WHAT I THOUGHT ABOUT STEEMIT AND HOW I OVERCAME THE FEAR OF POSTING ON MY BLOG

in #steemit6 years ago

I joined steemit without having a single idea what it is about except that I could own my own blog and post my own stories. I love to write and write and write I practically write every single day. I live to write.

I was introduced to steemit by my Dear, who saw my passion for writing. He was like, "I could earn money from writing and also get people to read my work on steemit." Hearing this I was very excited.

I applied for the blog and it went through earlier than I thought it would and I was very happy. But then I realized that it wasn't just about owning a blog and posting stories and articles but that steemit was like wattpad, a community where you have to relate to others to get known.

So I gave up for two months cause I didn't really see myself getting any audience. I felt here was for professionals and pretty smart people. I wrote mostly love novels. I know little or nothing about technology and art. Little about culture.

I believe life is a journey of passion and love but didn't see most people here who shared my views. I became insecure because this is the only territory I was god, love. And writing on another niche would greatly limit me.

Yesterday out of pure instinct, I decided to try again this holiday and see if my style of writing would be accepted. I've been commenting on post I can relate to and I've seen it's not as hard as I made it up to be In my head. I still haven't learnt how to use this,. I still Dont know how to add pictures and videos but I know that I would learn if I stick long enough to.

INTRODUCING MYSELF

Having said this, my real name is actually Ugomma Uzowuru Gloria. I am a law student, a writer, a poet and would love to be a public speaker one day. I also love to sing, draw and act but I suck at dancing. I don't have a single dancing bone in my body.

WHEN I STARTED WRITING

I started writing when I was 9. Short stories. Stories about fairies, demons and dragons. I wrote drama's too. Ever since I started writing I've never looked back , it has been my driving force in life. Now, I write almost everyday.

ABOUT THE NAME MIRA

MiraHarlson is a stage name. I use it for all my social media accounts and for my wattpad account where I would like to think myself as one of the top Nigerian writers. I have over nine books on wattpad, short stories some completed some not.

WHAT MY AIM IS

I want to start writing articles and brilliant post. I want to share my views on lgbt, love, lust, religion and life with the whole world. They say I'm in a class of my own and I'm wired differently from everyone else. I want to show that it doesn't hurt to be unique, Sui Generis.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @uar!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Thanks so much.

Congratulations @uar! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

When I read the part where you said you didn't really see yourself getting audience, I was like.. Gosh this is so me, but I a lso decided to stick around. Welcome back @uar

Thanks so much. Hopefully we both get audience.

Hey uar! If you would like to see what the current trending content and topics on the internet are consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts to make your personal feed more fun and informative.

Will surely check it out. Thanks.

It is not because the way your write that you didn't get attention by others. Same happen to me back then. But from times to times I realize to have more attention is to comment others. A good comment will highlight you by the writer. So don't worry , keep posting and engage with other steemian by drop them a comment .. 🥂

P/S: There a write Selecting them , just press that and it will lead you to you pictures folders .. Don't forget to mention or provide link source if you use other picture.. 👍

Thanks so much for the tip. Will try it when i want to post next.

Sure, welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @uar! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post has been manually curated by the Many Voices Project. The MV Project exists to promote diversity and difference on the blockchain. If you would like to support our work and that of our Founder @sapphic Please consider voting for her witness via steemconnect

Welcome to Steem Community @uar! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks.