How I Taught My Toddler To Be Kind To Animals

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

My two-year-old little guy has quite the feisty temperament, I think he is definitely one of those spirited characters who have their own perspective on how and when things should be done! I appreciate his uniqueness and don’t see it as a bad trait to have at all, but it is a tad difficult to deal with when your kid is a toddler and doesn’t quite understand that boundaries need to be taken into consideration too! For example, my kid loves to play rough, explore daringly and freaks out when he is told “no” – probably like most toddlers (just multiply it by 10)!  

Anyway, although his spirited nature can be exhausting (and challenging), I appreciate his personality and know that someday he will make one determined young man, he has something to offer this world and he is not going to back down, that’s for sure! In the meantime, he keeps me on my toes and just like any mom, often leaves me concerned. 

One of my biggest previous concerns was his bad habit of treating small creatures and critters roughly, and often harming them. He was obviously not harming them intentionally, but he was battling to grasp the concept that his rough and selfish play was hurting or scaring the animals. Every mom, I’m sure, wants their children to be kind and gentle towards others, animals included. So of course, I was distraught with his behavior. Many moms told me not to worry, it’s just a phase they go through. 

Not worrying was not enough for me though, I am more of a proactive type! So, I put in every effort to lead by example. I started taking him on frequent visits to animal farms and our local SPCA. When a critter crossed our paths, I showed loving interest in it and acted kindly and gently towards it – with much emphasis. I’m not sure if this rubbed off on him or if his “phase” passed. But I can proudly boast that my now almost three-year-old son treats all creepy crawlies and animals with so much care and showers them with gentleness and affection. 

Just look at how sweetly he is interacting with all of these animals! He has impressed us so much with showing responsibility towards animals and even the smallest of bugs, that we have decided to get him his very first dog, and potential best friend!

Much love _ @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Founder of the Hobby Hub Challenge - Find out more HERE

Sort:  

I just love your approach to the stubbornness and determination of the little one. And I know how proud you feel about him making progress and outgrowing the phase. You did a really good job!

Thanks! I am one very proud mamma!

Do you have a hobby? Why not enter this week's HobbyHub Challenge? https://steemit.com/hobbyhub/@sweetpea/update-on-hobby-hub-challenge-4-increased-prize-pool

Thank you for your tip @sweetpea, I will try to find something from my archive to show and tell you about!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sweetpea to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I will bring him two cats for Christmas ;)

Nope, we looking for a dog now! A basset hound!

Yes! Lead by example, that's how kids work (I don't have one, but I've seen that happen multiple times)! Bring out the love for animals in him - he'll probably live in a vegan world one day, he must be accustomed to kindness! Have a good day @sweetpea! :)

I really want him to have a huge love for animals, and all small creatures :)

Do you have a hobby? Why not enter this week's HobbyHub Challenge? https://steemit.com/hobbyhub/@sweetpea/update-on-hobby-hub-challenge-4-increased-prize-pool

Just look at how sweet he is with the animals, and I can tell you have done a wonderful job!

Parents do not realize how important it is to teach our kids compassion and love , not only to humans. Loved the post - resteeming

You are a good mother @sweetpea for showing him the right path. My little princess is really stubborn and playful but she is loving and caring even to animals but one thing that she did not like is dogs.
She is really scared of dogs especially when it barks, she will took of on her hills 😃.

Another beautiful article from you @snowpea, very important lesson for parents and how to teach their kids to be better human beings. Thank you for sharing!

Thanks :)

Do you have a hobby? Why not enter this week's HobbyHub Challenge? https://steemit.com/hobbyhub/@sweetpea/update-on-hobby-hub-challenge-4-increased-prize-pool

Sweet child..

Hi sweetpea, please checking messages me in discord..

Your son is such a little cutie. Maybe he has a little mischief in his eyes but that also means he is always thinking. So right to take him to petting zoos or the animal rescue places. He will soon understand. Thanks for your post.

Thank you, I always love your replies, so thoughtful :)

You know your son is so cute. He doesn't look like he has an ounce of bad boy in him at all! Be well! 🐓

Thank you, but I see no connection between the two posts. Kindly retract your comment?