POETRY | DAY 20 | The Last Meow


The Last Meow, poetry by @naquoya.

Day 20 of 100 for @d-pend's Poetry Challenge


The Last Meow

I remember our first meeting.
Your tentative search
for connection.

You made your home on the couch,
on the porch, in the sun.
And one day we both said hello.
And meant it.

You let me sit beside you,
and scratch that itch,
that never seems to go away.

I never knew your name,
but considered you a friend.
We would talk about nothing
to the depths of our souls.

I've heard it been said-
That all good things
must come to an end.

And so it was.


Reading Notes: This poetry is new and written exclusively for the 100 Day Poetry Challenge, which is explained in more detail here and here.

Here is the invite for the Steemit School Discord channel





Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

Poetry
My Steemit Poetry Collection

Book Reviews
My Steemit Book Review Collection



Sort:  

Love it!!! Love story to a kitty cat, and with the deeper meaning too. The sadness at the end is ameliorated by the story.

A kitty cat, and a zen master, all in one. It's strange how some beings leave a bigger impression on you than you'd ever expect.

You made your home on the couch,
on the porch, in the sun.
And one day we both said hello.
And meant it.

This verse is rich in pathetic fallacy, I saw the imagery you intend to paint and it seemed very wonderful, the fact that is seemed so romantic made me feel goosebumps.
I don't know your gender but this certainly has a feminine touch to it.
It's beautiful I'm a big fan.

I was going less for the romantic, and more for the soul connection, but certainly glad it moved you. Goosebumps are a powerful response to these words. It is ultimately about friendship, and it's loss. As for my gender, I am male, but I have no problem with these sorts of topics.

Thanks for your comment :)

Amazing writer you are.

Thank you.

Beautiful poem for the friend who does not speak, but who pays attention and comforts our souls.

Sometimes they make the best friends. Thanks.

Cats do indeed make fabulous companions. A really lovely write, Naquoya:)

Thank you :)

What a delicate fiber breaks in this poetic writing, @naquoya. There is a touch of tenderness, complicity, refuge, soul, life, death. You involve us in a serene perception of death and permanent affection. Excellent work!

Sometimes I think animals get us, deeply. Perhaps they sense our souls. Or maybe I'm being overly dramatic. But this one cat seemed to get me when it was needed. That was something. Thanks for your comment.

I really love this poem. I'm sorry for your loss. I look at my cat and wonder when that time's going to come. I'm not looking forward to it.

Sometimes value shows up in our lives in the most unexpected way or form. This was one case. It wasn't even my cat, she just showed up one day,visited everyday, then died tragically. A short but powerful friendship.

Really beautiful, cats are all seeing and knowing and do interact with us in such a magical way. I am sorry your friend is no longer there with you.

I have always seen myself as a dog person, but cats have made an impact in my life a lot lately. They have their ways, and I like that. It felt like this one picked me out and wanted to be friends. It was strange, but that's okay with me.

That's what I like about cats, they really only go to those who they want to.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.