How To Upvote and When To Stop - SIMPLE and EASY Explanation

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Still for many people Upvoting and Voting Power is still not understood by everyone, especially the new users. In this post I will try to explain it so everyone understand it. Upvoting is a big part of the "game" and it's fun and we like to see our upvotes make a difference. The more powerful your Upvotes the more curation rewards you get. I will use an analogy to explain how it works.


I will use a boxer as an example


Vote Influence

As a beginner you start out weak. Your punches don't hit as hard as a professional boxer and you don't always know when and where to punch, but you have that in mind that if you train more you will become stronger. Training will make you stronger. To work with your punches and make them hit harder you need STEEM POWER. The more STEEM POWER the harder you will hit.

The more STEEM POWER you get, the more influence your upvotes will have and the bigger your curation rewards will be.

MORE STEEMPOWER = BIGGER INFLUENCE & MORE CURATION REWARDS

Voting Power

like any other boxer, you can't just keep hitting forever. The first few punches are the strongest ones. They connect with most of your power.

The Voting Power decreases with each upvote and when you start with 100% then the upvote will decrease your voting power by 2% per vote.




After throwing punches left and right you will start draining yourself and you will become less effective with each punch. As you know, no one can keep punching and expect to have the same power behind every punch.

As your Voting Power goes down, so does your voting influence. The less Voting Power, the weaker your upvotes.



When a boxer's energy gets drained, he has to eventually stop fighting and recharge. No boxer fights everyday. They need to take a rest and after a while they will be able to hit at 100% of his power again.

Your Voting Power recharges at a rate of around 20% per day. If you deplete your Voting Power it can take quite some time to recharge to be at 100% again.

Boxers will drain themselves too much if they fight for too long and then it will take longer time to recover. They have to fully recover before the next fight, otherwise they will not be hitting at 100& of their true potential

Here is how to see your Voting Power:


https://Steemd.com/@yournamehere - Your voting power and stats will be shown on the left.
Skærmbillede 2017-11-04 kl. 14.44.53.png


Don't forget to upvote, resteem and follow me for more content.

Tradewonk.png

Sort:  

This was a great analogy you used. I was confused about that voting power. I am glad someone clarified for me.

Now if we lease SP(Steem Power) for lets say a week or four weeks. Won't it be hard to get a return on your lease if you have to wait for recharge of your voting power at a rate of 20% a day?

If you cast 12 100% votes a day, your return (not considering compounding or the depreciation built into steem you can earn about a 30% return per 4 weeks. which to me sounds like a fantastic way to use the money that otherwise will be sitting in my savings account collecting dust while i use social media which is what i am best at anyway.

one more thing:
upvote at -1% the posts you do not care for or think should not be on here, and that overtime will add to how fast your voting recharges as that is an average of votes per day/ total SP power

good luck friend

This is such a wonderful analogy. Rather than piling complex words, you've used simple analogy to explain how voting works here. Now, as I can see st Steemd, I can still pull some punches before I call it a day :D

Resteeming it. Many thanks for writing this wonderful piece.

Thx buddy, appreciate it! Upvoted

Really nice analogy and good info... though sometimes I just can't help it, if I'm on here, I just keep voting! The only way for me to stop is to walk away from Steemit for a few days, usually the weekends (ahem, he says on a Saturday)

Cg

Exactly, maybe i should that do that as well. Every weekend = No upvoted :-)

This is an excellent post! I'll keep this in mind as a way to explain voting power to new members! Thanks for sharing. The boxing analogy is a fantastic illustration.

Thanks buddy!

Thanks for the info!

My pleasure!

Really Enlightening post. Thank you

Thank you very much!

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007

Keep it up!
All the best!

First Follow for 3 hours | Send a minimum transaction 0.100 steem/SBD with post URL in memo | Your post gets resteemed | A post can only be resteemed once!

@tradwonk I did not know about that, I am a new user. thanks a lot for for sharing

No problem!

THANK YOU FOR THE POST)))) will proceed checking my profile ___

My pleasure!

I need to recharge... Sometimes is difficult though, you want to upvote so many things haha

I also often need some charging time :-)

aha...so that's why my vote keeps making a difference when I've been inactive for a while. I need to find more useful stuff to upvote....will start with this :)

Good idea ;-)

Hi im new here. Great information. How does reputation come to this equation? Thanks in advance. Cheers.

Thank you for the info - I'm new to Steemit and some of the mechanics have been a little confusing to me :)

No problem

i like post you @tradewonk.
good imformation

Thank you! Been looking for this info for a while now ☺

My pleasure!

I do love the boxing analogy. If I give a 10% upvote, is that more like a poke than a punch? So little force...

I will say it's a jab :-)

Thanks, I will now vote more judiciously.

Good idea :-)

awesome tutorial and explanations to clarify this important topic. You want to conserve your power :)

Thanks buddy!

Thanks for the knowledge transfer in a creative way...👍

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste, you have my vote :D greetings

Thanks buddy! Sure i will, followed.

Appreciate the great summary ...

My pleasure!

love the boxer analogy. do you know if it is true that the more we vote, the more voting power we get? please verify and thank u

My voting power is at 40%. I guess I can't upvote until I recharge =(

Yes, but i goes fast if you don't upvote, it will take 2-3 days

My upvotes are only worth 1-2 cents and I upload 3-4 times a day!

what helps me from upvoting like crazy is this saying I try to keep in my head. " if it is worth a vote it is worth a comment" that way if I am to lazy to comment its probably not worth the vote. I dont always follow my own advice though

You can upvote 10 times every 24 hours, and it will always be at 100%

Thanks for your explaination bro
Voting you with whatever power i have haha....

Thank you very much buddy!

Great read, I am new to this and it sure helped clear up a few things

Steemnow.com is also a great tool where you can see the worth of your upvotes, check how much would be its value at a given voting power. The most important part is, we can check how long it will take to completely recharge(100%).

Thanks buddy!

I just checked, I am at %100 and my upvotes are worth 2 cents

Really helpful post @tradewonk! Thanks!