Do female students need extra time to pass STEM-exams ?

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Do women need a bonus in STEM-classes (mathematics, engineering, science and technology) to get a good degree?

laptop-3087585_1920.jpg

That's what good old Oxford University means. She allowed female students 15 minutes extra time in maths and computer science exams! At least according to this report

female candidates might be more likely to be adversely affected by time pressure

This was stated in the explanatory statement. The nature and degree of difficulty of the questions remained identical.

The university had found that in previous years far more male students than female students had passed the examinations with first grade exams. About twice as many! Subsequently, a compensation for disadvantages for the students was introduced.

Incidentally, this has brought no benefit in the examinations!

Feminism and gender issues are important.

But in this case, it actually seems to me to be a discrepancy between men. I am very much in favour of compensation for disadvantages when it comes to limitations due to partial performance disorders such as dyscalculia (but please do not include STEM subjects, or) ADHD or dyslexia. But a preference based on the female sex? I don't understand that.

And I don't think that, in the end, you don't do the students any favours either. Then it would ultimately mean that women would simply be slower. But of course they are not.

And you can do something about exam pressure or stress.

What is your opinion on that topic ?

Pixabay

Sort:  

I can only report that among the people who started studying physics with me about 10-15% were women. From the boys up to 30% quit before they got their undergraduate exams (Vordiplom) or final exams and from the girls it was about 10% again. Among the PhD candidates the ratio was between 1:3 and 1:10, some groups having no female candidates by accident. Accelerator maintenance was not that popular in general and so was theoretical hadron physics.
In the math department, the ratio was 1:1 or even 1,5:1.
In the engineering departments, the ratio was below 1:10 but no one cared.

I started studying just one year before the university started to change to Bachelor/Master system (lucky me!); I do not know about current ratios but I don't assume something has changed.

That doesn't sound like equality to me.

Very similar in Göttingen (Germany) when I started with Math. I studied 23 semesters in Goettingen. I have no talent for mathematics. So I changed to medicine 1 year later :-)

Interesting topic....I will stay in touch...@martinwinkler. Somehow I am an Engineer and I think in my class we have got smart ladies back then, except for one that got pregnant.😀😀