Getting Ideas for Kids Stories

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

gettingideas.jpg

Introduction

If you have young children, then finding ideas for children's stories on a daily basis can be very easy to do. If your children are a little older now, reminiscing might be all it takes to come up with a few good ideas!

I am going to go through a typical day spent with my toddler and the different story ideas, each activity can bring to light...

A Day in the Life

In the mornings, we generally go to a toddler group of some description, where my daughter will play with all sorts of toys. When thinking of story ideas, I think about the toys she picks to play with, what she might be learning and how she interacts with the other children.

From toddler group, this morning, I thought that we could create a jammed packed adventure story, as she rode on a zebra, crashed a car, fell off a tractor, stood on a turtle and hurtled down a waterfall (okay that was a slide)! I could get photos of each of these activities to include in the story post.

As my daughter has bucket loads of energy, we need to take her for a few walks a day. She loves running around the fields and in the woods. It was her love of nature and looking at trees that inspired us to create a picture book series about the sneaky things that squirrels do when people aren't looking. There are plenty more animals out there, who could get a similar treatment, not to mention what your pets might do when you are sleeping!

Shopping is a very exciting event for Hazel, she loves walking around shops picking up absolutely everything she can! She also loves chasing pigeons, so they could get the squirrel treatment mentioned earlier. Another good story idea might be to create a shopping treasure hunt that you need to go to different shops for in order to build something like a robot at the end.

When it comes to bath time, Hazel has all sorts of toys in the bath with her. Plenty of ducks and squishy water pistol ones. She has one particular one that is an octopus, but it looks like a pig with eight legs – we call it Pigopus, so we could create a story around Pigopus and it's adventures.

Every night I sing to Hazel and the songs I sing to her are either very modern, or traditional ones. One that I sing to her to help her fall asleep is “Mama's Going to Buy You a Mockingbird”. The lyrics to this song are in the public domain (so you can make changes to them, as you wish).

We have come up with a few verses that include Daddy a bit more – (here it is) but the point is there are plenty more nursery rhymes that are in the public domain, which could do with the same treatment – who can come up with a better line than “The Dish Ran Away With the Spoon”?

PerfectSeparator.png

Conclusion

I hope you liked these ideas that I shared with you today and that they help you brainstorm and come up with some fun children's stories.

PerfectSeparator.png

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
Free daily crypto: Swift Coins

Berserkers Discord Server: Discord
Where self improvement is daily

PerfectSeparator.png

Sort:  

Taking care of children can be demanding and sometimes even frustrating. I was a nursery school teacher but I couldn't cope with little children quite well.
Sometimes they just cry for no reason... all that kind of stuff. So I decided to take the more matured ones. But at least one good thing about them is you can find inspiration for a song or story for them from anyway even from looking at their eyes. I salute you ma. You posses stamina and grace to be able to handle children. Keep doing the good work.

Thank you. I try my best. I wish I did have the stamina of my children though.

Reading stories helps to develop the child's mental and interactive abilities.
You have to be careful to read a story daily for your child and practice some games with your child
Like a game this member: teach your child the names of body members

Both my children love reading, definitely a habit to cultivate

the ideas you write inspired me a lot, thank for sharing @hopehuggs I will try to practice 😊😊😊😊

I'm happy they inspired you

I am enjoying this age. We are lucky and exhausted to be doing it again... 10 year gap, we don't always feel lucky.
But I love the magical thinking, the belief they have in you that you can see in their eyes, love. Fairies, and dress ups... The other day I was distracted supervising the bath. He made a pink potion with all the shampoos, cleansers conditioner and a fizzy bomb. Mixed it with a tooth brush and set it aside for a day. Then we had to all be splashed with it with his magic wand. Apparently he made a wish for us to go to a farm. The potion poured on dads feet would drive us to the farm stay.
PSX_20180122_195149.jpg

We do potions too, one is going to turn Poppy into Shimmer one day (a genie) and Hazel's potion was to turn herself into a practical joker. Well, one worked.

We have a concoction brewing now. It is growing courage and bravery on behalf of big sister, for first day back at school tomorrow after loooong summer holidays.
He also got his favourite rock and squeezed it really hard to give her some of his superpower to carry in her pocket.
We do this with yucky medicine too. He holds an action figure and channels the toughness, to swallow it like the hulk or Iron Man, or a Ninja Turtle... The face is priceless.

The story ideas are lovely. I love the fact that Hazel loves the woods as well as shopping. That shows a balance in her personality; she loves beautiful things and nature is truly beautiful. You can also add baby princesses saving the kingdom from toy soldiers or from squirrels. 😂. I like this song " sleep, sleep, sleep and rest. Don't be afraid of the darkness.... God keeps the night watch for you and for me... " something like that anyway.

She loves a whole variety of things, although I'm glad the wish to go horse riding regularly has died down for the moment, as that would be just a little too pricey.

sing with heart like no one else is there and enjoy every moment

Living in the moment, that is a key to teach children these days and every adult too.

A mom will always understand another mom-)
how old is your sunny?) I have a toddler too)
they really have a plenty of energy! oceans of energy! they can move and run without any stop for hours-)
envy for grown-ups)
and it's so funny with bathroom-) yeeahh they really need ALL their toys there-))
p.s. Some kids need all of them in the toilet too-))

I have two girls and they are 6 and 4 now. Completely understand about the toys in the bathroom, although the plug for the sink seems to have gone walkabout for the moment.

They sure are and Hazel is sure seems pretty lucky to get you as a parent !Thanks for the ideas will keep the ideas in mind !

I am very lucky to be a mommy too. Thank you.

I Love these ideas. Just yesterday we built a pillow fort. Little Owen was the home owner and little Oliver was being recken ralph. Dad was the handyman. (I forget his name) These things are so important to do especially if they are being bombarded with technology.

Definitely. It is so different with each generation I suppose. Try and recapture the nuance of times without technology.