You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Applications Now Open for the Steem Onboarding Translation and Video Team

in #steemit5 years ago

This project is exactly what Steem needs and for that, it has my absolute support.

I still remember my own first days & weeks on Steemit, which were shaped by many question marks in my mind. Why isn't anyone reading my posts? What is the difference between Steem and SBD? What is curation? Should I upvote directly after a post was created or do I wait?

And while I somehow answered all these questions, it was a long and bumpy road. If at that time, there would have been an initiative like @steemonboarding, everything would have been a lot smoother and more efficient.

So with that said, it's a pleasure supporting this post with a sponsored 100% upvote from Smartsteem (@smartsteem).

May this be the kick-off of a partnership to help make Steem a better place!

Sort:  

I think we all had some of those problems when starting and if we didn't have a mentor or a friend dedicating hours to teach us, it was incredibly hard to get a hold on how the platform works, and that was months ago, right now we have tons of dapps and communities, I can't imagine how hard it must be to be a newbie these days.

Thanks for the support and the massive vote man, and yeah, let's help make the Steem community the best version we can be!

It's super hard. Most start off posting content, wondering why they are not getting any views/comments/likes. So they look around, find out about something called "bid-bots". So they buy some STEEM to use it for promotion of their post. And then suddenly someone complains under their post that they shouldn't use promotion.

I can understand all the participants of this circle and I truly believe that your project with @coruscate will bring big changes.

Great point @therealwolf! If we consider that STEEM as a token and steemit as a blog interface are confused 24/7, this is a great plan to have some ACTIVE marketing towards outer space (IE cryptocurrencies).

That's why I think steemit.com should be renamed to avoid the confusion, or a rebranding of the steem token itself.

I think that as well @inventor16. Maybe a new interface for blogging will soon be the new standard!

Exactly. It's a horrible fact that so many people confuse Steem with Steemit.com.

It took me a long time to understand that Steem does not exist just because Steemit does. When I finally figured that out, a whole buncha other stuff started making sense. I'm perpetually surprised to discover how much I still don't know so this project is making me happy in a big way. I can't wait to be able to point my friends toward the content when they ask me how to get started doing what I've been doing the last year, steeming full-time.

That's exactly how I feel too @allseeingewe. It can be overwhelming to think about spending hours with someone to explain everything - and then they never even make an introduce yourself post. I think many of us have had that experience and have gotten burnt out on inviting friends for that reason.

Thank you so much for all of your enthusiasm and support of the project!

At first it might have helped to spread the name out @therealwolf, yet the implications are huge:

  • there is (almost) no understanding of what is SP and the benefits of holding/investing in bots/curation
  • people in the crypto-universe can not see opportunity in staking SP if they are outside of Steemit, meanwhile the crypto is STEEM itself
  • There is no knowledge of Dapps or STEEM usage.

Holding SP is basically running a masternode, without fixed costs of a server/machine 24/7 online on a top 50 coin and with great return. That is something that @ned and his team needed to market hard.

Thank you for your support and encouragement of the project @bafi! We discuss this exact topic in one of the first videos people will watch to help clear up any confusion on that point.

Is there the opportunity to bring those contents into Italian too?
I'm an Italian power user and multiple sources like the Buildteam can vouche for me, as I did already do translation for minnowbooster and multiple other projects.
I'm really fluent in English and almost mother tongue in that, would love to help the project out @coruscate @anomadsoul

Thank you for reaching out via discord! It was great to chat with you about the potential of having you on board to help with Italian translation. We look forward to stay in touch and collaborating on this.

Towards infinity and beyond!

100%

Thank you so much for the re-steem and for all of your guidance and support on the project @andrarchy!

You hit it on the head with those questions - and I think they are ones that we all struggled with in the beginning. Unfortunately, so many leave before pushing through some of those barriers. Thank you so much for your support on this project to help remedy that problem.

It means so much to have you and @smartsteem behind us!

过来顶下