POETRY | DAY 38 | Introverted


Introverted, poetry by @naquoya.

Day 38 of 100 for @d-pend's Poetry Challenge


Introverted

Sometimes the words flow like water
into crevices and dark corners
paving the way for light to shine.
Carving away distortions so the granite
of form may reflect the beauty of light.

Sometimes the words don't flow at all.
He sputters like a dying engine
unable to communicate a hoped for destination.
And the granite solidifies and calcifies,
a cage door closes to keep the wolves at bay.

Sometimes it is like magic left unattended
as it creates a reverse flow to destroy all the growth.
Like a game of snakes and ladders
where the start pulls you back each time
you are ready to cross the finish line.

He opens his mouth
but the words
don't come out.
He writes them down in the hope they say something.
To someone.
Somewhere.
Because then their light
may filter into his world,
and perhaps the sweet smell of extroversion
will snap him out of his introverted shell.


Reading Notes: This poetry is new and written exclusively for the 100 Day Poetry Challenge, which is explained in more detail here and here.

Here is the invite for the Steemit School Discord channel





Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

Poetry
My Steemit Poetry Collection

Book Reviews
My Steemit Book Review Collection



Sort:  

Your stanza 2 and one are almost like oxymoron, very opposite and thrilling I love the concept really, the title introverted brings a kind of sexier angle to the poem, it's amazing, I love it.

It starts with the dream, but then goes in the direction of reality, at least as it is from my perspective. A deliberate attempt to create a dichotomy of emotions. I'm glad it had that kind of an effect on you. Thanks for your comment :)

You're one of the best writers I've seen here

Thank you :)

Another incredible post! I love how you break up your images and words--each line is so intense and chock full of meaning. One of the things I always appreciate about your writing is that it's extremely intentional...beautifully done. :) This is @lilyraabe, btw, but writing from the @thenewalchemists account -- a new artist group I'm working on starting on steemit. :)

I appreciate your feedback, I'm glad you get the depth (or the attempt at it) that I am aiming at with these words. I have much experience with this subject matter, so it was easier to write :)

I like that veiled reference to the divine entity that is lodged within living beings, so inside that it is introverted and transformed into light that points to a path, in view of the fact that words are not enough and have rather created a bias based on the interpretation. Penetrating deeper, I see the representation of a poet God, who transforms the world with metaphors of light and rhythmic sounds.

I like how much you get from this poem. That's always good to know. I think we all want to communicate - our ideas, our thoughts, the depths of our own selves - but words don't always do justice to that. Or the ability to get those words out doesn't match the intention. Part of being human, I guess.

Like a game of snakes and ladders
where the start pulls you back each time
you are ready to cross the finish line.

This line describes the feeling of being an introvert really well! Sometimes, when I just want to speak with others, it is as if something hinders me. My voice become empty and I forgot the words I'm supposed to say. Nice poem, as always!

I know that feeling you describe. For me also, it's like the energy required to project those words out to another is just too taxing. The words are there, but they rot away inside, unexpressed.

I love your description of an introvert!

He opens his mouth
but the words
don't come out.
He writes them down in the hope they say something.
To someone.
Somewhere.
Because then their light
may filter into his world,
and perhaps the sweet smell of extroversion
will snap him out of his introverted shell.

This one I like most. They are only human who also wants to be heard and wants to be known. Such a lovely piece Scott!

So glad you liked this one. I find introversion to be a difficulty in communicating, not an unwillingness to do so. Which makes it so much harder to deal with at times.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Yeah, that about describes it. Lol. 😎