5 Wise Things Grandparents Say That Can Define Success On Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Grandparents say the wisest things sometimes, and some of those pearls of wisdom apply directly to Steemit. Here are five things that grandparents say that can define success on Steemit.


Grandma said, "The grass is always greener over the sceptic tank."

Sometimes it is tempting to do what other people are doing if you see the grass is greener somewhere else, but that is crap. If you are not being honest and putting out the content that you enjoy, you won't be happy and just doing it for the money. That is not a winning Steemit mentality. Don't be fake... grow your own green grass.


Grandpa said, "You'll never leave where you are unless you decide where you'll rather be."

One of my favorite sayings. To me, it means you will be stuck in life until you decide you want something better. On Steemit, I see it slightly different. I love Steemit and I plan on staying for the long-run, but why would I decide to leave? If the rewards stopped or were minimal? If I plan on leaving if the rewards stop, then staying for the rewards was a poor decision. Stay for the reward of the community, you will find more value.


Grandma said, "You can tell a lot about a person's character by how they treat the waitress."

Switch "waitress" with "commenter". On Steemit, you can tell a lot about a person by the way they treat the people that respond to their posts. If they take the time to reply and engage, it means a lot. It means they value the interaction.  Remember, people are not just following you and voting for you because you write good stuff, they support you because you appreciate them. Respect each follower, voter and commenter and you will succeed.


Grandpa said, "Don't be a jerk and you'll be fine."

I loved when he used to say this. It is so simple and so true. On Stteemit, if you are just nice to people then you will see that go a long way.


Grandma said, "You don't have anything nice to say, then don't say anything."

On Steemit this is very true. I've read posts that I totally disagree with, 100%. Instead, I just closed and moved on. I didn't up-vote, down-vote or reply about how that person is an idiot. I just moved on to something else. If you don't have something nice to say, just move on. Ignore the temptation.

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)


Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it and can take something valuable to apply to your Steemit experience. 


Let me know what cool things your grandparents said that would apply to Steemit in the comments below.  


Thank you to all my followers, you mean the world to me. I appreciate each one of you.


Sort:  

We really ought to pay attention to our grandparents' wisdom. A little niceness can go a long way toward making Steemit a great place. So far I think we do pretty well. Really hope it stays that way as we grow.

Yes! You are right 100%. Thank you so much for taking the time to reply. I really think if we just don't support jerks and find ways to support the nice ones, we'll be fine. I hope it stays this way as we grow too. Thanks again.

My Grandma Said: It's a big difference between a Open Mind and a Hole in the Head!!

Blessings to you!!


hahaha that made me laugh out loud. great one! Thanks for reading.

yours are the only posts I always read every word on... afraid I might miss something. true and sad all at the same time .. well sort of .. my doing that not your posts. @walkingkeys Hope you don't mind me commenting on another one of your posts. I went to one guys blog and commented on several .. I mean I am there anyway..he questioned my motives...wish I had his reply on the second one I commented on.. weird.. I don't use drugs or I would have then. :)

I love when you reply, thank you so much. I appreciate you reading because I write every word lol. You rock. People like you are the reason that I get up early and stay up late posting and replying. I don't question your motives and I appreciate you coming back. It means a lot.

same here my friend .. a smile, a laugh, a tag @walkingkeys all worth well not sure, worth a lot .. :) looking forward to the day I can tip (some call it upvoting) people like you more than 1-2 cents ..
money-pile-smiley-emoticon.gif

I really enjoyed your post, I agree with you you 100% that originality is very important. Do your own thing!

Thank you very much. I appreciate it. You got a new follower! Thank you again.

My Grandfather once said with the wisdom of an expert auto mechanic / business owner / small aircraft pilot, "If you want to make a lot of money, learn more about computers because they will be connected to everything" -1990

SMART SMART MAN!
Did you ask him for the lottery numbers? lol We can learn so much from grandparents if we take the time to listen. Thanks for telling me about your grandfather. Sounds like an impressive man. Thanks for sharing.

This post received a 2.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @walkingkeys! For more information, click here!

Another good post, grandparent wisom FTW!