Education and vocation

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

I come from a society where the brain is trained but the hand is left out. After spending 4 years in the society studying linguistics,I graduated,went for nysc and received the famous 19800 and it felt cool. Little did I know that the society had a different version for me. After nysc it was like a fresher in a new institution. Everything became fresh. The reality of life and the search for job began.
I moved from one office to another searching for a job. Company to company with no vacancy outside but still I submitted.it was one hell of a trekking as I ran out of envelopes and t.fare. it wasn't fair to say the truth. How could I, a graduate with a good grade be on the street begging for a job,it was no joke.
At last,my phone rang and it was a company. They were hiring and wanted new casual workers. I went hoping it was at least something to start with,but when I heard the salary was fifteen thousand and the transport and feeding was goin to take like ten thousand,I decided to stop. A graduate working for such an amount doesn't speak well. How am I supposed to invest and plan probably for marriage with that. It was a waste of time I said to myself.

After staying at home for two years after graduation decided to learn fashion designing. It was annoying at the first start. My madam treated me like a girl in nursery School but I did not let that stop me. It was not easy. The taught of my time in school made me wonder if formal education was not a waste. After spending one year as an apprentice,I graduated with a sewing machine. With a little struggle and support from my parents now I have my own shop and am happy because am making money for myself and for my family.
Education should be made to go with vocational work. You can imagine if I had spent for years studying linguistics and fashion designing. I would have been more learned and skilled at an early stage. Some unfortunate girls go into prostitution because they can't stand going in a vocational training after years in school. I think education should not be made to train the brain alone but the hand too so that we can create a better society.

Sort:  

To get upvote from @artzone, the post needs at least 108 characters! We understand great art speaks for itself, so we kept the word count low