SteemitBJJ | Tee-pee Triangle Choke from the Guard

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

@bjjworldtraveler and I have began our BJJ video series with this variation of a triangle choke. I lost a tournament match once to this very choke. It feels different than a normal trianlge, and in a gi you can also threaten the cross choke with this setup.

Sort:  

Excellent! Thank you guys for this video, the instruction is very clear and the details of the technique were very well explained by @bjjworldtraveler. Also, kudos to both for starting the first Steemit BJJ technique videos, nice!

I am currently working on improving my triangle offensive so this video comes with perfect timing... Going to try this one this evening! (Evil laughter)

Cheers!

Then you'll love @bjjworldtraveler's vids... he's a triangle wizard and actually travels to give seminar's on mastering triangles :) Yeah this one is perfect for when you can get the legs up to the shoulders but they clamp down to protect the arm passing, or in general when you cannot risk putting your foot into the hip to turn the angle without losing what you worked for. Put it to use and let us know what you think!

Also, let us know if there are specific topics you'd like to see vids on! We love to hear new ideas.

Glad you enjoyed it @irime! You'll see more from us soon :)

So I did try it after all! It came to my mind when I had a guy on a triangle and he hid his arm like you guys showed in the video. I did the "hugging" the back of my legs (didn't get the thumbless grip, though) and straightened them and I certainly felt it tightening a lot, but didn't get the tap. Maybe I missed a detail, didn't hold it long enough/hard enough or the guy was just too tough, haha... but I liked it, definitely will keep it in my arsenal.

You'll see more from us soon :)

I really look forward to it!

Yeah if you can't get the thumbless gable grip, you can S grip.... it's a tricky kind of motion. Extend the legs straight and away from your hips, and with the gripped hands, cutt he elbows in to winch down on the outside of the legs...

Keep trying it, you'll get it! :)

You may want to drill it first before trying in a roll.... you'll probably work out the details there easier than live.

Really impresive technique !!

Thanks! @bjjworldtraveler is a beast and a great instructor!

Congratulations @jiujitsu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Totally cool!! Upped and followed!

followed back sir!

Hey friend I posted a good Reverse De La Riva pass yesterday, if you haven't seen it you might like it.