I Told Him He Was a Little...Feminine.😬

in #steemitfamilyph6 years ago (edited)

sea-2915187__480.jpg

A guy who is strong is definitely a man.
A guy who isn't that tough is gay.
A guy who acts a little feminine and pale looking is gay.
A guy who is shy and less confident is gay.
And...a guy who is friends with lots of girls is gay.

Yes, you read that right and I'm guilty to all these impressions about men. How could I be so shallow 😢

It took me a while to realize that these impressions are not always true, actually most of the time they aren't. But, why would I have thought of these in the first place?

Hmnn...looking back through my roots, or culturally speaking, men in my tribe are expected to be tough and strong. When I was younger, I hear adults say guys who are less tough are gay.

aec-1822530__480.jpg

In my family as well. I have brothers and they love bragging about their strength to each other. The other one lifts a sack of rice easily and dares the other to do the same. The latter was able to do it but with difficulty. And the mocking begins...

It's a bit unsurprising because our province' main source of income is farming. So men, from their younger years, were used to working. Then came development. Not all boys grew up in farms anymore. They didn't have to. Yet, the expectation of how physically tough a man should act continuous.

Also, the reason why, when other guys from the cities come to our place and can't lift a thing, they are considered gay. Heeeh

man-1458632_1280.png

But, should a guy be judged solely on how strong or tough he is? And wether he is straight or not. I was enlightened. NO!

I learned this the hard way, when I told a guy, "you're handsome but you're a bit feminine". Huh, he said, "yeah, because you are just used to you're kind of men in your tribe who looks manly...and da da da..." And this hit me because I assumed he was gay, although, I said feminine but in my mind meant the same thing. He isn't gay and he made it perfectly clear that I was prejudiced.

I believe, some...some women and men are also guilty to some of these impressions. But, men should be seen beyond their physical appearance. Some men are intellectual, sociable, comic and many more characteristics aside from strong and tough.

men-2531344_960_720.jpg

As for me, when a man can make me laugh, that's something!

Image sources:
https://goo.gl/images/xwZfX4
https://goo.gl/images/SPTCs3

U5dsnt2Y19qmNJ6S4rHWGSU4yi4wucH.gif