Steemit, Inc. & Steemit Whales I need your help! Please Read!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Some of you may already know this, but for those that don't here goes.

I have been a member of Steemit for the last 13+ months. Early on in my time at Steemit I had some issues, largely because I joined Steemit right as my mother passed away (July 4th, 2016) and needless to say my head was in a bad place. I took a little time away from posting/commenting/chatting (just lurked) and got my head straight and came back to Steemit. Easing in with an occasional post then 3 weeks ago I quit driving a tractor trailer (mainly for health reasons) and moved into my departed mother's 1996 Ford Van. Making my way to Colorado (where I can get herbal medicine to help with my health issues). However, since I started to Colorado one thing after another has gone wrong. My van is beyond my ability (financially or physically) to continue to keep running for much longer. In fact today is the first day in a week it has been running and I am still scared to drive it.

For the past week I have been staying in a motel, which is taking every penny I can get to keep the motel and eat. There is nothing left over from my income (all of it from Steemit right now) to be able to fix my van or get another vehicle. I have been approved to drive for/with Uber but I lack the ability or funds to acquire a vehicle to do so. I have been trying to find work, but being that I am partaking of herbal remedies it is proving difficult since I can not work anywhere that requires Drug Tests. All I have done for the last 14 years is drive so I have no experience to do anything else. Add to this the serious Bigotry I have encountered the last few weeks. Everywhere I go that is hiring instantly changes their story when they find out: a.) I am new in town, b.) I live in my van or motel, c.) I am about to be homeless (living in a gutter) if I don't find a job.

I have tried, desperately, to find work; hitting most places in Idaho Springs, CO multiple times.....begging for anything, any hours with no mention of desired pay. I have tried to earn enough to get out of this mess via Steemit by Chronicling my Homelessness in Daily Posts, doing Facebook Gems daily posts, doing Photography posts when possible, and writing stories and poetry and posting it. But I am still barely scraping by with the Post Payouts income and a Power Down I have been forced to do to survive.

Even as bad as things are for me right now, I am still trying to help others. In Steemit.Chat and in Discord Chats (when my internet is descent enough I can get into the chat rooms) and trying to help Homeless Steemians (including myself) with the "Steemit Ambassadar RV" Campaign I am running here on Steemit and over at GoFundMe.

Nothing I do is helping my situation in the least. I have even taken to posting on Craigslist trying to get help getting a vehicle so I can work (Uber). Today I did something I "hated to do" and started begging....first by going around town begging for work. Then when that failed did a post here on Steemit ([Homeless] Daily Update #32 - (Day 21 - Three Weeks Homeless/UnEmployed - I need help!)) and now I am doing this post asking for help from Steemit, Inc. (@steemit) and the Steemit Whales.

If you read the last few posts of mine (linked above) you will have noticed that even in the dire situation I currently find myself I am still trying to help others (including Steemit) and have even offered (once I get to work) to donate any money I earn over what I need to survive to the "Steemit Ambassador RV" Campaign.

Truth be told, my goal (dream) is to get a descent car I can drive for Uber/Lyft in, make enough money (personally and through donations to the campaign) to get the "Steemit Ambassador RV" up and running, then travel around the America's meeting other Steemians, Promoting Steemit and helping Homeless Steemians by giving them a place to live and letting them earn money (to get back on their feet) blogging (on Steemit of course) about their travels and Steemians they meet. Even though I am not sure how, at the present time, I am going to make the "Steemit Ambassador RV" happen.....even if I have to pay for all of it (well almost all of it) myself.

But I need help to make that dream a reality and not wind up loosing what little I have left in this world and winding up sleeping in the woods or worse a gutter somewhere.

I am not even asking for donations (in this post) but if anyone who reads this wants to donate to "Steemit Ambassador RV" or my "Car Fund" please find the posts linked above for more information.

All I am asking for in this post, is for the Whales to toss some 100% upvotes my way. The possibilities of getting a Post Payout (with Whales help) that is enough to get me a descent car I can Uber with are very real. It won't cost any of the Whales who upvote this post anything but a vote, but it could very well save me and put me on the path to earning enough funds to be able to complete the "Steemit Ambassador RV" campaign and being helping other Homeless Steemians and helping to promote Steemit, Inc.

So please, all whales that see this post, please upvote it and share it with your whale friends. Get this post up to a $5,000 Post Payout and I will buy a car, start Uber-ing and start donating all extra funds I earn to the "Steemit Ambassador RV" campaign.


Source

Update #1

Thanks to some very generous people here on Steemit I have raised $550 towards a vehicle so far. That doesn't count the Pending Post Payout on this post or the Charity Photography Volume #1 [Car Fund] & Charity Photography Volume #2 - Pretty Flowers [Car Fund] posts I also have running. You people are amazing and I am sure in no time I will have a vehicle and be Uber'ing like my life depended on it.

There will be more Charity Photography posts coming over the next few days so please check back for them. Thanks to all of you!

Sort:  
Loading...

@venuspcs I just upvoted st 100%, resteemed and will be sending you some steem dollars all from Baja Mex.
It isnt much but hopefully it will at least get you a little food.

Totally off topic but have you been to La Ventana? Never been to Baja area but my cousins husbands family just opened up a little camp and wind surfing school was thinking about heading down and checking it out.

@rulesforrebels If you can go you should, especially since you have family there. I have never been down that far into baja but would like to someday.

I may try to go this fall. I guess they have a resort that does like "glaming" or luxury camping, they do a kiteboarding schoo and also have mountain bikes and stuff available if you want to go mountainbiking through the desert. Looks like a good time. I'll do a post about it when I make it down there.

Yes, please do and be sure to let me know when you do @rulesforrebels That would be awesome.

Yo! buddy I'm working on solution to solve these kind of causes on SteemIt. I'll keep you posted!

Yeppers

Thirders.

Oo I'm curious...

100% voted. Hoping for the best!!
Sent a little contribution to the new car fund.

Hi @venuspcs, I'm a crowdfunding marketer and I know how difficult it is to raise funds for a situation that you're in. I read all your article. Keep posting here on daily basis and you will keep earning some good money soon. I'm upvoting and resteeming your blog post so that more and more people see your post and ultimately, it reaches where you want it to be. Happy steeming. Followed you!

hey dude, I feel your pain.

Too intimately to do more than cast you a minnow vote and wish you luck. But I am keen to help more as things look up here.

But reading through the comments I see that you are taking actions and I just want to encourage you.

Actions, (like this too) are your hope and your guiding light. I met you the first day on Discord, but I was overwhelmed there and didn't latch on like I thought I had. Now following and will check your stories.

Keep writing dude.

Have you heard of Lee Stringer?

He was living literally in a tunnel when he started to write (with a pencil on a scrap of paper) and he was recognised to be a great, by no less than Kurt Vonnegut Jr. RIP
Even published an interview between the two called "Like Shaking Hands with God" which I have. Subtitle is "a conversation about writing"

Anyways, keep up the good fight. You will make it dude.

and I resteemed, not that makes any difference yet

Dude, resteems always make a difference. You never know who is following your blog.

thanks @cosmo.crator.

That's a really profound comment.

I have been freaking out a little about resteeming too much, but definitely not in this particular case.

big hugs dude

Mate one of my friends had your same problem he started with a rental car that you can pay with one post voted from whales for a week!
Then my advice is to raise a smaller ammount like 500$ to rent the car and all the expenses of the first week! This is much realizable and short term project that suites you better than the long time project of raising 5k $!
You can do it my friend! Consider my words!
Ps: my friend that HAD your same problem is now (2yrs later) driving around uber customers with his own BMW!

Problem is that all the rental car companies here in Denver are either out of cars (the ones who partner with Uber) or way way way to expensive.....otherwise I would already be working!

Shit! Then while raising the money I'd keep an eye out on those companies and ask them to call you when a car is available or whenever they get a new one.
An eco car with the rent won't cost you more than 400 per week.
You'll get it!

I am already "on the list" with Enterprise and Hertz.....the only ones who do the "Uber Driver Discount" programs in Denver.

Oh great than you moving right!

I'm not a whale but I am a human being and I feel your pain. My 100% only nets about 1 dollar. Hope it helps.

I have never been truly homeless, but my wife and I have lived in our car for a number of weeks as there was "no room at the inn" so to speak while friends of the family took our sleeping place. I understand.

lol, what the hell was that?
I have never seen anything from that movie before.

looks like load of silly fun. Brilliant Mel Brooks.

How come I wasn't already following you dude?

I recognise you from Discord. I am doing it now anyway.

thanks for your comment and big hugs

I'm in the waters as a minnow, but you have my 100%

Good luck. You have a noble cause.

You always have my vote and support Venus I hope those Whales spray some votes your way soon.

It's a lil drained right now, but my vote is yours

I well. I am new here but i think this community does help out a follow steemian. Good to have you back. Is been quite long i saw your post

Oh my goodness! I break from Steemit for a few weeks (will post on that soon), and find that one of my Steemit pals went down on his luck! I'm so sorry, Venus! I'm no whale, but you can always have my vote. Hugs.

I missed your beautiful smile, I am glad you are back....oh and thanks for the vote darling!

Hey Venus, Life can be really tough, and I'm sorry you're dealing with a shitty hand. I'm in a similar situation and I'm embracing it the best I can. Even though it might not feel like it all the time, I think you're embracing freedom as well.

Wishing you easy travels and all the best.

It's good to see that people are helping you out. Does Uber have requirements as far as what type of vehicle you "must" drive to work for them? The solution to your problem is to buy a used vehicle at a very low price. So what are the minimum requirements for vehicles used as Uber rides? Sedan? Can't be older than 5 years old?

2009 or newer in Good to Excellent condition with full coverage insurance!

OK, 2009 cutoff so how much do you figger full coverage on your insurance is going to be in Co? Something stupid like $250/mo?...with a $500 down stroke up front? Or does your current coverage carry over to another vehicle if you were to find it?

No coverage currently, so I am expecting about $750 down and about $300 a month for full coverage.....but it might be cheaper if I use an Idaho Springs address instead of a Denver one.

OMG! You sure there's enuff Uber "potential" customers where you are to even cover those costs? :-)

Pretty sure, Denver is begging for Uber drives like crazy. They are trying to expand out into the Western Slopes (resort area) which is where I live......plus soon as I get a good vehicle on the road with Uber I am gonna apply with Lyft as well.

Here's what I'm thinking. If the cutoff date for cars Uber allows you to drive is 2009 then you can get a 2010 just to give yourself at least 1 full year of use. Then buy as cheaply as possible. Here's a higher miles car for only $6500 for instance. Wouldn't it make more sense to just lower the bar just a bit? :-) I'll help you negotiate price with the buyer or do more research for you if you decide this is a better way to go. Seems like it would be much easier to raise $5000 to $8000...no?

https://denver.craigslist.org/cto/d/subaru-outback/6238458406.html

Actually, miles on that one aren't too bad so you can shoot for a high mileage car and pay even less I am sure. Or does Uber have restrictions on that too?

So how far are you from Denver then?

You have my 100% support... Donation is coming later in the day...

@good-karma is coming;)

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 3.63 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @lifewithcrypto.

Been where you are I lost my father, in time things do get better and in time you learn to smile again, cheers mike

Hey Dude, I just upvoted and resteemed. I'm not a whale, but it's the help I can give. I've been homeless, hungry, and unemployed before. I know the feelings well.

I'm running a weekly meme contest (we're in the 3rd week). As of right now no one has submitted. If you submit and no one else does, then you'd be in 1st place which has a prize of 1SBD + 50% of the SBD for the announcement post (currently $3.77 SBD).

https://steemit.com/contest/@cosmo.crator/ann-meme-contest-3-screw-the-moon-let-s-steem-mars

I visited your page, and found this post amazing! interesting ?,@ronaldmcatee

My friend, I wish I had more to give, but I'm cash poor. I gave you a 100% and a resteem. @venuspcs, I wish you the best.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by VenusPCS (The Colbert Report) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @venuspcs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!