You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Few Comical Stories About My Military Experience From Iraq(video)

in #steemitcampfire7 years ago

Hi. I have followed. I am married to one of the abandoned Afghan interpreters from Afghanistan. He worked with SF. So I hear a lot about hi-jinx in the base.
I won't go into right and wrong of war, I will say I am aware of what you guys go through and I admire the way you seem to be dealing with it with humour. It's a very healing thing, humour.
The complexities of the reason for the invasion of Afghanistan are different to the reasons for the invasion of Iraq, but it doesn't matter when it comes to the troops. Their experiences are very similar.
I am looking forward to hearing your insights and funny stories. As you can imagine, life can be unbearably hard for us because, well he's been abandoned by NATO countries, even though he has excellent references and no problems regarding his loyalty and security. It's just BS politics and Oil company BS. Finding a safe country that will accept us both, long term, is a full time job, an Afghan Muslim and a white Australian Buddhist marriage is unconventional and downright dangerous in some uneducated places. But, even though it's been a year now of constant stress and worry, without seeing him, we keep trying to make a future for us.
He has trauma, hell, anyone around him has trauma. And war, politics corporate and political corruption, threat of terrorism are a part of my daily issues. You know all the fun stuff haha. So for me, hearing some of the lighter side of these situations, takes me out of that headspace, as these videos just did for me. A reminder to not get bogged down in ugly. In this way you are an inspiration.
Thank you.

Sort:  

I had to recompose myself to reply to this. How the United States has repaid the loyalty of these brave men is unconscionable. They become brothers in arms with our brave American fighting men and deserve a home in the Land of the Free. It's examples like this that show politics in our country have become about power, money, and greed rather than taking in the poor and tired who yearn to experience the principles our Consitution stands for. I understand we must take measures to protect the homeland, but your husband has more than earned his right to be here.

Your unconventional marriage is a perfect display of the religious freedom this country stands for. His bravery to serve next to an American soldier is a raw display of service that some of my own countrymen would do everything in their power to turn their backs too. I pray for your safety. I pray for your peace. And I am truly honored to have been able to give you a brief moment of lightheartedness.

amenbro

Now I'm crying. I'm so touched and relieved to hear from someone who understands. Thank you.

Don't cry. I'm supposed to be a tough Army Vet and you may make me cry now.