Don't betray your own self interests.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

It's easy to think....

"I don't want to do that."

"I don't want to get out of bed."

"I don't want to go to that meeting."

Of course you don't want to do that stuff. You'd rather watch TV, or go play in the park, or do anything that doesn't involve actual work. I'm the same way.


Source: Pixabay.com

Nobody really wants to work.

Nevertheless I'm here everyday writing stories, and believe me, they take hours.

I also have a full-time job at a restaurant and I'm at that restaurant the vast majority of the time.

When I'm not busy helping a guest I'm usually thinking about my next story. I usually have a piece of paper that I write down all my different ideas on.

If you don't have your own self interests in mind then you might spend your time thinking about what kinds of activities you can do that are fun.

Now don't get me wrong..... I love having fun.

Fun is fun after all.

What about that child that never does his homework? He comes home from school and watches TV all day. His mother asks him "Why aren't you doing your homework?"

He tells her he already did it.


Source: Pixabay.com

He thinks that he has his own self interests in mind. He thinks having fun is giving into his own self interests but he's wrong.

If he studies, does his homework, and goes to school then he'll be able to build a better world for himself.

There needs to be a balance between having a good time and getting work done.

You're laying in bed and your alarm is going off. You hit the snooze button because you want to sleep for a little while longer. The people that are actually getting somewhere in your company are getting to work early.

It might feel like you are working towards your own self interests while you lay in bed and sleep for a little while longer but you are wrong to think that.

The rest of the world has their own self interests in mind.

So take a lesson from them.

Get up early.

Do your homework.

Study when you need to study.

Go to meetings.

Life doesn't always work the way that we want it to but as long as we aren't betraying our own self interests by procrastinating and putting fun ahead of getting things done then we can find a way to make something out of the cards we've been given.

You can make it work!

Sort:  

wondearful story sirDQmcCyDJQMXAoV4pM31Ujw18fcJgoH7zNT9WKPhBUMC9PwY_1680x8400.jpeg

Agree with you, we should do our works on time rather than sit idle and doing nothing.

Thank you.

You're so right I love this post, motivational.

Thank you.

Very nice story, sir. Restemeed and upvote!!

This is a very inspiring and educating post. It is obviously one of the best post have come across this year. We all want to live a happy life. Have fun with our loved ones but we have to work really hard to make all our dreams come true. There is a saying that goes thus "There is no food for a lazy man". Keep working, keep pushing, be consistent, never give up and your hardwork would surely pay. Do you want to live the american dream?

You have to start now!!!!

Time waits for no man. Tick tock tick 👌🏾.

Believe

Great comment.

very good post and interesting to read, I look forward to your next posting, good luck and success thanks