๐Ÿ’Œ Steemit Comment Challenge #17 - $20SBD Giveaway - Comment like a Champ, Grow your blog like a Champ!! ๐Ÿ’Œ

in #steemitcommentchallenge โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Transform your Comment into Cash

Welcome to Steemit Comment Challenge #17!!!

Are you ready to deliver some amazing comments?
I hope so, because it is now time to kick off Steemit Comment Challenge #17. Payout for this round will be 20SBD, again split into two prizes, 15 SBD to the winner and 5 SBD to the runner-up

This week we have a lovely Guest Judge with us, please welcome @amariespeaks! She recently donated 5 SBD to this challenge. So please be so kind to visit her blog and send her some love. :)

The partnership with @davemccoy and @mudcat36 and their #newbieresteemday initiative will continue. They will encourage "newbies" to join this challenge, with the aim to support and motivate better participation, and what better way to interact with others than through excellent comments.

Get ready to deliver some magnificent comments! Polish your keyboard and sharpen your mind, I wanna see those comments rolling in. Please show me what you have got!

It is important to get followers, but you also want the correct type of followers. Followers that are truly interested in your blog and what you write, and not the โ€œI-follow-you-if-you-follow-meโ€ kind of type. And to attract the right type of followers, you need to write godlike comments.

This challenge is all about writing godlike comments.

  • In each challenge a post from a fellow minnow will be featured.
  • The challenge is to write an amazing comment related to that post.
  • I will resteem the post.
  • I will give it a 100% upvote.

This will be part of my campaign to help other Minnows. The #minnowsupportproject helped me and I want to help others.

Join the challenge and practice your skills.

Please join the fun! ๐Ÿ’“ ๐Ÿ’“

That will be me reading your entries...

Challenge Instructions

Write a comment linked to the content in the section below "Post To Review"

Write a comment that will intrigue the reader. The comment should be interesting and create an urge in the reader to click through to your blog.

The entry needs to be written as a comment to this post.

Please resteem to help promote this challenge!
Tell your friends to come and vote for your comment!

Prize

The prize money for Challenge #17 will be 20SBD.

We will have a 1st and 2nd place with the following prizes:

  • 1st prize - 15SBD.
  • 2nd prize - 5SBD.

Rules and conditions

  • The comment should be relevant to the content below in: "Post To Review".
  • The entry needs to be written as a comment to this post.
  • Entries limited to one per person.
  • I will reply to your comment confirming it is a valid entry.
  • The challenge ends at the end of the 7th day of this post.
  • To vote for an entry, reply to the comment with the words "vote or voted"
  • Upvotes are allowed to make the entry more visible, but the upvotes themselves play no role in the challenge.
  • The Top5 entries with the most votes(i.e. replies with the words "vote or voted") will be potential winners.
  • The judges will pick the winner from the Top5.
  • For the 2nd Prize, the judges are free to pick any of the contestants.
  • If the judges can not reach a consensus, they will each pick one candidate and flip a coin. @dorabot will be used for this in MSP's Discord server.
  • If the winner is not a Minnow, the prize will be split in 2 and the other half paid out to the best Minnow. After all, this is a competition to encourages Minnows, so hopefully that will be fair.
  • The definition for a Minnow from #minnowsupportproject will be used. A Minnow is someone with less than 5K SP. (I have removed the followers requirement as I don't see that as relevant.)

Post To Review



Here follows the post for you to review:
Challenge #17 Post - "Your Darkness Will Transform You", by @meditationmann.


@meditationmann post talks about the light and the dark moments in our lives, how it effect us and shape us. Darkness is explained as nothing bad or evil, but rather as a way to overcome our fears and grow as a person. It is in the time of darkness where we more than ever act on our instincts and the true character within us emerges.
Please have a read and let us know what you think.

Remember that a valid entry is a comment written below, but please feel free to add the same comment to @meditationmann's post.

Please do you best!



Guest Judge

@amariespeaks is this week's guest judge. I can guarantee you a fun week and fair judging.

Would you like to take part and act as a judge?
If you are interested, please indicate it in the comments or send me a message on Discord (@danielsaori).

Please donate, please help a minnow

If you like this idea and would like it to grow. Please feel free to donate and I will add it to the Prize Pool. Mention #steemitcommentchallenge in your memo.

History of donations:
@zeartul 10SBD
@destinysaid 5SBD
@dray91eu 8SBD
@tech-trends 10STEEM
@fishmon 10SBD
@destinysaid 5SBD
@fishmon 5SBD
@nanosesame 10SBD
@amariespeaks 5SBD

Previous Comment Challenge Winner

Here follows the list of all the previous winners.

List is from oldest to newest:
@guyverckw
@stephcurry
@timeshiftarts
@dray91eu
@digitalking
@fatpandadesign
@fishmon
@kslo
@learnandteach01
@cryptobychirag
@japh
@brandyb
@stellastella
@amos-robinson
@lucyc
@bridgetnnenna
...will YOU be next on the list??

Starting with the next round, I will aim at introducing a fixed schedule for this challenge. I was triggered by the great blog expert @jrswab and his recent post about 5 important blogging steps. One of the steps was linked to consistency and having a schedule in your blogging.

As this is a weekly challenge, it would be great to do just that. So starting with the next round I will aim at kicking off each round on a Sunday and announce the winner on a Monday, a week later.

Thank you for reading!

Proud member of #minnowsupportproject & #teamaustralia -
Thank you @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @theprophet0, @someguy123, @neoxian, @followbtcnews, @netuoso and @sirknight

Click HERE to learn more about Minnow Support Project.
Click HERE to connect to our Discord chat server.


Sort: ย 
There are 2 pages
Pages
Loading...

thank you for this great contest.
honestly I was moved to comment on,
I am just a month in steemit, seeing this is a great place and surrounded by great people like you guys. I am sure steemit will grow rapidly thanks to people like you.
the core I want to say is, every comment we want to write does not have to be long, but the most important thing is the quality of our comments, because what? because this is verbal communication, everyone has a way, how to make people we comment on understand and interested to reply or upvote. one sentence of our comment if it is concerning the core of the post will be more meaningful than a meaningless long sentence.
for me and anyone who can not speak active english, to write a long comment is a difficulty. I must translate the post, then write a comment on google translate and translate it back to then copy paste in the post you want to comment on. can you imagine how difficult it is?
so many beginners who spread spam comments such as "good post" "i like it" and others. they many do not understand, and unfortunately many large accounts immediately mendownvote them without any explanation. I've experienced it before, and it's so sick and losing my spirits to get back to commenting. then came some people to teach me how to comment and other things. I am grateful to be met with such a person. people who encourage us to return like you @danielsaori

I commented using google translate, can you imagine how destroyed gammar.hahaahaha
but I am still excited.

greetings to all. especially for beginners who need to be loved and mentored. success for all of us

voted

I also have language constraints.
I agree with you. this comment represents my feelings

I voted

Memilih

Hi Dijetechili, I must say I love your comment and your effort. I can't imagine how hard it would be to have to translate everything to be able to use this platform. But I wouldn't worry about getting it all perfect, the important part is to try, to be honest, to show a true interest and to make personal and caring comments.

Unfortunately, I cannot confirm this comment as an entry in the contest. The comment needs to be related to the content in this post: https://steemit.com/darkness/@meditationmann/your-darkness-will-transform-you

Please feel free to write another comment.

But I will give you a full upvote for this comment. Well done!

It is okay @danielsaori . I try to be honest to reveal what is there. I just convey this represents a beginner who has the same difficulty. thank you for upvote. I am very grateful and appreciate it. you are a very good person. a reply from you alone has become a blessing for me. good luck

oya. can I join the comment contest again? or I should go to the link you shared earlier

Yes, you can join again by writing a new comment. Your reply should be related to that link I shared. Good luck! ๐Ÿ‘

You're right in here

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

thank you, that's the problem @waskeed

Loading...
Congratulations you have been proudly resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

~I think there should be 'word limit' added to the rules & conditions of the comment challenge.~

Note: @danielsaori, @amariespeaks .
Thanks @danielsaori for putting this together.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

In my opinion length will not affect my vote - a lot can be said in few words, just because someone writes a book as a comment doesn't guarantee (IMO) a win. Sometimes the lengthy ones are too much. I will be voting based on over all message of the comment and looking for a honest glimpse into the mind/heart of the commentor - but the word limit idea would be completely up to @danielsaori as this contest is solely his creation :)

Thanks for the suggestion. It hit my mind as well to have some kind of limit, especially when seeing some of the book-like comments. But I wouldnโ€™t be for a strict limit, it would only add on the administration burden, and what happens if someone wrote a great comment with one word over the limit.

Iโ€™m also thinking along the lines of @amariespeaks. A lengthy one gives no plus points, rather the opposite in my judgment.

I will add some guidelines to encourage shorter comments in upcoming rounds.

Thanks again!

One of the biggest setbacks I've faced is dwelling in my darkness. Yes! I mean dwelling in my fears for so long and not find the courage to move one. Only when I found the courage to try, to take a step, to move on and to grow, that's when I find the real transformation inside out!

I just saw this contest, It's 10 hours to go. my fears says "You can't", the darkness says "you're late!" But I've learned to be transformed by my darkness; to ignore the shooting voice inside and try. In trying, I'll learn. In trying I can win. That's the transformation. Yes! The true transformation comes in doing the needful, doing what is important to you. If going back to school is what you yearn for, do it. Is it traveling the world? Do it. It didn't work out the last time you tried? Try again. In trying again, you enable yourself to live your life at its fullest, the past is the past, itโ€™s time to move away from it. That's when we truly get transformed.

Thank you @danielsaori, and thank you @meditationmann. Now I feel a greater transformation within me as I hit the post button to summit my comment. I'm transformed!

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

voted

Voted

Voted

voted

voted

voted

Voted

I vote

voted

Voted.

VOTED

Voted

Voted

Voted

vote

Voted

Upvoted

Voted

Voted

voted

voted

Confirmed!
Thanks! It doesn't cost anything to try, and even if you fail the outcome is almost never as bad as we make it out to be. And regarding this contest, you seem to have done a great job getting those votes. :)

Vote

Voted!!

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Vote

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted.

Voted

Voted.

Voted

Voted for

Voted.

Upvoted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Happy voted

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

I thiNk im a little late but i'll still try it out. First of all i would like to say thank you for this opportunity and i would also commend that post made by @meditationmann's post i loved it!
I totally agree on the things he said on that post, truly you have to embrace both the light and the darkness to fully know yourself ajd to gain control over it. You cannot love the light without embracing the darkness/vice versa. Those times of feeling being stuck in an endless void is a learning process for us to know ourselves better and to come out of it stronger than ever. And once we go through the darkness thats also the time for us to see the light on the other side :) so keep walking through it, keep conquering, because the light is always on the other side of the tunnel.

You are right that you were too late. ;)
A new round will start in less than 10h, so I hope to see you back then. Steem On! :)

Haha thanks for the heads up sir!

Thanks so much for the honor @danielsaori ! I can't wait to read all the magnificent comments that will be inspired by this great post from @meditationmann !!

He brings up a topic that I feel is an important one and one that everyone can benefit from thinking on a bit - but also everyone can benefit from hearing what others discover when they take a look inside and shine a light into their darkness. We realize we're not so bad after all, we are not alone in our fears or thoughts, we see how strong we really are when we relate to another person's struggle or triumph. We say if they made it - I can too!

So go forth and write awesomeness to each other!

Thank you, itโ€™s great to have you here. The comments are looking good so far, so looks like this will be an interesting round.

yes! I just got out of my j-o-b and have been catching uo on all I missed since last night! so amazing! I love hearing people bear their souls <3 it makes the interwebs more humane :)

Just like the saying ," at the end of the tunnel ,there is light". Nice writeup @meditationmann.. I really think this writeup has to do with experience..if not,well kudos! Most things are just words and opposite,eg darkness and light,good and bad. And these opposites are needed in order to compare things.For example,if something is not good,then its bad,if its not right then its wrong.
Just want to top it up with this biblical saying," sadness is only but for a while,joy comes in the morning". The morning indicates light and generally depicts a good thing,while darkness can depict a lot of things,either ignorance,fear,wickedness,or bad stuffs"
Nice work @meditationmann..And thanks to @davemccoy and @danielsaori for organizing this contest...let the best man win!

voted

Voted

voted

Confirmed!
Thank you Mighty Anna! ๐Ÿ˜€

๐Ÿ˜

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

nice...

Voted

Well said

Yes, that's right.
Sometimes all you to know is your friends dark side. Because it will help you know who your friend truly is.
Every human has got it own dark side. All we gotta do is identify with it and try not to awaken it

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

A very awesome post @meditationmann. I was interested in it first because @danielsaori directed me to your page, but then when I read the post, I found out that it was about a discussion am passionate about - getting stronger through darkness

In my 27 years of experience here on earth, I have come to realize that there is not one person here on earth who will avoid some sort of struggle, darkness or โ€˜desert experienceโ€™ in life. For the very fact that you are a human being, alive and breathing means that you are prone to experiencing all that life has to offer โ€“ the celebrations and mourning, wins and losses, good and evil, light and darkness.

Truth be told, the experiences we have during dark times are usually not pleasant, thatโ€™s why they are called โ€˜dark timesโ€™. During these times, we ask questions like โ€˜why me?โ€™

While writing this comment, the loss of my dad while I was still a teenager became fresh again in my mind, that feeling of being lost in the deepest pit of darkness, with no ray of light to cling unto as a hope for tomorrow. So I know firsthand what it is like to be in darkness.

But what we donโ€™t realize (which when I realized helped be overcome my grief) is that darkness is a gift from life itself. Every struggle, pain, or sorrow you go through is a gift. It is a gift because it is only in dark rooms that people search for light. Darkness brings you to your knees, questioning the true purpose of your existence. It is a gift because it makes you look deep into yourself to discover the treasures lying dormant in you.

There is a popular quote โ€œWhat does not kill you makes you strongerโ€. That is so true. That means that a darkness that you don't allow to overcome you makes you stronger. So we can say that darkness can produce good benefits if handled properly. When you are faced with darkness, you have a choice to either give up or to draw from the well of treasures that flows within you, and come through it better and stronger than you were before the darkness.

Finally, we all have heard of a lot of testimonies of people who were grateful for the darkness they experienced in the past, stating that it made them much better people. They did not testify for talking sake, but meant every bit of what they said. I know this because I am part of this group of people. My darkness of the death of my father was tough and hard, but am grateful to God for it, because that darkness was what contributed to me being born-again, having a relationship with God, which is the best experience a person can ever have (IMO).

So, I invite everyone reading this post to come join us โ€“ a group of people that are thankful for their dark experiences. Donโ€™t run from your darkness, but rather embrace it so that you can come out brighter and better, like pure gold from the burning furnace.

Confirmed!
Thank you for your touching personal comment. I wish you all the best!

Voted

Voted

Vote

Voted

Voted

Vote

Voted

Vote

Voted

Vote

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Experiencing failures at some point in our lives is perhaps what makes you, me, and other people not different from each other. Many of us may feel the loneliness and helplessness in the darkest moments of our lives. But it is in darkness where we use our senses more to feel and to listen rather than to see and judge things the way they exactly appear before our eyes. It is in darkness where we learn to open our eyes searching for the right answers. It is in darkness where we learn to look in all directions and start moving towards the light, even if it the dimmest of hopes.

As said by the great Francis Bacon, "In order for the light to shine so brightly, the darkness must be present". So stand up, brush yourself up, and continue moving forward. Look for that light and follow it with courage and determination. You may fall hard many times but you should never lose hope. For once you reach that rock bottom point in your life, there is no other way to go but UP.

Confirmed!
Thanks for your entry

@danielsaori, thank you so much for your continued support of the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. And you couldn't have a better judge than @amariespeaks. That is one hard working and devoted community member.

Thank you! I'm very happy to be part of it.
I only wish I could do more for the hard work you and @davemccoy are doing.

Hello @danielsaori. I'm the founder of the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative in partnership with @davemccoy. I'd love to assist in anyway I can to promote your contest. Though I have been beavering away on our initiatives website off of Steemit I would really enjoy providing support as a way of saying thanks for all of the amazing support you have provided our initiative through your involvement. Feel free to give me a shout at any point if anything comes to mind. Resteemed, up voted, and as always Steem on. :)

Nice to meet you mudcat! Iโ€™ve added you above to recognize you and Dave are leading that initiative. You are doing great work!!
SteemOn and I see you around.

Darkness is what gives meaning to light. Imagine an ideal someone who hasn't been in low moments. He doesn't know what makes the difference between where he is and the ground. High & low, weak & bold, light & dark. The world is a place of balance, where opposites balance each other and that's what makes life beautiful.
Life has taught me that you can fuel either you choose to with energy, the dark where your despair, worries, weakness are or you can choose to use that energy like a train to push to the light at the end of the tunnel.
Ever wonder why space is dark, why dark matter exists? Ever wonder why the night side of earth looks beautiful from space?
It's because each twinkle of a star you see reminds us humans of the tiny hope flashing at us in the dark, knowing that the darkest moment is a passing phase and like they rightly say, the darkest hour is just before the dawn.
Darkness is not evil.. It has a purpose
When the dark clouds clear, you value the beauty the light brings into sight...

Confirmed!
Thank you for your entry. Wish you the best of luck!

Thank you very much @danielsaori, this is indeed an awesome competition. Interacting and engaging with other Steemians will definitely increase your network. :)
I totally agree with @meditationmann, life is full of uncertainties. We must be able at all times to be ready to face whatever challenges that comes our way. I know it's not easy, but this is the fact of life. It's like we are always riding on a roller coaster, there are ups and downs. We as individuals must learn how to enjoy the moment when we are up and face the lowest point with courage. We can't run, we can't hide because we will be haunted by the ghost of our conscience. Instead of escaping from the darkness we must bring out the light in us to brighten our darkest days.
For me everything has an end! Nothing is constant in this world so as our problems. Whenever I am in my darkest and lowest part of my life I always say to myself that this too shall pass because everything has an end. This gives me strength to face challenges because in the darkest hours the tiniest light will definitely shine bright. That light that peaks throught the hole gives us hope and strength.
I have been through my lowest last year, that was my darkest because I lost my mom. I was almost eaten up by the darkness, eaten alive with all of my hopes gone. But the tiniest light grew big and as the days pass I see myself already in the sunlight, smiling again.
Strength in facing darkness comes from the acceptance that this will make us grow as a better person, this will make us a better version of ourselves and that whatever battles we face we will be able to surpass it and emerge triumphant!

Confirmed!
Truly sorry to hear about your mother. But Iโ€™m happy to hear that you have found hope and light again. Big hug to you!

Thank you @danielsaori! I still miss her of course but I know she's in a better place now. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Touching!

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Can we understand it this way too?

Gold sparkles as the daylight when it has gone through a section of high intense heat in the fire furnace. The Goldsmith passes through hell of heat putting in a worthwhile effort to refine the raw gold, then beaten to form adorable instruments.

Just like the Goldsmith passes through hell of heat, we might have to confront heaps of issues, that might seemingly cause us to drop down our hands, a way to surrending to defeats.

The darkness is what really shows us who we are. It is our darkness that tests our virtues and brings out our true character.

Through the hell of heat, the Goldsmith endures. The Goldsmith's darkness is the endurance he shows through the section of high-heating the raw gold to what becomes adorable instrument(s).
Similarly, our darkness test our virtue and brings out the very best in us as individuals.

In turn, the endurance shown in our dark times builds or forms deep rooted love in us .

Thereafter, love lift us up and also help to accommodate others, thus, impacting the world positively, just like as the Goldsmith benefits at the end from the whole stress and other lovers of gold too.

Job well done @meditationmann. Thanks for organizing this @danielsaori.

Voted.

Voted

Confirmed!
Thx for your entry.

Thank you too.

Voted!

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Thanks to you all who have voted and to those that will still vote.
One Loveโ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ‘

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

He feels lonely, seeking for who to confide in
Laying helplessly, thinking of the hard situations which doesn't make him grin,
Pondering day and night, of who could save him from this shameful dilemma
With his loss of Sight, making life more unbearable with this growing stigma
Growing hopeless, He decides to give up on life
Knowing there exist not other reason to strive
But then a voice with utmost loudness calls saying:
"YOUR DARKNESS WILL TRANSFORM YOU"

Confirmed!
I hope we all can find the light when we are stuck in darkness.

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

Voted

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Wow!!! This is amazing
I must say you guys has done absolutely well by bringing up this great contest...and it is really amazing that there is someone out there that is so much concerned about minnows..below is my contribution to the contest:

There is always a saying that "tough times do not last, but tough people do"....so in other for us to overcome all life problems and challenges, we should therefore be a tough being...Though challenges might come, but as a Child of God we should never slack.. We should face such challenge with the wisdom and power of God that has been bestowed upon us...Our Lord God has made us so perfect in him and he has given us authority over the things on the earth, so we can overcome all life problems with the conciousness of Gods authority over us...We are solution providers and problem solvers...

Voted

Confirmed!
Thank you for the nice words. Great to have you here! ๐Ÿ˜€

Voted

Voted

You don't have to "embrace" bad feelings. Just accept, that they are there, but don't feed them with more energy.
If you focus on the good sides of live, those will grow.

Confirmed!
Excellent short comment. Thank you for that.

Loading...

The darkness is what really shows us who we are, you write in your post, however, I think it is the relationships with others that show us who we are, the others are the mirror we have of ourselves. The relationship with our parents, brothers, friends and acquaintances, is programming our personality. It is true that darkness gives us the opportunity to see, to experience a part of ourselves that is hidden. But, I think it does not define us. It is my opinion. Congratulations for your post, very interesting.

Entry confirmed!
Thanks for joining!

...perhaps it is not the darkness, nor the light that need draw attention, but rather all of the shades of gray in between them. It is these shadows cast by our very own transitions that demonstrate both our growth as conscious beings, and our wounds and scars .

If you spin the ying yang symbol of the tao fast enough, there comes a point where all of the white becomes metallic grey; yet the black remains untouched whilst the wheel spins.

Confirmed!
Really? Is that the illusion you create if spinning the ying yang symbol fast enough. ๐Ÿ˜‰

It is one of them... I had to find an online "ying yang" spinner to check it out...LOL

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Life on earth is the combo of dark and light moments. Dark and light moments in one's life are just like two sides of a coin. In our life, we must overcome the dark moments by vigilantly utilizing the energy gained during the light moments.
Dark moments in life is also just like an exercise to face the challenges of the real world.

Confirmed!

Thanx a million for confirmation

"Embrace the darkness. Luke, it is your Destiny!"

Confirmed!
Thx! ๐Ÿ˜€

Thanks for the contest, "Fะพr mะต thะต Confidence ั–ั• thะต gateway tะพ success; tะพ thะต life thะฐt ัƒะพu wั–ั•h tะพ lead ะฐnd tะพ thะต dreams thะฐt ัƒะพu desire tะพ live. Wั–th confidence ัƒะพu ัะฐn progress tะพwะฐrdั• ัƒะพur ambitions ะฐnd aspirations. Wั–th confidence ัƒะพu ัะฐn rise uั€ ะฐnd handle lifeโ€™s demands ะฐnd challenges. Yะพu ัะฐn tackle ะฐnัƒ hurdle ะฐnd obstruction, ะฐnd move ะพn tะพ thะต nะตxt step ะพf ัƒะพur journey tะพ fulfilment ะฐnd achievement. "

Entry Confirmed!

I love the idea of taking the path through the darkness. My immediate thought when reading that is how a theme that has emerged between my wife and I and our kids is that discomfort is okay. We can handle hunger, thirst, fatigue, and in fact such feelings are often necessary to endure to get the big payoff โ€” a beautiful view during an epic hike, or the pride of accomplishing new fitness goal. Of course, youโ€™re post is more about the dark emotional times we experience, but I think the same idea applies. We will not appreciate the light, or possibly wonโ€™t even recognize itโ€™s beauty and wonder, unless we have traveled through darkness. And you add the next level of actually embracing it. I will be mulling this over for a while. Thanks!

Confirmed!
Thank you for joining. ๐Ÿ‘

I think the power of great literature - the number one reason to read "the great books" - is that it helps us deal with the darkness mentioned by @meditationmann. All of us, sooner or later, must confront this darkness and literature gives us a way to understand the conflicting emotions inside of us. In some cases, literature gives us comfort during the exact moments we are experiencing darkness in our lives, because it helps us recognize the bonds of humanity that unite us all. In other cases, literature prepares us to handle this darkness in the future.

One memory in particular stands out, and it dates back to my high school English class. We were reading Shakespeare's "King Lear," and it was obvious that nobody was really getting it. We couldn't possibly understand the pain and darkness of a king who had lost everything - his daughters, his kingdom and his mind. What would you do if you lost everything, including the people most dear to you? That was the true genius of Shakespeare - to share the light and darkness and make it timeless.

Confirmed!
Thatโ€™s a great comment. Thank you!

What a great post @meditationmann. Really good work mate.

I love this post because I can relate to pretty much everything that is said. It stirred up in me lessons I have learned but forget to focus on and made me look at some things from new perspectives.

We separate from the part of ourselves that experienced this trauma in order to be able to survive because it is the only thing we know how to do.

Man, how true this is! Speaking from experience, when I experienced trauma as a child, it forced certain dichotomies to rise up. In my limited way of thinking, I thought either the people who are supposed to protect me are incapable and deeply flawed, or there is something deeply flawed within me. Safety is paramount for children, so we prioritize keeping our guardians blameless. That forces the issue inward. It must be me. I must be defective. The next step is to take those broken pieces, bury them deep, and never look back.

The relationship between trauma and triggers fascinates. I had a therapist once describe them as 10-2 reactions. Something happens that should warrant a level 2 reaction, but I respond with a forceful 10. What the heck? It is literally like that thing takes you all the way back to the origination of the wound.

Our emotions are what makes us humans; embrace them!

Amen. I don't know if the massive suppression of emotions is exclusively a male experience, but it is very clear the culture actively discourages boys from being emotional. What a scandal.

Instead of seeing ourselves for our true divine potential, we begin to see our identity as our darkness.

^That is a powerful truth right there. Yes, we must go through the darkness (I call it the wasteland), but it is also dangerous. While burying the emotions is a terrible coping mechanism, it does provide some shelter from the heavy feelings. Diving head first into that space and tearing down all of those walls can easily send us into spirals. Negative acting out can actually increase as we start to do this work. It usually gets worse before it gets better.

I think that is why it is so important to have a community that walks with you. Ultimately, this is your journey and no one else can do the work of walking through your darkness. But their love and companionship will go with you and help keep you safe.

I think I should wrap up this ramble! I really liked your post and thanks for sharing your insights!

Cheers,
Sam

Confirmed!
Thanks for your detailed and engaging comment Sam.

Thanks for the comment contest & your efforts to boost interaction on the steem network @danielsaori!

voted.pngScreen Shot 2018-01-16 at 12.27.13 PM.pngvotes.png

Thx! ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ™

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Your darkness will certainly transform you when you are mature enough to allow yourself to be taught that life is a constant teacher at different stages, if you take advantage of every situation you enter, then you will be transformed. Otherwise you will only exist, many people do not like the light, because in the light whatever you do (good or bad) will be exposed, but in the darkness it will not be exposed, forgetting that if you are hit by a strong light you will be blinded affecting your sight. You should try your best in light and in darkness, because you live and not only exist. The whole creation goes through light and darkness every day, but we do not see nature whining nor complaining. We need to be mature enough to understand this simple fact!

Confirmed!
Thank you Johnny!

We must all go through the darkness to find our own personal light. Each journey will be unique but that is what makes all of us unique. Let's welcome everyone to the light no matter whatโ€‹ our differences are. We are all inclusive here and togetherโ€‹ we will make a brighter world.

Confirmed!
Thanks for the comment.

There is no light without darkness, no good without bad. I guess the "bad" things in life exist only for comparison; a way to show us the good.

not gonna vote on my own comment, I read @meditationmann's post and these are my honest thoughts about it.

Confirmed!
Congrats on making the first comment of the week. :)

Thank you. Quite new here and feels good to participate in events like these.

voted

voted

voted

Voted!

voted

Voted

voted

"Our emotions are what makes us humans embrace them"- this statement summarises or rather is a clear formular to understanding how life works.Our everyday experiences and how we handle them moulds us into the person you and i are today.
Life experiences are so important and as such one shouldn't feel as though the world is against such a person. These things make u stronger. Its hard i know and ofcourse you will have several emotions. own those emotions. I think we all need to understand each other and try to live a relatively peaceful life. No one is bad or good. What you see as negative(darkness) or positive has its lessons, you just need to have an open mind.

Confirmed!
Thanks for your entry!

A lovely piece you've got here @meditationmann. While reading this post, the first thing that came to my mind was a song by Deon Jackson, titled ''Love makes the world go round ''.
It does not matter whether it's darkness or light that fills the world, as long as love is available, the world will keep going round.

Darkness and light are just natural entities, they are neither good nor bad. It all depends on your mindset.

As a vivid example, we all know that gold is not shinny and sparkling in the ground, but rather it is dirty and unattractive. But the moment it passes through the furnace, under very high temperature and pressure, it looses all its impurities, and becomes the gold we all desire. You see that the darkness in the form of a furnace, was actually aimed at making the gold a better gold. That seeming darkness (unimaginable heat) , was the road the gold required to follow to get to its attractive state.

Another example. For those who hate to sleep with the lights switched on, the moment you switch on the light, they would immediately yell at you to switch of the light. Their mindset at that point is that light is bad, and darkness is good. Darkness and light are not bad things in themselves, it is the mindset with which you view them that determine whether they becomes bad of good.

Let's us cultivate the mindset of not complaining during dark periods, but let us through the instrument of love, cultivate a learning mindset, and hence be able to use this darkness for good, by being of help to our neighbors who go through similar situations, hence making the world go round through our actions of love.

Entry confirmed!

Dark and light should have no effect on life, dark and light, but if it meant dark is evil and the light was good then the second is the balance of life.

If all life is the light = good God then how to act on the creation of the heaven and hell.

Only one thing is certain in the world, that it was necessary and good balance is required in the test of God's life.

Entry confirmed!

Carl Gustov Jung, a Swiss psychoanalyst, seems to have explored some of the sentiments you expressed when he explored what he called the shadow. For Jung, the shadow was the dark part of ourselves that we typically renounce and say "this is not me." It can be merely the traits you have but do not accept (but need to because they are you as well). But it can also be your best understanding of what evil actually is, and you recognize it since it is, despite your efforts to run, in the end just you.

Embracing all of yourself can be the only whole response to the darkness you will encounter, if you are brave enough to seek it. In your moving post you describe the compartmentalization of feelings (actually parts) that occurs when someone is traumatized. The technical name for this is dissociation, and while we all do it, anyone who survives trauma likely has to rely more than most on this tendency to split ourselves into safe solid admirable self, and weak, terrified, and possibly vengeful victim. Usually there are many other splits as well but bringing them all together is a life's work for someone who deals with inescapable trauma. How to mix this alchemical alloy is a unique opportunity for each individual, but the unwelcome parts, when folded into ourselves, make us who we are, and anything less is at best a life lived with half your soul tied behind your back.

Confirmed!
Thank you for your entry.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

I was triggered by the great blog expert @jrswab and his recent post about 5 important blogging step.

DUDE!

Thanks for the shout-out and the kind words! The community here is why I love the Steem platform; we can see the direct impact we have on the readers of our content much more efficiently than other platforms. If you ever need anything or just want a second opinion on something, please do not hesitate to shoot me a DM on Discord.

<3

Dude, thanks for that dude! :)
I should really get a grip of the other steps as well. I get easily distracted and spend the time on the wrong things. Stuck in a for loop or something silly like that. :)

We all deal with that to some degree. Look for what works best to keep you on track. For me it's not eating till the work is done and using a bullet journal to stay organized. Just don't give up :D

Thanks for this wonderful contest.

One day, I sat down and thought about all the leaders and world champions on STEEMIT I discovered. What did they do when they had to drive this racing car we call STEEMIT without any steering wheel?

They got in the seat, put on the seatbelt and enjoyed the goddamn ride to the best of their ability. They ran over stuff. They hit walls. They crashed in the rain. Basically, they had fun with it.

Never give up!

Being successful on this great platform lies on your commitment and consistent toward it.

Really appreciate this wonderful platform (STEEMIT) it has really impact positively in so many lives. I hope the same joy goes to us all.

Thank you branx!
Itโ€™s a nice platform indeed. Happy you find your way here and that you like it. Wish you lots of joy

Thanks @danielsaori

I'm 100% Agree with every word you have written in this post.
This is our life is all about. Happiness can never teach us, it's the sorrow that teaches us how to live in bad or sad circumstances.
It teaches us how to tackle these bad days.
For the darkness part of this post, Darkness is what we feel in our inner, we feel the emptiness, and this darkness let us think what is missing and this brings us back to our God, then we start praying with our full passion,
Then we found the real meaning of our life, for what we are here,
we are here for helping others in the best way possible.
and you talked about a 7-year-old child who has fear of this world, who fear to fall. In the last week I've seen this fear in my 58-year aunt, she just fell from bike and her hip bone was broken and She just had operation for it, Whenever we try to move her from one place to another, I saw fear in her eyes and her that fear reminds me the of our childhood fear, In this part of life we just need love of our loved ones, nothing else.
and also that love can get you out from that darkness you feel inside of you.
Thanks
Regards Abdulmanan

Confirmed!
Thank you Abdulmanan ๐Ÿ™

Your welcome my dear :)

โ€œEveryone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself.โ€ โ€” Leo Tolstoy

The polarity in us is innate, we have both dark side and light side. If we human are ever honest with ourselves, everyone has a dark side to their personalities. It's up to us to choose whichever way we're going to live/lead our lives. Even if you are to start out on the dark side, it doesn't mean you have to continue your journey that way. You will always have the time to turn it around and change for the better and one thing I know about love is that whether you've love and won โ€” or loved and lost, it's ALWAYS worth it.

Confirmed!
Thanks for the comment!

The darkness is what really shows us who we are. It is our darkness that tests our virtues and brings out our true character.

This is true, but I also want to bring it up to another level. If darkness is all the negative feelings that we have, then "darkness is something that helps us grow"

By being scared, we learn to avoid danger.
By being anxious, we have the urge to try to find a solution.
By feeling lonely, we try to reconnect with our family and friends.
By reaching a dead end, we try to find a way out of comfort zone.
etc.

So those dark negative feelings are the ones that actually help us grow. To expand our capabilities, to help us learn the dangers, to navigate us through trials and errors. We should embrace and welcome them. Use the darkness inside us to grow.

Confirmed!

Maybe a bit off topic but this came to my mind.
โ€œFear of the dark, fear of the dark
I have a constant fear that something's always near
Fear of the dark, fear of the dark
I have a phobia that someone's always thereโ€

Nice song. :) Adding it to my "weirdly good & for effect" collection. :D

what a title for a collection @liberviarum ! I love that weirdly good & for effect You should share this collection some time in a post or something! I'd love to hear it :)

For most of our lives we have been told what to think, feel, eat and how we should act. A big part of this programming is the suppression of emotions that we are feeling and the fact that we are shunned for feeling emotions.
Our emotions are what makes us humans; embrace them!

ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  " A big part of this programming" the most important 6 words that people really need to think about. "get over it already!" "no need to cry about it it happened it's over" "do you really care" "you are not 7 years old anymore" "move past it" People need to think what is the programming, the feeling a person has that leads others to those reactions, or the reactions people have toward your feelings?
ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  To "get over it" leads a person no where, it is the understanding of the feeling that will set the person free, that understanding will not be achieved overnight, and that some understanding will take a life time to figure out. A person should never get over the feeling. Asking them to do something like that is the equivalent of telling them they should cut their toe off when they are hopping around like crazy in pain from stubbing it. Why people always want other people to kill parts of what make them who they are I will never understand.
ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  Keep your feelings, keep your toe, keep your ego. They are all part and parcel of what make you you.

Confirmed!
Very well said. Getting over a feeling by hiding it is one of the worst thing we can do.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

In the life of two negatives will not be positive. Although you and I are equally negative but if we believe in ourselves we will be strong, so why are you so afraid to live with me. It is true that two darkness can not create light, but in darkness if there is someone with you is not the darkness will be reduced.

Confirmed!
Thank you ๐Ÿ™ for your entry.

In Darkness, we see who we truly are
A slumbering or a self determined human
In darkness, we bring out the part we show to no one
A part we keep to ourselves due to regret or self love
Why do we make less mistakes when our eyes are closed
Because it's a moment we act with caution
In darkness we show to the world every talent we possessed
You do better when no one is watching, unless you're being forced

If the Darkness brings out the best of my talent
Why should I seek for a light at the end of my tunnel

Life has always acted the ironic role
For we are scared of darkness like its some part of a tactic
Yet the dark holds brighter hope like a state receiving her taxes
When do you lay with the hope of seeing tomorrow
When do you cry with the hope of making a better throw
For this is the moment we settle things that are hot to handle
Even the achievers use this moment to burn the midnight candle
For what we decide in darkness shall be the outside "us" portion
What a man is going to do, when he is out of option.

Confirmed!

Life is always in phases. The good and the bad. Smooth and rough. Some times we might be passing through the negative phase. It will not always be raining season, some times it will be hard and tough.
The dark moments are not meant to kill us but to build us. This thought inspired to put up a post yesterday titled
FAILED TO SUCCEED | SEEING FAILURE DIFFERENTLY

That one has or is passing through a dark moment does not mean that the person will remain there forever. It's just a phase that will pass with time.
And within this period one needs be strong and see the light approaching from the end of the tunnel.

I could remember in 2015 when i lost my dad just two weeks to my first semester exams in my third year in the university. It was heavy but i told myself i was not going to cry because crying will only destabilize me and make me not to focus on my exams. So i had to let it go and pretend as though nothing but yet it was painful because i was the closest to my dad but for the sake of my future, i endured the pains and life went on.

So if we can see the dim light from afar, we can scale through the darkness.

Confirmed!
Thank you for your very personal reflection and Iโ€™m sorry to hear about the loss of your dad.

Thanks sir and i don't know if you can be of help to me on this my appeal or to help me reach out to people who can help on it pls

https://steemit.com/gratefulvibes/@inspiredgideon1/appeal-for-50-sbd-to-help-pay-my-school-fees-and-my-accommodation-fee-off-campus

So many awesome comments, Daniel. This contest is sure harder to judge now.

Hey ๐Ÿ‘‹
Yes, indeed. Much harder to judge but also so much more fun. Do you want an extra challenge and be the guest judge again? ๐Ÿ˜€

Wow im overwhelmed by this steemit community. U guys are awesome. Im very new to steemit and still trying to get a hang of things so way to go @danielsaori. Good work.

awesome @walterjohn! It is amazing and welcome! It just looks hard but its really not...

Just go up to his instructions and click on the "post of the week" here (above) and that will take you to another author's post...

Then just 1) comment to his post over there and

  1. copy and paste your comment and then
  2. come back here and enter your answer in the @danielsaori's reply box.

Then you are entered and you will get at least a 0.05 upvote... And to entice you to do so, I will give you a bonus 0.03 upvote since you made a good sincere comment! I'd like you to play because once you learn, you will always love it! Do we have a deal? ;)

Thankyou so much.

Okay

Thank you Walterjohn!
I see your new entry. Super! :)

Well thankyou

This Post by @meditationmann is a very thought provoking subject. Without trauma in our lives, there are many important aspects of humanity that are extremely difficult to achieve without it. One of the most important I believe is empathy. Without empathy we cannot put ourselves in someone elseโ€™s shoes for a day to imagine what life is like for them. Another important personality trait which is developed through trauma is compassion, for without experiencing trauma in our own lives it is very difficult to have compassion for those that have experienced trauma in their own. In my humble opinion, empathy and compassion are 2 of the most important traits that someone can have and when I have met people in this lifetime who are lacking in these areas it is a very ugly and disappointing experience. From my own experiences, i have found that people with large amounts of empathy and compassion are very caring people and while I do not wish trauma on anyone, I am very thankful that it creates a more loving and caring world for us to live in. It is a necessary part of the human experience that makes life so much more worth living. Without knowing what is bad, how can we know what is good. Without knowing sadness, how can we know joy. Every emotion, trait, and experience we have has a flip side for a reason. Without the flip side we would not be human.

Confirmed!
Thanks for the well written comment.

There are 2 pages
Pages