Is Steemit going through a mid-life crisis? Traffic way down is the last couple of months.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I've been noticing lately that comments, votes and followers have been way down on my account over the last few weeks. I've been noticing this seems to be the case for a lot of the other people I follow too. So decided to search the internet for some stats to back up my theory and found these charts. Apparently there's not a lot of new charts out their because the chart area of Steemd.com has been down for months.

As you can see from the charts new traffic is way down since the summer. I assume this is the case for overall traffic, posts, votes, etc too.

So why is traffic down at Steemit?

I think the disappointing price of Steem might be the main cause of this because people would rather invest their time elsewhere than a cypto that has flat lined.

There's also a few things I've noticed lately that are discouraging as well like the stability of the network. Just this morning I was unable to get on Steemit because it was down. This seems to have become a weekly problem and vote response times are horrible now. You click on the vote button and it spins for what seems like a minute or two and about half the time that happens you need to re-click the vote button because it was unsuccessful. The shitty performance/experience is the type of thing that kills new users being excited about a platform and doesn't make you want to spend more time on the platform.

I hope this is just growing pains and the guys and Steemit are working on a solution because the overall ranking on Alexa for Steemit look pretty damn good. I think we around the top 2000 websites which is awesome but performance is a big issue right now.

Image Source: @me-tarzan

Sort:  

man where are you getting these stats from? Traffic is actually way, way up, just look at the charts here: https://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/steemit.com Until september, the traffic was increasing. True, it's stable for the past weeks, but it will go up again, don't worry!

The problems you describe are definitely true, hopefully they will be fixed in the coming days. As for the steem price don't worry, all altcoins are going way way down. Steem has actually managed to hold its' place somehow!Once the btc forks are over and the btc price stabilizes they will start going up again :)

tip!

These are from @me-tarzan.

As you can see they only represent new traffic. I'm sure regular traffic isn't as bad but I just have a feeling everything overall has started to decline lately. I hope it starts to go back up again.

Thanks for the comment.

Hi. I actually tried to respond to a different post but it just circled around into infinity so I eventually had to close it out. I am new here so for me trying to look at the different content and see what I like and not being able to vote or comment is frustrating and it has only been a few days. I am not sure how friendly it is to new users. Especially when it took 2 weeks to get my account approved.

Steem is still very small. It's being ironed out. It needs more work.

As for the price, any currency people are getting paid with fluctuate in value.

People invest so much time on Facebook, and elsewhere not making any money. It's true that the activity on Steem has a bit slowed down, but I think the primary issues aren't monetary, simply because most website don't pay their users yet some have many times more visitors than Steem.

It's a question of time and some needed work on the UI and official mobile app and a couple of other stuff that are being worked on in my opinion.

The UI is in definite need of some user preferences. One of them being a language preference so you only see posts matching the same language. I think that would help clear up some of the clutter in the topics. That type of stuff wouldn't need to be on the block chain either.

I was feeling like Steem was encountering some big issues. They have a long way to go if they want to be one of the top social media platforms, however, DTube is a huge step towards that. But the basic Steem layout is quite simplistic and needs more interaction.

I agree the UI is in need of some attention from the developers.

As someone who's pretty new to the game, I was disappointed due to the fact that I couldn't do anything today as the site was down. Posts like yours are quite enlightening for newbies and I'll keep on following to learn a bit more. Things are still pretty abstract for me but I hope to get the hang of it soon!

The performance of this site has been excellent except for the last month or so. Votes and posts are timing out and I even lost a post while I waited and waited for it to submit. That can be very frustrating if you spend 20 mins or more typing out a post only for it to disappear and you have to redo everything. I'm sure it's effecting new users like yourself that don't have a whole lot of history with good performance on this site.

Thanks for comment.

Sure the amount of people who entered steemit is near 500k though ive noticed less interaction recently and not sure if its a lot of newer people not sure how this platform works or are discouraged to find it takes work to get more than 3 cents.

@wakeupnd Your post is very interesting for many people, just wait, they will show attention to your post, you have made many people jealous.

Good post. I loved it!

Please don't spam the comments.

I just liked your post and all.