A surprising benefit: The positive effects of Steemit on the relationships of blockchain enthusiasts.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

 

Hi, I am Will.

I'm by all accounts a true cryptonerd. I live and breathe blockchain technology and digital currencies, since I discovered Bitcoin in 2012. Certainly many of you here are in a similar position. Once you understand this technology and it’s implications and possibilities you just can’t help but be fascinated and I certainly did get hooked! Pretty much every day for the last few years I have spent at least a couple hours learning more and more and writing little apps and also smart contracts (and now blog posts! :-)).

Now for us, this is fantastic and exciting, but unfortunately sometimes that is not the case for everyone in our lives. Those of you who are in a relationship and who are not blessed with a similarly technology-minded partner, will know that the hours spent around this technology and even generally on the computer, often provoke unhappy glances or even serious discussions. It is understandable of course, your partner just wants to spend time with you! And if one is not ‘into’ blockchain it seems like a complicated and dry subject that just is not attractive to many people.

 

But ... WOW ... how this has changed with the creation of Steemit!

 

 

I never would have thought this was possible. Suddenly my girlfriend is actively asking me about this technology, how she can participate and how it is possible that this works. She is even discussing it with one of her sisters, who is a regular blogger. This has never, and I mean never, happened before during the last few years. Neither Bitcoin, nor Bitshares, nor Ethereum, nor the DAO made her curious in any way, but Steemit has finally achieved this. I am sure many of you, who are in a similar position, have experienced the same. This really is the first blockchain-based technology that is managing to truly bridge the gap to the mainstream and this is simply great. I am looking forward to all the exciting developments Steemit will bring to us and the possibilities that will enrich our lives in the future!

It is wonderful to experience this in your own life. This is the first time I have experienced someone in the close circle of people in my life to show true, honest and continuous interest in a blockchain-based project. Steemit has shown that it can extend it's reach far outside the crypto/finance realm where blockchain projects usually remain stuck. This is not only an impressive feat, it reveals just how fruitful the future of this venture will be. We have all seen the fantastic travel blogs, the recipes, the honest personal introductions. Steemit offers a long-needed fresh breath by introducing diverse people of many different areas of interests and expertise to come and build a community together.

I cannot tell you how awesome it is for me, to finally have compelling discussions about a blockchain project with my girlfriend!

 

Who here has experienced something similar?

 

#steemit #introduceyourself #relationship #love #life

Sort:  

I guess I want to say thanks to the creators @ned and @dantheman for managing to finally include more diverse people into this space! And thanks for helping relationships to grow in areas that were not possible before :)

Good article