Why Ginabot rocks and catching another plagiarist

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

image.png

If you haven't read my post on @ginabot, stop what you are doing and check it out. I couldn't live a day without @ginabot notifications.

@ginabot is a Discord bot by @neander-squirrel that notifies you when someone mentions you, flags you, witness votes you, and many other events. I depend on it daily to keep me in the know and saves me a ton of time.

Earlier today I noticed a mention of me, which I recognized the post as one of my own.

After checking it out, I noticed it was, in fact, my post reposted by another author.

original post

2018-03-10_13-11-40.gif

stolen post

2018-03-10_09-06-25.gif

I spend a lot of time finding spammers and plagiarists, and one of the techniques used frequently is spinning text to avoid plagiarism checking. Spinning text is the process of replacing words that have the same meaning, for example replacing something like "replacing words" with "swapping words". This makes it harder to detect plagiarism, but not impossible. Upon manual inspect, it is very easy to recognize. It is a process that is usually easily automated and allows spammers to post content with even less effort than a Haejin post.

The best part is when he converted the username money-dreamer (the target of the original post) to money-visionary. That gave me a good chuckle.

Anyway, I have zero tolerance for plagiarism and stealing other people's work for profit or fame. Even more so when it is my own content or anyone's post on Steemit and repurposing it for themselves.

I immediately flagged @slamanrandhawa and started to write a post about my current situation.

Now what happened next isn't much of a surprise, I am quite used to it in fact as I have blacklisted almost 1,000 individual users from @buildawhale to date. I frequently am attacked back, but this one was quite glorious.

I received similar comments on other posts of mine, but this part stood out.

Now while having my ass hot fucked today sounds intriguing, what I found very interesting is SO WHAT BULLSHIT THEIR CAN BE NO PILGARISM DETECTION ON THAT POST. This is important as he believes because he spun the content, the content is clearly unique even when inspected manually. I'm not sure if he really believes this or is just trying to cover it up and act stupid.

Spammers know how plagiarism detection works, and likely test their own content to assure their "content" passes detection. Many of these types of spammers use automation to do this completely automated and hands off.

What is common though is their reaction to be flagged and called out. It almost always results in insults, threats, and a bundle of flags.

chrome_2018-03-10_09-29-22.png

In this case, he went down my blog and flagged everything, and hit three users I resteemed. I am not sure if he thought they were my posts or didn't care but this is also common. As usual, these users have almost no steem power so their flags are as useless as a solar-powered flashlight.

If you didn't get or remember the bundle of flags reference, it was from a previous interaction with another spammer.

Trying to stop spam and abuse on Steemit is an endless, thankless, and usually comical experience.

Why you should vote me as witness

X48EJ

themarkymark.png

My recent popular posts

The truth and lies about 25% curation, why what you know is FAKE NEWS
WTF is a hardware wallet, and why should you have one?
GINABOT - The Secret to your Sanity on Steemit
How to calculate post rewards
Use SSH all the time? Time for a big boy SSH Client
How to change your recovery account
How curation rewards work and how to be a kick ass curator
Markdown 101 - How to make kick ass posts on Steemit
Work ON your business, not in your business! - How to succeed as a small business
You are not entitled to an audience, you need to earn it!
How to properly setup SSH Key Authentication - If you are logging into your server with root, you are doing it wrong!
Building a Portable Game Console

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Thanks for what you're doing.

WE ARE THE RESISTANCE!

@GrumpyCat

  • You are flagging innocent people and calling them "collateral damage"!
  • You are trying to impose your rules by using your SP on ones weaker than you!
  • You have rejected all the diplomatic proposals we have brought so far!

Your self upvote is flagged by The-Resistance team using the WE-RESIST bot.
We will be resisting with a team, stronger each day, unless you stop downvoting innocent people.

To your tyranny WE-RESIST

The Resistance
Discord: https://discord.gg/qMWCbWR

Could you stop that?

cottoncandygirl.gif

this is very funny

Can you stop that? If you stop, I'm sure they'll stop.

If you wouldn't self-vote yourself the way you do, you'd be bringing more value than not.

Also, you seem to be really good with your grumpy memes. You should join the #comedyopenmic contest. I mean, I laughed pretty hard.

Heck, maybe you could stop by and curate some jokes too. That would be such a wonderful contribution, as opposed to all the self-love you give yourself.

Good memes from everyone though. I laughed.

I didn't laugh at a small portion of the rewards I earned getting drained because you keep on doing this.

I guess your 4 words are more valuable then any amount of time I spend on my content. Thanks.

--Repeating message deleted--

@the-resistance

WE ARE THE RESISTANCE!

@GrumpyCat

  • You are flagging innocent people and calling them "collateral damage"!
  • You are trying to impose your rules by using your SP on ones weaker than you!
  • You have rejected all the diplomatic proposals we have brought so far!

Your self upvote is flagged by The-Resistance team using the WE-RESIST bot.
We will be resisting with a team, stronger each day, unless you stop downvoting innocent people.

To your tyranny WE-RESIST

The Resistance
Discord: https://discord.gg/qMWCbWR

wow great post sir ji i'm so happy of this post

Oh you really going to love my latest post then...

Wow that is rich stuff. Having the gall to plageris a steemit article... that is lazier than finding other internet content which would still be wrong but at least takes more effort and brings new content to steemit.

Fight on!

I would not be surprised to this user is 100% automated, right down to the insults.

your post has good vibrations

This is the avatar markymark should used!!!

Congrats, you made the #steemitminute for today!

Click the Image Below


nice one

Does resteeming a post count ?

Count for what?

as plagiarism

Of course not!

Great post :D

First of all what you are doing is not completely thankless. Thank you. What you are doing is really appreciated.

Anger is the expected reaction from people trying to cheat and thinking that they had and then getting caught. You do a great job of just letting it slide off your back and then keep moving. I appreciate content ownership and have been defending it my entire life so I am with you.

Stay strong and keep knocking the cheaters on their asses my friend.

Wow. I am sure that the long comments I write get reused. Never actually thought about it before. I guess because I would never do that.

you are right

@baah I appreciate your passion, but I respectfully and wholeheartedly disagree. As someone who has for decades advocated for creative people to own their creativity, I can tell you with 100% certainty that them owning it has nothing to do with slowing down creativity or impeding industrial progress or anyone else from doing anything, it only has to do with positioning creative people to be both recognized and compensated for their work.

If you drive a taxi or build a house you are paid for your work. It should be the same if you write a book or a song or a piece of software. You are confusing the business around creativity which I agree is terrible and a business that has been mismanaged, with necessary intellectual rights. Without these rights creativity would dry up completely.

Look at places like China where there have been no rights. Name one artistic achievement out of that country in the last 50 years. Name one technology advancement. It is because they do not protect and encourage those who create these things.

Creative people do not usually make good business people, history has shown. They need protecting, history has shown. They have been exploited for the benefit of others. The current social networks continue to do this. Every social network including this one runs on their creativity. Without it, no one including you or me would be here and it would devolve into nothing.

Yes right now Steemit can offer people a financial incentive to come but that is just a carrot. They will have to keep people here with good content and to get good content, they will need to protect the rights of those who create it. There is simply no other way.

As always I am open to hear a competing view but please give me some examples of where protecting someone's invention has impeded progress. Before you do however let me give you one and provide insight around it.

Let's say that someone created a cure for cancer and they patented it which means two things: 1. It is exclusively theirs and 2. everyone can see exactly what it is. So for the life of the patent no one could use it. Or could they?

What would you do? I would use the information contained in the patent, make the thing and distribute it widely. They would scream blood murder, but would show I never make any money off my use of their patent so they could not stop me. This is a real occurrence and happens every day in places like where I live in Thailand. They take patented drugs for HIV and sell them or give them away for next to nothing to poor people. Some of these pills are $15 each in the US. Here they are less than 10 cents. What I am saying is that if someone wants to use a patent to make money from it and can't then yes it is a hindrance, but if they simply want to move things forward, nothing holds them back. Yes Thailand is on some IP watch list, but the bottom line is people have access to the drug. In other words, you take out the business part and there is no issue when the subject is real need and IP.

Finally and to be clear I am not saying I like the current system only that creative people should own what they create. Thanks and sorry for the long post. By the way I was a songwriter and composer in Hollywood and represented about 200 writers at one point so this subject is near and dear to me. Thanks.

Loading...

Hello, Baah. You're having trouble to distinguish absolute ownership and subjective ownership.

Absolute ownership is a theoretical impossibility by which an individual can "own" something through divine rights or universal truths. It is impossible unless you believe that a god exists who gives such ownership of something to someone.

Relative ownership is the opinion of individuals of the belonging of a certain object. If I think that a certain piece of paper that fell to the floor is mine and I pick it up, but you pick it up first because you think you own it, there is no "real ownership" but the one that will result from the discussion of our opinions. I will say "Hey, I saw that falling out of my pocket, it's mine" and you'll say something similar to fight for your right to keep the piece of paper.

If I grab your comment and I say "I wrote this" and I repost it everywhere and everyone credits me, @cryptosharon, for your comment and I get a lot of money for it, you'd feel bad because it was actually you who wrote it but I'm getting the credit. It is not because you hold absolute rights for it, but relative rights for it (coming from your opinion and the opinion held by the members of the surrounding social context).

There is a lot to debate about copyright, ownership, licenses, terms of usage, et. al., but saying "ownership doesn't exist" is just not the way to do it. Claiming and enforcing ownership of certain things might be bad for productivity, technololgical advancement or whatever, but that doesn't change the fact that ownership is subjective and exists as long as someone thinks it exists.


Ownership is an opinion, but it has real consequences depending on the regulations that are present in each context. In the Steem blockchain, there is an absolute freedom. This means that anyone can say anything they want. But there are subjective regulations (as regulations are always subjective). These regulations are not called laws by any means, but they are imposed by users.

@grumpycat sets his own rules, for example, and enforces them. There is no absolute rule that says that having a bid bot that accepts more than 3.5 days is bad, but Grumpy Cat thinks that it is so and, JUST BY THE FACT that he THINKS that this should be so and acts upon it, we can say that there is a regulation.

Ownership is the same. I own my writings because I think I own them and the society that surrounds me thinks that I own them. But if nobody thought that, I would not own it.

Ownership is not an Opinion. Ownership is a Right

With all due respect, you're still misunderstanding the different kinds of ownership.

There is an "ownership as an opinion" and an "ownership as a right". One is a thought, the other is a social convention.

Did I say that Ownership doesn't exist or does exist?

It doesn't make sense that Ideas or Content can be Owned.

You did say that. Ideas are the abstract, content is the concrete. So basically you said that nothing can be owned. I can own anything I want. I can own your head if my distorted mind thinks I somehow own it. That will be my opinion. You will disagree, of course, and society will disagree, and, legally, I will not own it, but I will in my mind.

Someone makes a sculpture. Someone steals that sculpture.

Someone makes a sculpture, someone steals the IDEA of the sculpture. The sculpture is concrete, yet it has abstract values such as its shape and what it represents. Someone makes another sculpture with the same shape and, by extension, same representation.

The first sculptor owns his sculpture because he thinks he does and society around him accepts the fact as such. The second sculptor owns his sculpture because it is his opinion, and society agrees that he owns his sculpture but society disagrees that he owns AUTHORSHIP of the sculpture.

There is no "actual ownership". There is absolute and relative ownership, and under relative ownership there is ownership as an opinion (effective only in the thinker's mind) and ownership as a right (effective in a community such as human society).

that's why you're on an OPEN SOURCE, completely transparent platform, because if you COPY the work AND claim it as your own, ain't nobody going to get "hurt" feelings or feel bad

  1. Open Source means that you can see it, not that you can copy it or alter it. You have no legal right to attribute to yourself a copy of a piece of open source
  2. Regardless of rights, can still feel bad when things happen (police can legally send someone to jail, but the person being sent to jail will feel bad about it)
  3. But you still have no legal right, regardless of open source status, to copy any work and claim it as your own. You can still be brought down by all legal means for plagiarism insofar as there are laws that regulate such actions around you.
 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

I think the best bot for plagerism is @cheetah. It is quick and accurate.

It doesn't catch spinning and other tricks.

Thanks

thumbsupcolor.jpg
I just mage this graphic today...NO PLAGIARISM ...lol
HERE'S MY ORIGINAL SKETCH I MADE IT FROM...
thumbsup_drawn.jpg
And I grant use copyright and non-plagiarist use

I'm voting you for witness so
followmesteampower.jpg

So, are you going to post the vid of your ass hot fucked on dtube, or stream it on dlive in real time? We need to know the schedule for the latter.

@themarkymark! :)

-> @einsundnull is fight on fake and plagiates.
You can test a litle sum steem delegate, to make this account stronger for downvote plagiates und spam.

Lol, good job :) tipuvote! 0.1

These manchildren always respond with downvotes when called out. The same thing happened to me a month ago, and I exposed this fool to my fanbase. It was 3000 people laughing at a manchild.

I really hate plagiarism

U5dscdpJzHy1AKQbVVdsFeC3jEke17M.gif

Good

^--- You made this exact same comment at least 9 times in the last couple hours. View these duplicate comments

Upvote this comment to support @duplibot and help reduce spam and superfluous comments.

we all know plagarismis not good but no way to find out this because we dont read any post seriously

I read posts, but only things that interest me.

Thanks for doing this... Thank you very much

Yess good men

Very good topic friend greetings from venezuela I follow and vote

certainly ginabot has become a great option to track abuse and plagiarism, I have read accounts with sbd transferred that could only be detected by gina and at the time of reviewing, and the account is in the hands of another user... the subject of plagiarism is quite interesting, it is an arduous task to verify it, I would like to learn more, I will look for some options in your blog, happy evening.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Wow.... Nice

I really like your writing, because it is very useful and can be used as learning material for me and maybe also for other steemit friends. Thank you for the information.
Success is always for you.
Best Regard @ airil280708

All reports come with a similarity score. This score shows how many similarities in your document.Plagiarism risk score. Unique. This score shows the risk of plagiarism in your document. The more commonality detected, the greater the risk of plagiarism. Our research shows that this feature detects plagiarism risk by 94%. This is just one of the many reasons why users like our system.Unique Paraphrasing. This score reminds you of the paraphrase number in your document. A high paraphrase score can signal plagiarism. Be aware of the high paraphrase amount.
Unique Quote Unique. This score shows how many inappropriate citations are in your document. While it is acceptable to use citations, the document should not consist of most of your documents. It's also wise to verify the source of each quotation used, to avoid the risk of plagiarism.Matches Unique. This score shows the number of "matching" sections in your document.@themarkymark

Good catch. I'm not sure if I would be livid or laughing at catching someone who plagiarized me. The gall of these people to even attack back when they're caught and then go after someone who was not involved. I see the 12-yr old temper tantrum still is alive and well.

This gif gets much use :)

It's very appropriate:D

Oh...so much better than the still frame! Perfect flail.

What a "moran" lol

I got a chuckle out of that too.

really importance post ,sir

It is always funny to see those plagiarists getting caught and then getting angry. One would say there is a 6 years old behind his screen.

Take my meaningless upvote :)

This is indeed a great topic. Desiring to learn more.

Plagiarism comes from the need to make money

LIFE CAN BE SO DEVASTATING, MUST WE ALL SURVIVE SOMEHOW❓❓

Why this plagiarists can't create there own content? Can't their own brains think of their own or they're just using their resourcefulness? Good thing this community cares for originality.

People tend to want something for nothing and will do as little as possible to get it. It is the same reason there are "Windows Technical Support" scammers trying to hustle people for $200-1,000 at a time.

People tended to want spices for nothing and would kill or enslave the locals to get them. It is the same reason there were "East India Company" scammers trying to hustle people for pounds or guilder at a time.

It makes me sad to see how vicious some people can be. With all the effort it takes to plagiarize (and fool people)...they might as well be trying to write content about things they are actually interested in. I don't get it.

It's far easier to steal than it is to work. Steemit mimics society.

I guess thats true. I just would never do it, so to me it sounds like a lot of work...all to get caught/flagged/ and embarrassed. lol.

A Steem account is pretty anonymous and not like can't create a new one for free.

Not even sure what to say other than how grateful I am for @gina.bot and @steemcleaners and guys like you @themarkymark.

Although it's basically mentally-retarding to have to contend with this, as you have clearly depicted by the way it tends to go, I am somewhat relieved that we have the community with us in this.

I have so far been fortunate to not have much of this kind of thing happen to me, but on one specific incident, I was beyond surprised at how the community stepped in and supported me to make sure my content wasn't being handled by someone's tacky Steemit antics.

Thanks for all you do here, man!

I guess these are desperados living in complete denial of reality and they may not be very mentally stable! How can one respond so badly to being caught in a huge lie? I honestly don't get it. The insults he threw out were massive!

Thank God for Ginabot, I shall begin to take her way more seriously now. Well done @themarkymark...it must be rather tasking doing what you do...Voted you as witness asap! Cheers!

could be a matter of affection mr @themarkymark Wkwkw

thats hilarious... SO did you ever get that HOT ASS tapped or what? when can we READ Chapter 2 here lol .

902b817f6587054c2f55bac0e7302ebc.jpg

"THEIR WILL BE NEWS OF YOUR ASS HOT FUCKED TODAY YOU CRAP"

Omg I laughed until I cried, there is so much to laugh at in this statement. I want someone to annoy me so I can shut that at them and see the strange mix of emotions and confusion flash across their face. What a gloriously, ridiculous troll . Made my mrning. Nice job calling another out.

This post has received gratitude of 17.88% from @appreciator courtesy of @themarkymark!

We need some kind of plagiarist reporter protection plan

please let the zero tolerance continue

Me: So what's new here?
My Mind: Well there are now tools that helps you plagiarize others content and get away with it.

Jokes apart no content should be plagiarized. Its akin to stealing. It isn't ethical.

thank you for the smiles and laughs lol
it's crazy lol the reaction is always almost aggressive wow or non chalant like "u r jelosss" lol

There are 3 pages
Pages