess showing off, was more trying to show the importance of having something like this.

So how do we get one? Damn it Mark, put up a download link for 10 SBD.

He is such a showoff isnt he? They are very sick.

Yeah he is basically just like look at my fancy shit, no you can't download it anywhere. It is just mine and it's mine.

@themarkymark i really appreciate your work so much it is very nice to see the great work you are doing .
I can design anything called art ,
Thanks to@liondani for his support .
For resteeming this post, great man he is .
This is how my darshbord looks like
Screenshot_2018-03-13-13-48-58.png
This is my art work too
DQmVjvv6be8cd7f2bhPpk9txcSJx1vLbHd2qogbueK3Uq3A_640x480.jpeg

Too bad i can't find a public site that does this so well... :(

Wow good job on the dashboard! I love when people can organize data in a visually pleasing manner. Keep it up!

I love your dashboard and how you're able to keep things organized so as to track your progress. I'm just curious how you're able to setup a pretty and decent dashboard for your activities on the Steem blockchain. Is this feature available to everyone? I'm still finding my way around here on Steemit.

Too bad not everyone has the programming skill as you do. Btw dashboard is really a great idea in knowing what is happening with least effort.

You should consider making that more public. I use steemworld. Would be nice to get more control. Guess I'd have to do like you, and make my own.

I wish steemworld would have a night mode. Kills my eyes at night looking at it. LOL

I love steemworld but it doesn’t do everything I want and not in a single glanceable view. I have two or three steemworld tabs open at all times.

Looks very good and easier on the eye than half the apps available with no extra pages (apparently) to navigate. A focused operator fully versed in all the information readily available has to have a better chance of success than one without such a setup. And then a dedicated display is the cherry on the cake. Could there be a more professional outlook in this regard? Maybe, but not by much.

And a placeholder for your avatar image. Nice touch! ;) Especially, if you find yourself updating your photo often and want to keep track of which one you're currently displaying.

If ever you release an idiot-proof app, I'd be all ears. :)

That looks amazing, can you share the code? or maybe do it public for every steemit account?
Thanks for sharing

Most important metric being your profile picture, every day passing Mal Reynolds doesn't age at all, astonishing :)
But seriously, do you monitor it in case some defacement happens too? Nice visual distinction for your different dashboards.
For the ones who want to know, the monitoring software used here is called cyfe dashboard.

I just put profile picture for fun, it kind of personalizes it a bit.

Defacement is less of a concern than for websites. If someone compromises an account they are after the money and not as much defacement. Although lately spamming comments seems to be a big goal of hackers compromising accounts.

is there a site you sue?

Is there a place a non-programmer can go to learn how to create a dashboard or import steemit statistical data?

There are lots of dashboard options out there but getting the data always requires some programming.

It is really a organized way to look the activity of the account in dashboard.

Your article is well written, and I will continue to pay attention to you. I want to ask you how to do this steemit? What do you do to make your steemit get such a high income? Sincerely ask for you, thank you!

They try to dashboard everything where I currently work. But as you mentioned, its quite challenging and they continue to struggle.

Dashboarding everything is counter productive. Less is more.

To effectively monitor project progress, you must understand its objective as well as the strengths and weaknesses of the personnel involved. ... Write down your goals for the project and when they should be met.

I like post you

Looks pretty cool.

My guess is that your total Steempower of over 150K is from all your accounts together. Good Job!

nice post, great idea.
please what site do you use in monitoring your dashboards?

i like your post. This is very useful things.

What dashboard is this you are using? The steemworld one mentioned in comments?

Many a time I end not doing things I really want to do, instead I pros pone them. Monitoring myself with a success dashboard will most likely work for me. Thanks for your post. @ Marky Mark

hELLO, HOW ARE YOU? thank you for the post, i would like to know how get a dashboard like that

OK.
@themarkymark
I like it.
this is my IDEA: The ability to change the time interval of statistics.
e.g. weekly monthly, yearly, all time.
[increase / decrease - at different time intervals. line or logarithmic graph.]

What do you think?

I have the ability to do that, I can set it to any time period I like.

Didn't see on pictures so did not notice - that's great.

Ok, what else comes to my mind in terms of self statistics on steemit - this is the bite of post tags.

What author dominated the tags on steemit - is this eg #art because he is a painter .. or maybe only #science because he is a scientist, maybe he is a traveler and #travel or maybe a little bit of everything. (which the most) eg in the form of a pie chart.

You can go further and see how the tag rewards the author - where it gains the most.

Your dashboard is just awesome! I love the design, very readable. What framework/engine have you used for the UI? :)

themarkymark,

It would be great to get an idea of which solutions for dashboards you would recommend. You convinced me of the merit, and that they are beneficial to you, yet no direction on which dashboard providers / solutions are best.

Thanks for posting the article and that is a great dashboard of yours!

Great post Themarkymark it helped me a lot. I'm new here on Steem it. Thanks and have a great day

I like this post..so beautiful dashboard..

Welcome to my friend..

Great post mr @themarkymark 💪💪