It's important to be supportive of others.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Today as I was standing in my restaurant, a friend of mine came up to tell me something about another server.

"You know that people don't seem to like Kathy very much. Her tables never get their food quickly enough, and she always seems to second guess what she's doing. She sucks." he casually remarked.

I stared out the window at the bright sunny day and wished that I was outside instead of working to pay my rent.

"Don't you think so? Don't you think that she is kind of a terrible server?" My buddy insisted.


Source: Pixabay.com

"I'll tell you what I think." I told him.

"I think that Kathy is a very nice young lady. She's got some problems and she is doing her best to get through them."

My friend eyed me suspiciously. He obviously had been wanting me to agree with his assessment of Kathy. Although I didn't disagree I had a different mindset when it came to dealing with her.

"You know what would help Kathy out?" I inquired.

"Your support."

"Kathy is going through a lot of different things. Her parents aren't there for her. She's out in the world on her own and she's just a young woman. She's having so many different financial problems in addition to all the stress that's been placed on her, but yet she's out here everyday trying her best to earn money."

I was feeling a bit flustered.

I turned to look at my friend in the eye.

"I choose to support Kathy. Instead of focusing on her issues, I'd rather just be her friend."

At this my workmate got a little bit defensive.

"I'm her friend, don't get me wrong."

"I just think she does so many things that are incorrect and that she's kind of terrible when it comes to serving."

"Well we can help her get better by being supportive of her." I sighed and patted my friend's shoulder.

It was going to be a long shift and I really wanted everyone to get along.

Sometimes it's easy to make yourself feel better by pointing out other people's faults.

This is not a good way to live life.

We've all got our issues, but we can all support each other and help each other get through the day.

Together we can make our way through this life.

Let's be supportive of each other.

Sort:  

I love your restaraunt stories. There is also something interesting and new to learn from every day! I think in this situation you analyzed it well and you found out Kathy was going through troubles. You think it wasn't justified because everyone has issues but you took the higher road and knew what would be best for everybody! Good anecdotal story, thank you for sharing. Your one of my favorite posters on Steemit!

Thank you. I'm glad that you enjoyed this story. I like talking about the restaurant once in awhile.

Your every story is enjoyable and informative I love your post because some thing i learn from it.

Thank you. I am glad to hear that.

Awe, you mad my heart melt! Thank you for reminding us to see the good in people, and to help, rather than judge x

"I don't want to be judged anymore. I don't want to be judged..... I would sooner be loved. I would sooner be just blindly loved." - Morrissey

Its a True Quote "It's important to be supportive of others"

I think it's great that you stood up for her! Good story!

HOw is your next chapter coming along? I am waiting for it !! :-)
enjoyed READING YOUR POST.jpg

I have several stores in the works. I assume you mean the next chapter of The Forgotten Ride. I'll probably have the next chapter of that one written within the next few days. Thanks for reading.

yes, that's the one ! :-) thank you, i am looking forward to read it ! I will keep an eye on you! :-)

I really agree with you @jeezzle, we must support others, nantiknya people we support will support us back.

That's true.

Yes,thank you for sharing this important information

There are some things to learn in every story.There is also some thing in your story if we can accept it.We will be benefited.

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

Good stuff.