Beautiful Curls

in #steemitfamilyph • 6 years ago

abstract-921863_1280.png

🌷A young lady, with kinky hair, grew up believing that her hair isn't beautiful! She was called names like "kulot" (curly), "Aeta" (indigenous people of the Philippines with kinky hair) which seems to be just words. But, believe me, in the Philippines' society, these are very offensive.

🌷She's in a susceptible age, and so, she had her straightened...sad. I wonder if someone ever told her she looked wonderful in her natural, dark, kinky hair.

🌷When I was young, I also believed that natural kinky hair is less beautiful. Were we made to believe that straight flowing hair is the standard beautiful hair???
silhouette-3212776_1280.png
Whatever reasons there maybe, it's time we break this culture or chain of believes on what beauty is.

🌷We are existing in a modern society where beauty is as diverse as it can be. It should never be standardized. Don't you think?

U5dsnt2Y19qmNJ6S4rHWGSU4yi4wucH.gif

Sort:  

This is so real. I have been called "kulot" too because of my hair and a lot of people are telling me, "You should have your hair straightened. It looks so ugly." But, I didn't mind what they're saying anyways. I like how my hair is and it is more beautiful to have a natural hair that won't change after how many months or years. :)

You're absolutely right! Nothing is sexier than that. A woman who knows what she wants and not be influenced by others;) 💕🌺