Steemit Name Challenge - @vermillionfox

in #steemitnamechallenge6 years ago (edited)

I was nominated by @raizel to take part in the #steemitnamechallenge. My curiosity has never lead me to question others about their username choices but I found myself becoming fascinated in reading the origin stories. Now, I’m not sure if my story will be as great as others but I’ll tell it anyway.


The Rules


  • Tell us in a post how you chose the current Steemit username you have. The story behind it.
  • Tell us your real name!
  • If you could change your current username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!
  • Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that I can track all the posts and check them out
  • Nominate 5 people for this challenge

The Story of my Username


My username choice was picked solely for branding purposes. Is that lame? Roughly four years ago, I was crafting masks as a hobby. My roommate who worked & managed alongside me had encouraged me to take seasonal commissions and to start marketing myself online. There were also talks of collaboration with @lonniedi. We wanted to start a business together to sell our own custom designs. She would be selling shirts and I, accessories. We mulled over a couple of names that didn’t stick and looked to purchase the rights to several names. Our collaboration was short lived and we thought it better to separate to continue forward with our own creative ideas. 

I originally wanted to incorporate something about the moon, stars, or galaxy. All of those names were taken so I searched for a catchy woodland creature name. I’ve got a fox tattoo on my back so that part was settled. Then I discovered ‘vermillion’ which by definition is a brilliant red pigment made from mercury sulfide. It’s also known as a lateral stripe of gradient colors in the shade of red. 

When I put the two together I thought the name rolled off the tongue just fine. Vermillion = how I feel about myself- having depth and being more than one shade in any given color. Fox = Which was not a trickster in my eyes but witty, quick on it’s toes, intelligent and has it’s own special connection with the dream world. 

The name was settled and I stuck with it.


Tell Us Your Read Name


If you’d like to know it then you can find me and ask me at the next Steemfest. It’ll be a nice treat, don’t you agree?


Would I Change My Username?


Honestly, I don’t think I’d change it. I’ve grown into it and I’ve seen how versatile it can be. Strange, sexy, unusual, thought provoking- those are the types of names that I gravitate towards. If I was forced to make a change then I guess I would go back to some of my old usernames but they were inspired by song titles and books. My current name holds more meaning to me.


Nominate 5 People for This Challenge


Sort:  

Do I have to do a full fancy post for this or can I just spit it here? I named my style of writing bleedpoetry around the first book I put together at 16/17 at summer school, it was the stream of conscious, blood flowing from mind to pen and spilling out as ink. Cheesy AF, but I stuck with it, because I found a relitivley unfounded idea, I picked out the website bleedpoetry.com as well as being bleedpoet on Xbox and Instagram. So I totally get the idea of branding. I had wondered if the handle or the tattoo had come first😄

Oooh so now we know❤️

haha me!? LOL and le-sigh

Basically - I thought an A name would land me up the alphabetical pecking order when people looked at others follower's lists.

I am "Blah" about "A" names.
I now dislike "artwatch", because users pester me,for they believe that I am a curator of the arts or some shit.

To me when I took the name I felt like I was a performer on the street all done up like a magician.

You are the audience and I am pulling something out of your ear as I say

"art.....watch..." all mystical and some crap

💜

You should know my aversion to "A" names has to do with women/people called Alisha and Andreas and Adams.

You are always Francis to me and I rarely use your handle when I think about you. I just realized you probably think I am talking about you with the A name thing... But no I just was quite bullied by A names a lot. I have such an eversion to them I didn't even use your whole handle I would just call you Vita.

I have an attraction to J names, I wish I could rename myself as Juliette lol I hate P names. I think for the same reason you hate A names.

Call me whatever you like friend 💜

That’s a smart way to think of it. Hahha, you’re so popular!

A good catchy name is a great way to always stand out. I don’t think it lame to pick one based on branding purposes just as long as you make it you and your own thing.

I happen to agree with you about foxes they are wonderful intelligent creates.

I don’t know if mine is as catchy as others but I’m definitely making it my own. ^^

Very cool. Thanks for sharing the story of Vermillionfox! :)

Thanks for taking the time to read it!! :D

Nice! I don't disagree with you on your real name policy :) I'm not hiding anything, but I'd like to meet someone in person before I tell it to them! On that note, I'd love to attend a Steemfest sometime. Any idea as to a good place to find an ongoing list of Steem events? I apologize for the somewhat stupid question but I really don't know much!

Great, that makes me feel good about my choice to keep it private because I’m there with you. I wanna be able to meet people and formally introduce myself. :) I’m actually pretty bad about keeping up to date with Steem events but you could probably join the steemit.chat ‘meetup’ group or find something similar on discord. Hope that helps!

@bleedpoet - because his writing usually reads like a chick on her rag. (j/k don't beat me!) lol, it's also why we get along so well at certain times of the month.

🤣

I'm really interested to know what this said before it was edited😂

It said pretty much the same thing, accept lacked some sentence structure. Unless your talking about mf's comment, then I don't know, cause it was always her laughing at my joke.

Sweet... as a collector, love hearing artists’ stories. Upvoted and followed !

Thank you 😊 I’m glad you enjoyed my story.

I was going to nominate you, I was really curious to know the secret behind your name... but now I can die in peace, is so great the meaning < 3

I’m glad that my answers satisfied your curiosity!

So nice to know how Vermillionfox came to be! You could add that you’re quite the 🦊 💜

Haha! I hope I continue to live up to my foxy title.