Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #2: Vietnamese Fried Egg Bahn Mi

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

When you make a batch of pickled carrots and radishes, you're in for a series of Bahn Mi sandwich lunches! Yumm

Note: I'm formatting this post in accordance with the example provided here by contest creator @jaybird. You'll have to scroll to the bottom for the little story =P

° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- °

IMG-20170817-WA0020.jpg

IMG-20170818-WA0012.jpg

IMG-20170818-WA0015.jpg

° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- °

SANDWICH NAME

Vietnamese Fried Egg Bahn Mi

IMG-20170818-WA0011.jpg

° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- ° -- °

INGREDIENTS

Soft white or corn bread (the original Bahn Mi's are made using an airy, thin-crusted Vietnamese version of the french loaf)
Sriracha-mayo sauce (see below)
Fresh coriander
Pickled carrots and daikon radish (see below)
Jalapeno and pickled cucumbers
Fried Eggs
Thinly-sliced grilled pork shoulder (optional)

IMG-20170817-WA0011.jpg

Sriracha-Mayo Sauce
Sriracha Chili Sauce
Mayonnaise
Light Soy Sauce

IMG-20170817-WA0014.jpg

Pickled carrots and radish
Carrots, diced or thinly sliced (depending on how much crunch you want)
Daikon radish, diced or thinly sliced (depending on how much crunch you want)
Chili Padi, diced
White Sugar
Apple Cider Vinegar
Fish Sauce
Warm Water
A Working Refrigerator (pickles will have to chill in the fridge overnight)

IMG-20170817-WA0019.jpg

ADDITIONAL INFO

I can remember the first time I ate a Bahn Mi.

It was fairly recent

Last year, hunger struck during an evening jog-walk with 3 other family members.

"I'm craving a Bahn Mi!"

"What's that?!"

"Try it and see!"

That evening, I sank my teeth into a most refreshing sandwich. The light Vietnamese-style bread loaf encasing a bed of sweet-and-sour pickled carrots, fresh coriander leaves, and tangy sliced jalapenos with pork slices or prawns or a fried egg (my favourite) in the middle. I particularly love the sauce that holds everything together -- sriracha-mayonnaise is a combo made in heaven!

After many repeat visits to that Bahn Mi vendor, I've grown very fond of the Fried Egg Bahn Mi. I'm not really a fan of paying the €5.80 price tag every time I crave one though, so I decided to make my own version at home with available ingredients. It may not include all the ingredients of the classic Bahn Mi you get in Vietnam itself, but it makes my tummy happy =)

IMG-20170817-WA0020.jpg

If you love sandwiches too, do join the 'Steemit Sandwich Contest' too! It’s run by @jaybird and promises to be a gastronomic feast for the eyes. =D

Sort:  

yummy

SANDWICH

Not just any sandwich ;)

Thanks @skrzypietz! Have you tried a Bahn Mi before?

No, but it looks delicious

Hope you get to try some day :)

This post received a 3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @foodie.warrior! For more information, click here!

Truly scrumptious

It really is Gary..Been eating it repeatedly this week and still craving one for dinner today ;)

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Lovin' it! Pity no place around me serves it but I can always try making one of my own. Thanks for sharing :)

I hope you make a post if you try your hand at making one! :) Thanks for dropping by, @gurney! :)

Awesome job putting both this sandwich and your entry together.

I've never heard of this sandwich before and am delighted to learn about it. Just did a quick search and (no surprise) thank goodness there are plenty of Bahn Mi sandwich shops in Toronto!

I figured it was corn bread however initially I also thought it could have been some kind of egg bread or a sauce that you soak the bread in prior.

Very cool that you've put your own spin on this lovely sandwich. And the Sriracha-Mayo Sauce looks epic!

Very much looking forward to to trying one of these. I'll report back when I do lol

hehehe that's a blessing that you have so many choices in Toronto!! Did you get to try a Bahn Mi yet? =DD

I just made another round of Fried Egg Bahn Mi for myself and my sis-in-law using fresh soft white sandwich bread (the corn bread is attractively yellow, but I find the softer, almost non-existent bread texture to be the best accompaniment for all the other textures inside the 'wich)...soo yummy..I'm addicted to this combo..it's so worth the mess of the pickled carrots falling out of the sandwich when I chomp into it!! loll

The Sriracha-Mayo sauce is a new fad for me. Well, it's fortunate, since I did buy a huge bottle of sriracha chilli just to make this sandwich hoho

Not just yet, haven't had an opportunity to go out for one. I'm looking forward to that day or night though!

Ya i can see how a thinner bread would work well with this combo.

Hey @jaybird - If you are okay with fusion Banh Mi, I recommend Banh Mi Boys, they are at Queen and Spadina as well as Yonge and Gerrard. But if you want to check out an authentic spot, try Banh Mi Nguyen Huong on Spadina.

Right on thank for the suggestions. Came across both of those places on my search. I'm sure they're both pretty good. Prolly test out authentic first.

Good luck on your contest, it looks delicious! Speaking about bahn mi, it only costs like less than a dollar in Vietnam. :P

Omgoodness..don't remind me..please lol

Mmyuumm! Banh mi is a perfecft summer sandwich. I find it so satisfying on extra warm afternoons. Love the variety in texture, and the addition of sriracha mayo. Great entry @foodie.warrior!

Yes the fresh coriander and the pickled radish and carrots make it so delightfully refreshing! Thanks a lot, @shalala! :) Nice name btw ;)

Wow ! Nice sandwich! It looks very tasty, I like it so much, thank you for sharing your nice food.

Thanks for coming by and leaving a footprint, @creativewoman! I saw that you did an entry too! Will go check it out now :))

Oh this is so mouthwatering @foodie.warrior! Thanks for making me discover this amazing sandwich from Vietnam.
The spicy-ness of sriracha mayonaise surely brings a nice kick to this wonderful sandwich!
Good luck for the contest!
@progressivechef

hehe this sandwich really embodies the adjective 'mouthwatering' =DD surprisingly, the sriracha is not very spicy at all :) I add pickled jalapenos when I want a spicier kick :)

Am waiting to see your entry, my dear friend :)

You always do a great job with your pictures. Your pictures alone make me want to make sweet taste bud love with this masterpiece. Many different elements that would seem to make it explode in your mouth.

Sweet and Sour with a kick of spicy? I'm in.

The ingredients love to explode out of the bread when you bite into it..little pieces of radish and carrots dropping onto the plate and the runny egg yolk oozing out..

Such a mess to eat, but I absolutely love and am addicted to this sandwich! Just had it for dinner tonight again :)) That's the fourth time this week hehe

This one is onion- and green-onion-free, so something more to your taste, I hope ;))

Note to self: @lexikon082 likes sweet, sour, and a kick of spicy =D

My first taste of a Bahn Mi was in a Viet Namese shop in Montreal, Canada ^^ haha since then, I desperately want another one... yours looks fab!

I hope you get your hands on one again! Do you live far from Montreal? There's always the chance to get back to the mouthgasm-giver ;)

Errr yeah... Living in Spain now :)

haha well if you can't find a good Bahn Mi in your city, try making it at home..it's not too difficult ;)

OR,

Time for a vacayy ;)

A bit different from the ones I have but I actually like to get this once a while

Lol and which ones do you normally have? :)

i'll have the pork or chicken but I remember their eggs are more of the scrambled type.

Interesting. The one here states 'omelette' on the menu, but serves up 2 crisp bulls-eye eggs. I prefer it to the sound of scrambled eggs in the mix ;)

I ate the pork Bahn Mi a couple times here as well. Something about the pork in Germany though, it's not quite as clean tasting as the ones in Sg...a little porkier here, somehow...I've heard say that this is because the pigs here are not castrated like in Asia due to animal welfare activists..however, a quick google search showed that appears that surgical castration of male pigs still takes place in Germany, just that the goal is to head towards alternatives. I'm not sure why, but the 'boar taint' in the pork is still pretty obvious here.

Fortunately, I got my egg option ;)

i heard about the castrate too. yesterday, i heard something else. someone who runs bak kut teh restaurant told me he gets hos from Germany and only from there he can get them delivered with precise 3 inch length. salute the engineering and customer service

haha very interesting..I do notice that some rib racks are very neat here..but not all..well, I do make pots of white pepper bah ku teh here too, and it tastes like in SG (it's one of the favourite foods of The Mann lol)

Good for the autumn and winter for sure.

This looks so good! Good luck with the contest!

Thanks for your well wishes @amy-goodrich! Have a lovely week! :))

ooooh looks awesome! Great combo yumyumyum!!

hehe it's so yummy..I just went to the store to get fresh sandwich bread to make myself another sandwich Yummy yum yummm

Congratulations @foodie.warrior! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for the shiny new pin ;)

Well of course you picked fried eggs for the middle...Eggface! Oh, the Vietnamese version of the french loaf sounds delicious as well as the mayo sauce. But fish sauce? Why? Is that only if you are using prawns as the middle?
"You need a working refrigerator." Yes, that certainly would help! LOL! : ) Sure does look delicious...without the fish sauce. HaHa!

hehe yes, eggs are one of my favourite additions in any sandwich..oh heck, for any carb or protein dish too ;)

The fish sauce lands an interesting flavour dimension to the pickled carrots. I know it may be kinda strange-sounding, esp to those who aren't accustomed to Asian sauces..However, without it, the pickles are not as yummy, in my opinion.

You could try without of course! Or with light soya sauce instead, if that sounds more palatable. =P

mmmm love the colors. I've never had eggs that way. I want!

Waait..you've never tried sunny-side up eggs?? Or eggs in a sandwich!

Is there a Chinatown in Phoenix? If so, go look for a good Bahn Mi vendor, Joey!! ;)

I ha e but this looks a bit different :) I wish we had a china Town here!

hehe time to make a China Town in your mankitchen =)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by foodie.warrior from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

yummy ...love to eat ////

Thanks @javedakhter! Have a lovely day! :)

Thanks for coming by and resteeming, @gaman! What a pleasant surprise...I didn't know I belonged in the New Steemians project!