You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If Steemit Did Not Have Money Rewards

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit has it's faults. As a platform I'm hoping it will evolve and improve.
One good thing I've noticed from Steemit is that I've learned things that I wouldn't otherwise have learned by reading content I wouldn't usually read. Yes I was tempted by the small reward of a comment vote, but I usually read with the intention of leaving some constructive or interesting comment, especially if I've found the article interesting. In some ways I think that's more important for the author than the upvote, interacting with someone on an article that you've spent a couple of hours writing is worth more than a $0.01 upvote.
I remain open minded and relatively positive about Steemit for the time being anyway. It's a step in the right direction, and that direction is a move away from the corporate controlled alternative media channels. That can only be a good thing.

Sort:  

"One good thing I've noticed from Steemit is that I've learned things that I wouldn't otherwise have learned by reading content I wouldn't usually read."

Yeah that's right. It's just a small number of people with content that e.g. gives you new thoughts / ideas but there are certainly some.

yeah, but this is because of the money. you were chasing the money and along came the "content".

that is sad

Why sad? The money isn't the only motivation. I mean really, chasing a few cents isn't my priority in life. I've got bigger fish to fry (excuse the pun). It's partly about content creation and consumption and partly gamification (building steempower, reputation, followers etc.) In short I enjoy it.
I don't know, like I say I remain positive to the overall evolution of steemit, it's definitely a step in the right direction.

It's hilarious when people are passionate about something to the point where they almost have a stroke when they see someone trying to profit off of it "unjustly".. It's like they are selective capitalists. You should see the retro game and vhs tape collecting communities lol.. If you ever try to sell a game at a price someone thinks is too high you will be railed by some lunatic. There's NOTHING wrong with wanting to make money, if there was would we spend most of our lives at school and work?

Yes the most for sure.

There are a couple people where I believe that they do it for the content... maybe.