Local tournament against Judo blackbelt.

in #steemitbjj6 years ago (edited)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This is a match I had at a local tournament. The tournament was preparation for Greek no gi nationals.

Even though my opponent looks much smaller that me we are same weight category . He was pretty lean muscle from judo and I was still a little bit thin-fat.

My Judo and wrestling are not that good so against such players I get taken down easily. luckily for me werstlers and judokas are not really concerned about getting submitted while taking somebody down so I try to make up for my low skill.

My mentality has always been to be dangerous even from the worst position, if someone is mounting you or on your back and he is already afraid of being submitted and defending the whole situation changes.

Sort:  

Now that is a nice transition from getting taken down to maintaining back control. Those Judokas are dangerous and it seems your knowledge of your limitations on the feet vs them really played well into your game plan.

Well played and a nice victory!

That was very nice and smooth! Right into the body triangle!

Beautiful back take. You're right that most people don't expect to get submitted during a take down/throw. I like how you left the guard wide when you land and let him fall right in to it. Great job!

Oh man why why did he do that ? I mean in hi yes I can understand but NoGi to give your back like that. Good for you in defending bjj like that...

When you have trained something for 15 years its really hard to take it out of your system in stress situation, it just comes natural.