A Few Comical Stories About My Military Experience From Iraq(video)

in #steemitcampfire7 years ago (edited)

I've intended to contribute to the #steemitcampfire for a few weeks now. Life happens.

But @barrydutton doesn't forget to remind me! He is ruthless, lol. Actually, he's a really good person in my book. Life had caught up with me Steeming story posts, taking care of the children, and housework. I had not commented on his channel for a while and he took the time to come over to my channel to make sure I was doing ok. That was truly kind of him.

For the #steemitcampfire I wanted to tell a few comical stories from my pre-deployment and actual deployment to Iraq. I hope you enjoy.


FYI: The second video is a video I said I would try to find and I was able to find it(I can't believe it!). It does relate to one of the stories in the first video. It does contain a butt. Be forewarned.



Leave Questions for WolfDawg To Answer Every Saturday


OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and follow if you desire! I mostly story post about my sobriety, family, effects of war, and the crazier parts of my life. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians!





Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Great post! :)

Who has never heard of the impossible sit-up before?!?! You guys didn't prank the brightest soldier in the barracks I guess lol.
I really enjoyed the video...very nice @lexikon082 and shout out to @barrybutton for putting on the #steemitcampire.

^^NEW FOLLOWER^^

Gosh, this was back in 2003. I honestly had never heard of it before. The young whipper snapper in the video was interesting. One time he asked me...'Hey do you want to see me do this backflip (Off a stack of plywood)? It was just me and him. Ok...lol...so...lol...

Ok I had to recompose myself.

So he gets on this stack of plywood that is about five feet high. He jumps off to do a backflip and in mid air (with his belly towards the ground) He just freezes. I mean stops moving. Looks like superman froze in mid air...Lands face and belly first right in the desert sand from 6 or 7 feet in the air. To this day it is one of the most hilarious things I have ever witnessed.

So, yeah. He was interesting. But he was young too. Probably one of the youngest in our platoon. He's still in the Army. The last I read he was an E-6(Staff Sergeant) and really squared away. For all I know he could be an E-7 by now.

I am glad you enjoyed the video and thanks for the follow.

Wow, that sand must have killed his face lol...Im sure the army was one of the best things for him especially since he is still in now almost 15 years later. I bet he matured a lot and is not doing back flips off plywood.

Hi. I have followed. I am married to one of the abandoned Afghan interpreters from Afghanistan. He worked with SF. So I hear a lot about hi-jinx in the base.
I won't go into right and wrong of war, I will say I am aware of what you guys go through and I admire the way you seem to be dealing with it with humour. It's a very healing thing, humour.
The complexities of the reason for the invasion of Afghanistan are different to the reasons for the invasion of Iraq, but it doesn't matter when it comes to the troops. Their experiences are very similar.
I am looking forward to hearing your insights and funny stories. As you can imagine, life can be unbearably hard for us because, well he's been abandoned by NATO countries, even though he has excellent references and no problems regarding his loyalty and security. It's just BS politics and Oil company BS. Finding a safe country that will accept us both, long term, is a full time job, an Afghan Muslim and a white Australian Buddhist marriage is unconventional and downright dangerous in some uneducated places. But, even though it's been a year now of constant stress and worry, without seeing him, we keep trying to make a future for us.
He has trauma, hell, anyone around him has trauma. And war, politics corporate and political corruption, threat of terrorism are a part of my daily issues. You know all the fun stuff haha. So for me, hearing some of the lighter side of these situations, takes me out of that headspace, as these videos just did for me. A reminder to not get bogged down in ugly. In this way you are an inspiration.
Thank you.

I had to recompose myself to reply to this. How the United States has repaid the loyalty of these brave men is unconscionable. They become brothers in arms with our brave American fighting men and deserve a home in the Land of the Free. It's examples like this that show politics in our country have become about power, money, and greed rather than taking in the poor and tired who yearn to experience the principles our Consitution stands for. I understand we must take measures to protect the homeland, but your husband has more than earned his right to be here.

Your unconventional marriage is a perfect display of the religious freedom this country stands for. His bravery to serve next to an American soldier is a raw display of service that some of my own countrymen would do everything in their power to turn their backs too. I pray for your safety. I pray for your peace. And I am truly honored to have been able to give you a brief moment of lightheartedness.

amenbro

Now I'm crying. I'm so touched and relieved to hear from someone who understands. Thank you.

Don't cry. I'm supposed to be a tough Army Vet and you may make me cry now.

gosh hahaha. It's only now that I've seen your post. You unload my burden : ) Thanks for sharing this to us.

You unload my burden

I am honored to be able to do that. It's not many times in life one hears that. You are very welcome for the share and thanks for your wonderful reply.

@lexikon082 and I also ask my wife to watch it and she laugh out loud and quickly told me "now you are laughing loud too, keep calm okay" Sometimes you never know how God will use to be a blessing to others. Keep it up and Thanks again.

Wow, you are very welcome.

your post is very interest oh, the video make sense. people like you keep us entertained in this community, keep it coming, upvoted and following.

oh, the video make sense

I laughed really hard because I can only imagine the look on your face seeing that. Thanks for making me laugh because I was able to help you laugh. I appreciate the upvote and follow.

Your welcome

In this world war will never end . Americans want always to eat 7 feet hamburger and drive a limousine car .... and how she will get money ? u know the answer ;)

Lol. You know I can't answer that. But I am laughing right now. I have not thought of that in a long time. Gosh...people will think I am laughing about war. Thanks for that laugh.

U're welcome ;)

You did what many people want to do, but they dare not.

I appreciate that. I am currently writing a young recruit in Marine BootCamp and I just recently wrote him a letter in which I thanked him for being so brave to join and serve our nation at this juncture in time. It's amazing how many young, brave people we have in this country willing to serve our nation.

Thanks for sharing great stories

You are very welcome.The fact you enjoy them makes me very happy.

Cool Story!

I am glad you found it worth your time to reply. Thanks for liking it.

// People who protect our nation.//

They are some of the most down to earth people on the planet:-) Thanks for your comment.

Good little stories for any campfire.

Maybe next week I'll actually sit by the campfire.

what............ :o nice to know this.

Congratulations @lexikon082!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 8 with $ 1207,38

Wow, thanks @arcange. I will check out your posts.

Excellent post! Thank you @lexikon082

Thanks for the compliment. I am thrilled you enjoyed it.

nice post !!!!

Thank you very much.

Those videos must be much of an emotion than a simple vid.

Yes, there is a lot of emotion. Don't talk about my service much, but I'm willing to share a few good stories with the community. Thanks for your reply.

Irak wow you have some big balls man

I write this with a smile (context can be hard to convey sometimes): We were young and serving our country. I would say more dumb than brave:-) Thanks so much for stopping in and giving me a really awesome compliment.

Thanks for take time to answer me and others

You are very welcome. Your replies matter to me and I hope I am always able to keep up with them. I know there may come a day I may struggle to keep up, but I will still continue to try.

I must admit the video is priceless my friend. Keep on steemin on and watch out for the brown eye... wink wink! All right I just couldn't help myself. Truly hilarious and I love to laugh!

Peace,
The Last Sage

After all, laughter prolongs life haha ;)

I am glad you enjoyed it and it had a laugh out of it. I do believe that is @barrydutton's goal with this series...is for Steemians to be able to relax and have fun. This is one of the more memorable moments we had. The person who's youtube channel that video is on was soldier of the year once. He's one of the truest leaders I have ever met in my life. Thanks for stopping by to check out the story post.

I really love ur post :0) priceless. Great video. U have been through some things. Followed upvoted and resteemed. Thx for sharing

You are very welcome! It's a heartwarming experience when someone says they love your post. It lets me know I am contributing something valuable to the community and I hope I am always able to do that. Thanks for the Triple 3!

Ur welcome :0) U really do contribuing something to community. And I cant wait to see whats next :0) wish u a great journey and good luck

I don't know how to respond to this, lol. But, Yes I do support the 2nd Amendment.

My oh my! Lol!

Lol, I gave a warning! It's a great feeling to help make others smile. Have a wonderful rest of the day.

Yes, you certainly did warn us! That is something I hope to NEVER experience! Haha!

Awesome post

I appreciate the compliment. Thank you for replying.

Great story Sir.

I am glad you thought so. I lost some of my sense of humor over the years, but am slowly gaining it back through Steemit. It truly makes you reflect on your inner self and what you can bring to the community. Thanks for the compliment and your reply.

thank you for sharing

You are very welcome. Thank you for posting a reply.

Hello, I loved your video, very funny and funny, I am a girl who is new to steemit and I want to succeed I want to be successful like you and many more, I admire congratulations ... I would like you to follow me on steemit and you des Like to my videos, would help me a lot. Here I leave you my username: @johannstacey

Thank you for the compliments. In regard to being successful. I'm a minnow trying to find its way like you. I can give you tips on how I am trying to be a valuable member to the community.Here is the first and only post I ever wrote about things I try to do to improve upon. I would also recommend to get involved with the community. Leave thoughtful comments, get to know others in https://steemit.chat/. Most importantly I am always reflecting on my inner self and what I can do to be a better community member to the community who has given me so much. I look forward to seeing your contributions to the community and I will look at your channel.

nice to have stumbled across your post. It always makes me happy to realize that our servicemen are able to find humor amongst the carnage that is conflict. I would also like to think that our current president is doing enough to provide our servicemen with adequate post service care they may need. thank you for your service, and keep the stories coming, i very much enjoyed hearing it.

I am glad you enjoyed hearing them. I face demons every day of my service, but it's becoming easier through my blogging. Sobriety has made it tougher in some ways, but I am taking proactive steps to conquer. In regard to the VA. I can't attest to its level of care right now because I turned my back on that fiasco a little over a year ago. I have slowly been taking charge of my wellness and I am making strides without being pumped of pharmaceuticals or self-medicating myself with alcohol. It's an adventure, but I have finally claimed it as mine:-)

Nice man!

Glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for your service! Wish I would have been able to serve my country. I got a felony in the middle of joining the USMC.😖

It was my honor to serve. I do understand life happens. We can serve every day by being a Patriotic American and doing our part to make sure the Constitution stays intact right here on the homefront. Some of the greatest threats to our Republic are those closest to it. Thanks for your reply.

Well said! I will do it!

Thank you for sharing your story. I can only imagine what you've been through. As someone passionate about gardening, some of my veteran friends have found much solace with their hands in the soil. Ever give gardening a go? Onward and upward. Looking forward to following your journey.

You are welcome for the share. I do have some plants that I take special care of. Last year we had a massive vegetable garden. I had planned on doing a smaller one this year. I have been finding solace by blogging, spending more time with my family, and landscaping. Tending the plants I have helps very much too. It gives me purpose and even on days, I may not have the motivation to function I know they require my attention and it gives me another reason to push forward. Thanks for your awesome reply.

Great to hear more about your garden! Glad to have connected on here and looking forward to being in touch. Be well!

Thanks so much. You do the same.

Good people can be seen right away)

I really try. Thanks so much for the compliment.

LMAO! Good to see our troops having fun!

Laughs is what it's all about.

Great stories man, thanks for sharing

You are very welcome. I am glad you enjoyed them.

Great video. Thank you for your story. Interesting!!

You are very welcome. Thank you for the compliment!

I definitely loved it. It is very fun, I would see it a thousand times more, more content in the community. !!

I will see what I can do about more lighthearted content. I am told by people I need to stop being so serious and let my humor shine through. It can be tough for me sometimes...but I'll see what I can do. Thanks for the great reply.

Dude. Great stories! Hilarious.
Phil.jpg

And congrats on hitting a big time post!

I am glad you liked them. Thanks for your reply. I was thinking about you today and was going to hit up your channel.

I feel blessed beyond measure. The really really cool thing about it is, I am in the middle of a 3-month pledge to donate all my post rewards to SP. So, not only will this bless me, but it will bless others through higher valued votes from this account. I am just thrilled all around.

Excellent post buddy. Proud of you.
Thanks for your time here.

You sure do know how to make someone feel special. I really appreciate your reply.

I enjoyed that campfire story lol!
I'm going to commission as an officer in the marine corps on the 4th of july (in a little over a week from now) and I can't wait to earn my share of good stories like you have. Thank you for your service!

Wow, you commissioning is super cool, especially on July 4th.Please always remember your enlisted men. The most successful Officers I have ever met worked harder than any enlisted person and helped others around them achieve success by becoming the best version of themselves. It was a pleasure to serve! God Speed!

@lexikon082 I remember RTE Irish. I did 33 months boots on ground. Glad to hear some old Army stories, really brings a smile to my face!

On an unrelated note, I was wondering what type of articles you like reading on here? I'm doing research to find out what hot/trending posters such as yourself are looking for here on Steemit. This will be used for a future blogging experience. Any help would be much appreciated brother!

Well, Hello Brother! Glad to help bring the smile. In regard to the articles I read. Business, Crypto, and Life Improvement are my mainstays. I spend a lot of time finding articles of Steemians who may need help or are starting a new project. Being active in the community is a huge purpose of mine on Steemit. I hope that helps.

Yessir, thanks much brother!

I have posted the blog that I used this info for. You are tagged with a link to this article.

I just read it. Thanks very much for that.

No, thank you brother for responding so that I could write that!

Donate Minimum 0.050 SBD FOR @charitywater Thank You

Amazing story thanks for sharing buddy!

Rofl..You managed to take the serious, horrible topic of war and lighten it up for us viewers with your story. That takes real talent there.

Poor butt-faced guy..did he get a fart in his face? the sound effects sound that waay ;)

btw..is this your first post to exceed the thousands mark. WELL DONE! I'm so happy for you..you are that one person who really, really deserves this! Go celebrate with @Curly-q! =D

I do believe that sound is the sound of him hitting the other guys Butt really, really hard. Yes, this is a first for me and truly humbling. It's all going to Steem Power and in this way, I will be able to contribute even more to the community in a positive manner. @Curly-q was very excited and we are planning a date after her work stretch to celebrate. As always thanks for your compliments.

the video is amazing informative

Informative is a first! A new trick for your bag o' tricks? Very happy to have brought you some entertainment.

I'm happy for u :)

Great read - thanks for sharing

Dude, its good you found the courage to openly talk about war experiences. Peace bro.

Thanks for that. It was pretty strange.

No need to thank me, thank you for noticing! I'm a pretty opinionated guy and therefore I invite you to read my blog about human societies and my take on it. Maybe you'll enjoy it maybe you'll hate it. Depending on your political view.. I want to create serious discussions on this platform!

I will write down your blog and I WILL BE OVER to check it out. It may be a day or so. But I will.

Nice post and vids! That atomic sit up is hysterical. I'm working on creating a military Veteran's community here on Steemit. Please add the tag #veterans to your post brother. The more people that use this tag, the faster it will get created. followed

Wow, I did not know that. Thanks for informing me. And I will go check out your channel. Thanks for the follow.

Great! Thank you

Thanks for the upvote and I will take a look.

Great post! Keep it up :)
By the way, I'm following you now
Cheers

Thank you very much. I really appreciate it.

Great post..my dear friend ..you are doing great in community..I am proud of having such nice friend:))

Thank you very much my brother
You always remember me :)

There are 2 pages
Pages