In Tennessee Kids Get Free Books From Birth Until 5 Years Old

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

If I had to name a celebrity who I consider a hero it would have to be Dolly Parton. Dolly Parton was born around 2 hours from where I live in Tennessee and she has done great things to help those in need in her home state. I'll save my praise and love of Dolly Parton for another article and dedicate my appreciation for her charity Dolly Parton's Imagination Library.

The Imagination Library Gives Free Books to Kids From Birth Until the Age of Five

IMG_7974.jpg

Promoting Reading For Young Children

The Imagination Library is one of my favorite "charities." Basically Parton's organization sends one free book a month to children from birth to the age of five. Every book sent is age appropriate.

From the Imagination Library Website

"By mailing high quality, age-appropriate books directly to their homes, she wanted children to be excited about books and to feel the magic that books can create. Moreover, she could ensure that every child would have books, regardless of their family’s income."

Rich or poor, parents can sign their kids up for this program. I think it is a wonderful idea and I'm so happy my daughter will get books to help her be excited about reading.

One of My Daughter's Most Recent Books From The Imagination Library

IMG_7968.JPG

At 10 Months She Already Likes Her Books

IMG_7972.JPG

They signed me up in the hospital.

I remember the day after I gave birth I was given a bunch of forms to fill out (birth certificate, social security card, etc.). One of them was an application for the Imagination Library. I thought it was really awesome that they had the application given to mothers at the hospital ensuring new little people in the world could start getting books as soon as possible.

Another Book She Received With The Imagination Library's Seal of Approval Seen In The First Picture

IMG_7978.JPG

Inside The Front Cover

IMG_7976.JPG

Has Expanded All Over The U.S./World To Select Cities

I couldn't find a list of the exact places that support this charity but I know it has expanded to more states than just TN. If you are interested in finding out if your child is eligible go to the registration page and enter your zipcode
http://usa.imaginationlibrary.com/find_my_affiliate.php

I highly recommend signing your kid up if you can.

It's a great organization and a great idea. I'm so thankful for Dolly Parton's organization and I absolutely love it's goal. As someone who loves school and literature I'm happy to see someone helping kids have access to books.


Follow Me Update.jpg

Sort:  

This post received a 2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @marxrab! For more information, click here!

That's a great program. Kids naturally love books.

It really is. They send out really nice books too.

That's great. I heard about Dolly Parton but don't know about her. This program is very meaningful.

Dolly Parton is great. She is a really good person.

That it is great! There are out there so many kids growing up without a possibility of having books. Thanks so much for sharing @marxrab 🐰! Have a great night!

Thanks for reading. It really is great. Especially for parents with low incomes who can't afford books for their kids.

This is a really great program, the world definitely needs more of this. Books saved me as a kid..

That's really great books helped you. I do agree. More programs like this are needed.

I'd never heard of this organization, but I think it's amazing. Well, of course, anything that Dolly's behind would be amazing. She is one of my role models.

Oh yes. Dolly is wonderful. She does a lot of charitable acts in our area. She's one of my favorite celebrities just for how kind and giving she it.