SteemitJam #4: SWnEWn progress video 1

in #steemitjam6 years ago (edited)


Progress report on my submission for SteemitJam #4 (https://steemit.com/steemitjam/@loomy/steemitjam-4-theme-is-start-with-nothing-make-a-game-this-weekend-in-72-hours).

This evening I setup a new project with the stuff I've been doing the past month, a sort of wrap and structure of PixiJS + SAT-js (collision detection) to make a html5 game. Thinking this would be like using a game engine, it solves the basic screen/window config, basic objects for graphics and input etc.

Started on making input specific for this game and some of the bits of functionality that will eventually becoming something playable. Got so far as to having some sort of drawing thing... Works with mouse and touch. Hopefully next update will be of a game. If time allows, I hope to get a very basic steem interaction into this as well.

I'm getting old as now it's 10 pm and I want to sleep.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Looks great! What framework/engine did you use to make this?

Hey! It's http://www.pixijs.com/ for graphics and https://github.com/jriecken/sat-js to deal with collisions. Have done a base structure where I combine the two and created a class family of objects from the minimal base gameobject up to objects that collide and can move.

Cool. I've done a bit with HTML before too, just not for this gamejam. When you learned html, did you teach yourself html or did you learn as part of a course etc?

On my own on and off during the years. I did take a course in javascript and html some ten years ago, but did not fully finish the course I think (was only a few points as a distance course). HTML/JS is great as you only need a browser and a text editor to start developing, but it is also the downside of it when getting further. It is much nicer to use unreal/unity/godot and have a proper editor and export the game to webgl from there!

Cool yeah I learned primarily through my study in Digital Media but I did have to research and learn quite a bit on my own when it came to the main assignment for one of the courses as what I was trying to do something that went a bit beyond the course material. It was fun but it did get hard at times. I don't know if I've heard of godot before. It doesn't sound familiar. What's that engine like?

https://godotengine.org I only took it for a quick test run a few weeks ago when they released the latest version. I would say that it is quite similar to Unity, if you have unity experience then you will get quickly up to speed with godot. I liked it, I am quite certain that I will try and finish my current Unity project and after that I'll switch to using godot instead. It it is free and a small download so no reasons to not give it a try!

Thanks. I'll have to remember that. It sounds interesting.

Resteemed. Follow @steemitjam to see all steemitjam related posts in your feed.