“Cents on the Dollar Per Post! Why, Steemit? WHY?!?!?!?!”

in #steemit7 years ago

“I pour my heart and soul into every post—spending 10+ hours on it—and it makes me only $0.25! Screw Steemit, it's a waste of time.”

“Success is the sum of small efforts – repeated day in and day out.”--Robert Collier

Let me preface all this by saying, this is merely MY opinion and you're welcome to differ in your beliefs. Although I may not necessarily agree with other peoples' opinions, they're free to voice them and I'll engage with them with the utmost respect...unless, of course, your behavior warrants that of a six-year-old disabled monkey.

In my post six days ago about common problems minnows frequently encounter, I came across a lot of complaints in the comments section about how minnows put their "all" into every post, then get discouraged after making only a few cents/dollars in return.

Minnows-Whales-Steemit.jpg

My friend Olga lost her iPhone 7 in Thailand...that's ALMOST as tragic as when minnows spend hours on a post that makes less than $1!

I must admit that I was very fortunate/blessed at the beginning of my Steemit run with my intro post getting to the top of the "trending" page. But nevertheless, based on my experience on both Steemit and YouTube, it seems as if minnows/newbies are simply not willing enough to put in the endless hours of work to reap any sort of benefits from this platform. Instead, they're looking for that sense of instant gratification, a trait commonplace in many millennials thanks to advancements in technology, swift telecommunications, and the rise of the internet, where almost everything is granted in the blink of an eye. @stackin wrote a great article about minnow entitlement here.

The more time I spend here on Steemit, the more I realize that this place is more about quality over quantity. To me--and again, this is just my opinion--it's also about the mindset you have coming into this place. Rather than focusing on the financial incentives Steemit provides, I've found that it's way more beneficial/enjoyable to view these monetary rewards as "supplemental rewards" rather than making it your "primary objective." @emperiumfx commented on my previously mentioned post, which I can't agree with more! He said:

"it can be overwhelming. .. and time consuming, but to me it is fun.”

@world5list, @offoodandart, @heyitshaas, and I have quickly discovered that Steemit can quickly turn into something like a full-time job, as there's always more work to be done (i.e., creating original content, replying to comments, commenting on other people's posts, upvoting, etc.). But just like any other job, it's easy to burn out unless you enjoy it and gain pleasure out of it.

Haas-steeminfrenchies-Frenchie.jpg

This is Haas @steeminfrenchies sunbathing...don't be a sunbathing Haas 24/7. Put in the work!

Additionally, when starting several businesses, not every business will be a hit...the same goes for Steemit: not every post will be a hit. That's why it's always important to keep creating, testing testing testing, gathering data, etc. until you find a formula that works for you + an audience who stays engaged with your content. I don't mean to sound like a "guru" at all, but despite having done relatively ok, Rene @world5list and I are still constantly on the prowl; conducting endless hours of research to find out exactly "what works" and "what doesn't."

@cccmikey wrote:

I've tried posting a bunch of stuff but I know that I'm no celebrity and I have no real friends here, so I'm kinda using it as a diary for fun instead. If I had unique and useful I might be able to make a mark here, but I'm not a journalist etc.

While he may still only have a small following, it's this mindset that makes me believe he will succeed here on Steemit...because after all, success—no matter what medium/platform you choose to use—is all that we're looking for in the end, right?

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

life is survival. some of that time in life make money, some of it is a learning curve, sometimes things happen, sometimes they don't, i try and treat things less of a race to a finish but more a pass to continue to take part. keep doing you're thing, maybe look at spreading some of that writing energy into paid client work, i work on upwork and skillshare and that brings in additional revenue, i treat steemit more like a place i can put a blog up for free, no more wordpress sites and i actually get comments. for me that's huge! :) keep, keeping on!

Steemit is a great option to write about anything you want and get people to really read it! I'm sure we'll all learn something from steemit, no matter what's gonna happen in future :) Besides that, I still hope it keeps growing and every single one of us profits from the time we put into our writings!

This post received a 4.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @jedau! For more information, click here!

@randowhale my post did not get the votes. It was still 2 days old and was never upvoted by you before.

Yes, it did. Please check before making a claim that it did not receive a vote.

I was waiting for a while. And the funny thing is that this time your usual comments did not come out. And even when I commented here I still did not get the vote, via steem.supply, steemd and steemnow.
If it went through in minutes I would not even message you.

Sorry about your friend losing her phone ;p If you read The Slight Edge (a short book) you'll realize most people are destined to fail because of bad habits, repeated every single day. It's the small things that make a WORLD of a difference! Instead of complaining that you didn't make an extra $.50 per post for the last week, you should be going ham on next week's posts. Double up the work, hell maybe even triple it. Go full out and eventually, the rewards will exponentially grow. Until then, work on building an empire ;)

Thank you :P
Yeah, I agree.. It gives you a kick, which makes you want to put even more time in a post in order to make it great!

Good post, Thanks for all this info
Download Udemy Courses for FREE!:
https://steemit.com/udemy/@hamzaoui/free-more-than-500-courses-from-udemy-in-2-tb-free

This comment has received a 0.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

My first post was introduction which was just a practice post, and i got just more than 1 dollar. And then i posted a travel blog which got me around 100 dollars. That got me motivated. But the next 2 posts which i thought had similar quality only got around 3 dollars. Maybe sometimes depends on luck

I think more people are signing up for steemit everyday and that is temporary draining the prize pool..... This is actually a very good thing though! We steemians want the community to grow. In the short term it might take a way from our pennies, but it will pay dollars in the long term.

Keep getting more people to sign up family:)

Yes, more people are joining. True, i don't mind getting less now if there will be more in the future

I think there is going to be A LOTTTTT to go around in the future... Ill see you on the moon @djohan

let's drain facebook and youtube swamp

AMEN to that!!!! The more main stream the crypto industry gets, the more profitable steemit will be $$$$

Yeah, it's growing for sure! But you're right, that doesn't mean that there's more competition! It means profit for the long run! :)

I love it !!! That is why I just went out and bought some T shirts from a Steemian made....Our goal is to get people to sign up!!!

When you starting it is depending on luck, this is how I see it. I think setting long term goals being consistent and not looking at money it what it takes you to the right place. For me Steemit is curation from the Gambling Addiction, instead throwing money away I'm killing/investing my time here

Yes I am addicted to steemit now. But better be addicted to something that pays you money. I bought some steem using bitcoin to boost my steempower

Especially cause you can make money here, but not lose a fortune!

Yes very exciting when steem price goes up. Gambling is fun though, but just not too much. $1000 and $10 bets don't change the game. Just need to psychologically train ourselves to be excited with 10 dollar bets

Its not always luck friend.Now people have become greedy of the money.They never like to vote for others.But my upvote for you and the post.

Yes mostly voting for themselves. Usually opvote all the comments on my blog

Thank you I appreciate your support! Don't worry about those who don't vote for others...I personally think that by just staying focused you, you'll succeed no matter what! They can throw you to the ground, but they can't hold you down ;)

Yeah, I guess luck is a big part, but it also depends on the users, if they like to read about it or not.. and the competition gets bigger too! Everyone needs to try & write about unique things in order to create a successful post

I learned something from that experience though. I posted the next 2 posts within minutes of the one getting 100 , hoping to get similar success. But the people who just voted might not want to vote again to the same person, so now i post max twice a day

I agree, if you dont want to put in the effort, dont expect great rewards!

Exactly! Thank you & good luck for your posts :)

Angelo, Excellent post, I am really enjoying writing the blogs about traveling. On 117 followers now in two weeks so I am super happy. The way I see it, if it comes natural to you, you dont need instant satisfaction.

Exactly my good friend! You're doing a great job and I think you're going to do really well here :) Keep up the amazing work buddy!!!

Very good analysis of complaining Minnows and unsuccessful members. I advised a friend yesterday on the same issue. I started on June however concentrated my energy on the fun I get on the platform and building trust with followers and thus, seeing the benefits gradually. This is no get rich HYIP scheme rather a social network that rewards you based on your high quality contents and hardwork.
You and @stackin my buddies said it as it is and I agree. More success and lets stay in touch.
Dont forget to check out my post for a link to collect free crypto..a once in a life time opportunity.

It could be done better, everyone puts hours in writing and everyone should make more out of their hard work! It doesn't have to be a fortune, but a little bit more for motivation, especially when you see how some posts are doing great and yours doesn't.. You start questioning yourself about what's wrong with what you've just written!
Thanks a lot for your input & good luck :)

I agree. However in reality, even if all post quality contents, some people will always earn more than others..thats the nature of economics and reality. All hands are not equal.

DAMN STRAIGHT spend time and effort and struggle to write and I am horrible at it so that is even more effort to get stuff out and pour everything you have inside and you get enough to buy a piece of candy out of the $.25 gum ball machine, GGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRR, ahahahhahahahaha, but alsa you just have to keep pushing and go onward and upward,

upvote, comment, resteem, follow

it is what it is and it will be what it will be, and it going to be what its going to be

Right! But we'll see what's gonna happen in the next few weeks/months :)
Good luck with writing your posts!

I'm new on this platform, however I'm not bitching about people make money here and I've got only pence for the post. My mind is to create and to be consistent. It's set for long term. I only get a little bit annoyed when the guy with thousands followers put the random picture of the flower with comment "This is a flower" and make on it 200 bucks, it's probably the luck of being before newcomers that's all. But I hope steemit community will verify it at some point.But Minions are not newcomers and they have to try hard. Generally I like this quote it's also about the mindset you have coming into this place

Thanks a lot & welcome to steemit! Hope you're enjoying writing on this platform and thanks for reading my post :)

It takes time so be patient that’s I did..

You hit the nail right on the head @theywillkillyou! Thanks for mentioning my article about "minnow entitlement", I got a little heat from fellow my minnows bit they needed to hear it lol.

I see big things from you guys, Let's go make it happen :)

Upvoted and Resteemed!

Damn, a resteem from you is HUGE! Thanks brotha really appreciate it :) My pleasure on the mention...you deserve it. Let's tear this place up!

No problem boss... I got to share great content lol

Great post..

Thanks a lot!

Hah, great post and so true. Our attitude is that we are not posting for money, we are posting for ourselves and exploring ideas and thoughts that interest us. (However, if a few cents do trickle in of course we won't complain either).

p.s. Haas looks very comfortable. Cute dog.

That's the way that I see it too.

Thanks a lot! Yeah, i guess no one here would complain about earning something for their work :)
Haha Haas is awesome, but she shouldn't relax too much - she's gotta work on her Steemit posts :D

sigue esforzandote en mi pais existe un dicho el que persevera alcanza y mira te estoy comentando y me estoy dando cuenta que llevas 100 SBD

I won't lie, when I first started, I had that same sense of entitlement, to a degree. Sure, it manifested differently, but it still caused me to flame out. If I were to look at it in black and white, I was surely in the wrong end of the spectrum. I admit it. I operated under the wrong mindset. So, I took a break from Steemit.

When I came back though, thanks to another prominent Steemian, I came back with a more positive mindset, and I have been here ever since. It's good to point these things out, pare, and some people are lucky to be innately positive. But, for those who aren't, it's good to point out what's wrong with the mindset they have and the benefits of shifting to the opposite.

It's all about expectations, and if people expect to get rich quickly, then they're in the wrong place. If they're posting because they love what they're doing, then they're already on the right path. Personally, I didn't want to get rich quickly, but I was dismayed at how low my posts were being received. But, even $0.01 is better than 100 unpaid likes on Facebook.

Now, I'm truly in it for the long haul. Grit and grind until we get our goals. You tell 'em, pare. Way to show the other minnows how to go about things. Lead the way, brother!

Well brother, I didn't know you had taken a break but we're damn glad to have you back! And great job staying on the grind :) You know we're all rooting for you & we'll always have your back! GO GO GO

Yeah, I meant, social networks in general, where likes and thumbs ups don't really amount to anything. I guess YouTube is different with the views and all the ad revenue, but yeah, I just realized it doesn't really qualify as social media haha

You did the right thing :)

... view these monetary rewards as "supplemental rewards" rather than making it your "primary objective"... I can't be more agree, this is not the first time I try to create content in a social network, but is the first time I feel real motivated to improve it every day.

That's great! Good luck with writing great posts on steemit :)

Thanks ! :) I'll do my best

Congratulations @theywillkillyou!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 8 with 161 comments

Awesome post, this! I converted a few people from the Cult of the Book of Face over to Steemit, and it was interesting to see that two of them wanted to give up after only three or four days of trying, because they weren't making millions yet. They looked at the high paying posts, and figured it would be easy cash. I asked them how much they earned within the first three to four years of being on Facebook, and although they probably only made about one or two dollars on here during the first week, it was still one or two dollars more than Facebook ever gave them... or probably ever will. I told them that this is a living, breathing community, and that if they keep contributing good content to it every day like they do with Facebook and other sites, nothing would prevent them from seeing the rewards of their efforts sooner or later. Consistent, good quality content, and being active (comments, re-Steems, etc) I believe is a recipe that should work for anyone. Steemit is not a get-rich-quick scheme, and anyone willing to work hard and keep at it, will eventually reap the rewards...

You're right! You can't expect to make a fortune out of your first post! It takes time and effort, which you need to put in! Good luck with your next posts and thank you for that great insight :)

Agreed! :) Thanks a mil. It took a few random posts to try and get a feel for the system, but I believe I now have a niche that I could cater to going forward :)

For me to I agree fully to your message are conveying. we should view this platform just as the other social media platform. Share and comment meaningfuly, with that the reward part will also come
My mind though

Thank you! I hope so :)

I am on your side with this viewpoint, One of the reasons I haven't made a lot of post is just as you said, to put quality work out ,One must put in the time, something I don't seem to have a lot of these days!
I do post some short things and do a LOT of reading, up-voting and re-steeming great information from everyone here posting so many "help" tutorials about not just steem, but also help learning about cryptocurrency.
But I closed Facebook and I'm hooked on Steem, been telling everyone about it, this thing is just getting started. Great post.

Thank you! Good luck with your posts - Steemit is the best in regards to quality :)

Ya you are right we are westing our time here fuck the steemit

Even if it's just pennies it's more than I was making on social media ☺️
Be grateful ⭐️

True - that's another point that sets Steemit apart from all the others :)

Great post. I'm currently curating a community of artist friends from my instagram account to join SteemIt. It's so much more than monetized engagement. In my opinion it is actually quite foolish to join JUST for that, as SteemIt offers access to new audiences and a chance to build real influence, along with that comes many opportunities for networking, doing business, and building brand. The good news is, people who are on here only to monetize stand out like a nymph among wizards, we all know that they will vanish when their expectations haven't been met!

I agree, in the long run it's survival of the fittest aka social media Darwinism

100%! Well said.

Your hard effort is working.
Continue what you used to do.
Rewards will follow from steem board.

But to flourish in Steem : click on my name and upvote me in my every post and I will upvote your every post,so mutually both will be benefitted and follow. This is the way of prosperity here. Thanks in advance.

Minnows it's Simple, if you're not popular, get popular, or your posts will continue to be unpopular. How to do that, well, remember job interviews? You need job experience to get a job but without a job, you can't get job experience? Sum like that, good luck!

wow. inspiring & motivational

Great! Thanks a lot for that comment :)
I completely agree! Good luck for you too!

Yes you are absolutely true. As new commercial we don't get enough rewards on por post although we give our 100% to the post.

But it is a very good achievement that I got great community where I can share my thoughts freely.

Yeah.. The platform is great & the good thing about steemit is, that you can write about everything what you want :)

Nice read, thanks for the post!

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it :)

Its the bitter truth in the beginning, anyways i can resteem your post

Thanks a lot :)

Its alright, You are welcome anytime

My first post did $70 odd. I guess it comes down to the content.

That's great! Good job on what you've earned, you deserve it :)

Not a legend level, I do not use those sea creature terms, but here is my 100% upvote for you. Just keep posting. ;-)

Thank you very much :)

Nice work, i hope you grow fast on steemit ;)

thank you!

You are more than welcome

you speak for many my friend

Thanks, I appreciate your kind words!

Very welcome :-)

Great read! I agree its all about quality content and consistency.
Also like in life, takes a little time to make friends here, and friends are the ones that could give you the little push/help you need to succeed. No need to rush it I guess.

Thanks for the great read!

Yes, steemit is still pretty new! So we'll see what the future brings :)

haha c'mon Mr Haas get your lazy butt to work!

Hahaha lazy dog :D She's gotta get working on her next Steemit post!

Whaaattt..😀

My first post got 6 cents i think.... more than i would make just walking outside, so, thats a start

True :D Good luck with your next post!

i know how it feels haha , imagine spending hours studying the cryptographs , research and finally writing . At the end you only get like 40 cents lol, even my memes can fetch higher than my crypto blogs

i know some of yall will burn me for doing this for the cash , but in reality i really do enjoy writing crypto- blogs , but as i m still in College , i need some money for daily expenses .

I think everyone can understand that! And you're probably not the only one who's still in college and finds their way to Steemit :) Perfect platform to earn some extra money!

I know how you feel, cheers mike

Thanks! Hope you enjoyed reading it!

Yes I totally agree with this post this is like a big travel diary for me personally and I enjoy writing and I try not to focus too much on the value I am getting back as it will hopefully come with time but for the moment I enjoy sharing my experiences it's fun :)

You're definitely doing things right with how you're approaching it :) Keep doing it for the fun and it'll only be a matter of time until you're get back tenfold for your efforts!

Yeah I can't figure out Steemit at all... some posts make $60 and others make nothing ? Followed and upvoted

A huge riddle to solve..

Wow, $0.25 - You did well, my last post earned me $0.02! Oh well, keep on keeping on. Good luck. ;-)

Thank you! Good luck to you too for your next posts :)

I feel you like everybody here feels you.

How ever I cant relate to 94.94 earnings :)

I think you be good for today :D

bless

Thank you & good luck for your future posts :)

The theme of all my compliments

Very nice post it. I really like the .Woow votes are also a lot of ya friends. Best regards from aceh

Thanks a lot :)

yeah at first i was just posting for the sake of it first post made 2 dollars then decreased to about 1.20 but it doesn't bother me as much as although i see in the trending section users making over $1000 a post (makes my jaw drop sometimes lol) . It makes you get that hunger to do more then i guess when you do and you don't get the same results it can be discouraging. I guess its nice to see when a post gets $5 - $10. I think it all depends on who is interested in your post and if its genuine. Sometimes a small post can get a huge following depending on who can see it for example, I post funny things sometimes which I think at some point can become viral but there is no rush :) i'm newish but starting to get the idea

followed you and upvoted

Thanks for your support! Yeah it's really amazing how well some people have done on here...rather than getting frustrated, I see it as motivation to keep grinding :)

Excellent way to look at Steemit posting :) Very positive thinking. I learned within a few days that although the upvotes on my post is very much in proportion to the time and effort I put into each post and it's a tough climb in the beginning and at least for some time before I can find my own voice and niche, I am still searching. Yes, after awhile, I can overlook the upvotes and actually get some fun and enjoy the posts I make. Not giving up just yet and steeming on :)

Thanks! Yeah as long you enjoy what you're doing, then you're definitely on the right path. And I'm glad to hear you're not giving up anytime soon...this is just the beginning and we're all bound for great things in the near future :)

Now there comes a better payout! 😎

Persistence and quality are key, indeed. Frustration is part of the 'game'. Hang in there all of you minnows me included.

I completely agree! Good luck with all your Steemit endeavors ;)

Thank you 🙏 - the same to you!

There are 2 pages
Pages